Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-Ray Transfer - well worth upgrading from DVD
Own a Samsung 46" 3D LED TV and just watched Groundhog Day and also compared it to my DVD version.
Amazing transfer. Well worth the upgrade. Pictures and colours are nice and sharp.

You know the details of this now classic comedy, so I won't go into it.

You also get :-

25 mins doc - Groundhog Day - The Weight Of Time
6 mins doc...
Published 21 months ago by Fleece

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture quality
US imported Bluray to play in our US Bluray player here in UK.
The picture quality on this disc I found to be rather dark & a little grainy. I know it is an old film but I have many Old films reproduced back onto Bluray which have a clearer picture. I was not impressed so returned disc.
Sorry, only 3 Stars.
Published 5 months ago by Margaret Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-Ray Transfer - well worth upgrading from DVD, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Own a Samsung 46" 3D LED TV and just watched Groundhog Day and also compared it to my DVD version.
Amazing transfer. Well worth the upgrade. Pictures and colours are nice and sharp.

You know the details of this now classic comedy, so I won't go into it.

You also get :-

25 mins doc - Groundhog Day - The Weight Of Time
6 mins doc on Groundhogs (Marmots)
6 mins of deleted scenes
10 mins interview with Harold Ramis

Head down to Gobbler's Knob and get a copy ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful Blu-ray transfer of a great film, 2 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just dealing with the Blu-ray transfer, this was better than I expected and played in the UK (I assume the disc is region free). There was less grain than I presumed there would be. Details were sharp, colours pleasant and overall I really enjoyed the upgrade from the DVD version to the Blu-ray. Very fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite fillm, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not sure I need to say much more than that, this is one of the best films ever, its just a perfect movie, I honestly can't pick up any faults on it, and dread the day its brought up in a 'remake' meeting in Hollywood.

If you haven't seen it, you need to see this film, its just brilliant, and if you have seen it, but don't own the bluray. It is absolutely worth the upgrade, excellent quality through out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Classic Comedy - Absolutely Classic!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't yet bought this on Blu-ray - buy it!
You won't be sorry...even though I don't like Andie MacDowell, Bill Murray is hilarious and in outstanding form!
Awesome!
If only they can bring Kingpin out on Blu-ray next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I am god. I mean, Im A god, not THE god..", 26 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Id actualy go as far as to say that along with Taxi Driver, Goodfellas, Brazil, Withnail & I, this is probably somewhere in the top 10 films ever made. Infact its probably the only american "feel good" movie that is sincere enough to work. Bill Murrays performance is beyond fantastic. What I like most is the philosophical questions this movie opens up, combined with hillarious comedy. Its a cheesy thing to say, but this movie really can be watched again & again & again..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY FUNNY AND ORIGINAL FANTASY/COMEDY..., 13 Feb 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is without a doubt, one of Bill Murray's best films. It is both a fantasy and a comedy flick. The basic premise of the film is simple. A man is forced to relive the same twenty four hours, over, and over, and over again, ad infinitum.
Bill Murray is that man. An obnoxious Pittsburgh weatherman, he is in Punxutawney, Pennsylvania to cover its Groundhog Day celebration, along with his beautiful and altruistic TV producer, played by Andie MacDowell, and his patient, long suffering cameraman, played by Chris Elliot. Murray, playing an uncaring, unfeeling wretch of a guy, is, for some inexplicable reason, forced to relive the same twenty four hours in Punxutawney over and over again. Why? Who knows and who cares? What follows next are some of the funniest moments in film.
At first, Murray is confused. No one else, however, seems to be. As Murray continues to relive the same day, confusion turns to anger. Ultimately, that anger turns to mischievousness and indulgence. After all, what would one do, if there were no consequences to one's actions?
This premise provides for quite a few, very funny scenes. This puckish foray quickly denigrates into profound despair, as Murray realizes that he seems destined to relive the same day forever. Frequent, subsequent suicide attempts fail to stop the clock, and Murray rethinks his position. He concentrates, finally, on becoming the best man that he can be, with the lovely Andie MacDowell as his romantic interest.
Murray's transition from smarm to charm provides for many hilarious scenes that will leave the viewer howling with laughter. The ultimate impact of his transition from Neanderthal man to Renaissance man is, needless to say, a positive one. This redemption will ultimately prove to be Murray's salvation.
Murray provides droll, comedic delivery, and he is perfect in this role. Andie MacDowell is the perfect straight man and comedic foil. Together they make this movie one that the viewer will want to see again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it snowing in space?, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There's really not a lot you can say about Groundhog Day that hasn't been said before. It's unlikely that anyone remotely interested in Bill Murray would have long since seen it by now, and in all likelihood loves it because it's nailed on one of Murray's finest pictures. Of course, as is the case with comedy in general, there are those who don't like it, but in my experience it's the one comedy movie that tickles the funny bones of most the most! Some have seen it just the once and loved it but feel it is a once only movie, others such as myself return to it yearly like an old friend because it's a pick me up, a tonic for the troops, it never fails to deliver the goods.

That it has struck such a chord over the years is no surprise, it's a genius premise. Grumpy misanthrope TV weather man Phil Connors (Murray) is once again sent out to Punxsutawney to cover the Groundhog Day festivities. It's a place he considers as dull on earth, the festivities pointless and beneath the broadcasting talent he feels he has. The plan is to get the broadcast done and get out of Punxsutawney as quick as possible. But a snowstorm prevents him leaving and waking up the next day he finds he is stuck in the same Groundhog Day as the day before, and soon he finds that every day is the same day.

"I was in the Virgin Islands once. I met a girl. We ate lobster, drank piña coladas. At sunset, we made love like sea otters. That was a pretty good day. Why couldn't I get that day over, and over, and over..."

The film then follows a trajectory that sees Connors go through a number of psychological transformations. From despair to using the situation for nefarious means, to despair again and onto using his unique situation to do good. It's material tailor made for Murray who excels with a number of running gags that get expanded upon with each day. However, the ace up Harold Ramis' (director) sleeve is that the film is more than a comedy, it is also an intelligent character study, a message movie and it also doesn't lack for dramatic purpose, often proving to be a moving experience once the tickled rib pain begins to subside. It's a picture as deep in human awareness as it is rich with comedy value.

Andie MacDowell as Rita, Phil's producer and object of his lust throughout the story, proves to be surprisingly good foil for Murray's comedic ebullience. While elsewhere a number of reoccurring characters are performed memorably by the support cast (Stephen Tobolowsky and Chris Elliott standing out). Ramis keeps it brisk, never allowing the plotting to fold in on itself and the sound tracking is irritatingly catchy. But it's with the screenplay (Ramis and Danny Rubin) where ultimately Groundhog day is judged, be it the comedy or human interest, it's a zinger as written. And thankfully, with Murray at the top of his game, the brainy fun on the page is brought vividly to life on the screen. Groundhog Day, one of the finest comedies of the modern era. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent. One you'll play again and again., 13 Jan 2004
What would you do if you had to live the same day over and over again? 'Groundhog Day' follows the story of Phil Connors - the cynical and egotistical weatherman for an american regional TV station who feels he's just on the verge of leaving it all behind for the big time except he's being forced to attend the annual groundhog day festival down in rural Punxsutawney (and for the fourth year in a row, for that matter). Little does he realise that this time around, strange forces are at work and that he will find himself replaying the same day over and over again - possibly until the end of time.
I have to say that Groundhog day is one of my favourite comedies - one of those feel-good movies almost guaranteed to cheer you up on a rainy day. In terms of comedy, it delivers consistently - Bill Murray's lines are crisp as a Punxsutawney winter and his timing has really never been better. Harold Ramis also has to be congratulated for managing to play the trick of repeating the same scenes over and over again just enough that you get an idea of what hell Phil Connors is going through without it becoming an irritation (as I found it did with the more serious film "Memento").
Murray's character seems effortlessly at home in the lead role who at times both offends with his arrogance and amuses with his razor sharp wit. It's no surprise then to note that in his director's commentary, Ramis notes that Bill Murray's own changeable character is not a million miles away from the incorrigible Phil Connors.
It's to Murray's (and Ramis's) credit that we fully emphasise with Murray's transition when, as each new day seems to remain February 2nd, he becomes at first baffled, then drunk with the power to do what he wants and then lonely, depressed and suicidal before he realises what life is really about and tries to turn his life around.
In that there's a little message for all of us living out our own little groundhog days. I particularly enjoy the moment where Phil (crying into his beer with his new-found drunk friends) begins complaining about his lot: "What would you do if you were stuck in one place and everyday was exactly the same and nothing that you did ever mattered?" he says, fishing for sympathy. His friend weighs up his life stuck in a dead end job in Punxsutawney and says with a drunkard's irony: "That just about sums it up for me". Priceless.
I'd recommend you buy Groundhog day and put it on one lazy Sunday. I'll guarantee you'll play it again and again. You just won't have to play it every day (unless you really want to). My only negative comment is that the DVD package itself is not very inspiring and the menu itself just a little embarassingly twee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghostbusters re-united, 22 Feb 2002
By 
megasmash@aol.com (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This film can be best described as Family man meets (pursuing his career, to find out he really misses loved ones) Ghostbusters (comical ghost chasing adventure film). Which is perhaps why this is one of the best films I have seen, as it is very funny and a movie which can make light of any situation which makes this movie a worthwhile purchase if you like humour and romance mixed into one.
If you liked Ghostbusters then you will love this, Bill Murray returns in this film as a weather broadcaster and has much the same attitude as in Ghostbusters.
The film is also directed by Harold Ramis, who if you do not know as the director of Ghostbusters then will be more familiar as the Ghostbusters Igon.
The story is about a weather broadcaster (Bill Murray) who has to go to the annual ground hog event, which he hates and has to do every year. However this year is different to all of the rest, as he keeps on reliving the same day with comical, romantic and heroic results.
However if you did not like the comical way of which Bill Murray was associated in Ghostbusters then this film is not for you.
This is a must see film, a classic, in which Bill Murray must find his true self before being able to continue with his life. However whether it is a worthwhile DVD has yet to be seen, as there are no extra features, which give DVD’s in my opinion the added value that you don’t get from tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth buying again in bluray, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Colin J. Todd (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film and have since I first saw it. This bluray print is much better than my old DVD version. The colors are brighter and sharper, the sound is clearer too. Well worth the upgrade cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Groundhog Day [DVD] [1993]
Groundhog Day [DVD] [1993] by Harold Ramis (DVD - 2000)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews