Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY WOULD ANYONE THINK THIS IS BAD?
Oh my god! This is by far the best Indy movie. There may not be any nazis in this one like raiders and crusade but who needs them. The opening sequence is brilliant and the ending is just as good.
I don't care what people say, this is the best Indy film. Well done spielberg and lucas.
The only far fetched bit was the diving out of the plane scene.
Published on 1 Jan 2004 by pwoods49

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very good
Nice to see the indiana jones films released on video again, and the documentary is good. I would like to buy the DVD's when they come out.
Published on 4 July 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY WOULD ANYONE THINK THIS IS BAD?, 1 Jan 2004
This review is from: Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom [VHS] [1984] (VHS Tape)
Oh my god! This is by far the best Indy movie. There may not be any nazis in this one like raiders and crusade but who needs them. The opening sequence is brilliant and the ending is just as good.
I don't care what people say, this is the best Indy film. Well done spielberg and lucas.
The only far fetched bit was the diving out of the plane scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion, the best of the series..., 5 Mar 2014
Eminent archaeologist Indiana Jones is back in his second adventure, this time to tackle the great terror surrounding the mysterious Temple of Doom.

After crash landing in India, Jones and companions Short Round and Willie Scott end up in a small distressed village where the residents claim a dark power has stolen their precious stones and children.

Agreeing to assist the village, Jones and friends make their way to a nearby palace and enquire further into the strange happenings.

Assuring Indiana he has no idea what he's talking about, the prime minister offers them to spend the night in the palace.

However, that evening Jones discovers a secret passage into a temple and stumbles onto something he thought was long extinct.

It seems the age old cut of Thuggee cult is attempting to rise once more, believing that with the power of the five Sankara stones they can rule the world.....

Almost two hours whizz by in the blink of an eye, thanks to the swift direction of Spielberg, and a fine performance from Ford.

It's dark though, the narrative and story are sinister, but you also have some very funny scenes and lines to even the the tone out.

The three leads have wonderful chemistry together, and this really comes into perspective when there are more emotional scenes (when Jones grabs Shorty after he has burnt him and winks at him always brings a lump into my throat).

Topped off with excellent set pieces and beautiful score, this was the film to beat in 1984, and probably the eighties (although that is my opinion.

It is very different from the other three movies, but it keeps the 'boys' own adventure feel to it, and it never lets up, from the moment you see Willie Scott emerge from the dragons mouth right up to the final embrace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom [VHS] [1984] (VHS Tape)
Harrison Ford (Star Wars) reprises his role as the sophisticated archaeologist Indiana Jones in Steven Spielberg's action adventure.

Indiana Jones is ordered to go and collect a sacred stone from a mysterious temple and is accompanied by Willie Scott (Capshaw) and Short Round (Ke Quan).

Filled with brilliant action sequences, sharp characters and exciting settings the second film of the Indiana Jones series is a brilliant action adventure, justifying the genre beautifully.

Ford portrays the hero brilliantly with a sharp and intelligent wit, his nerve under pressure and more so for his lines. Indiana Jones is one of my favourite characters of all time because of these qualities.

Jones is juxtaposed with singer Willie Scott, a spoilt and supposedly sophisticated professional who learns the life of an adventure in very intriguing circumstances. Having this character allows viewers to see the difference between the high life and the poor life, which is also a very touching point to the film.

Willie comes from a very classy background and when arriving in the dilapidated town, its shocking to see how she react and is very touching and audiences will sympathize with the residents of the town. Her character is very funny though, watch out for the elephant scenes.

One of the greatest child roles I've ever seen, Ke Quan gives a funny and classy role as Short Round. His catchphrases and attitude towards situations are great and extremely enjoyable.

The main reason this film is so brilliant is because of the situations Indy and his companions find themselves in, including planes, rope bridges, boat rides and other death defying situations. Its an astonishing mixture of action, adventure and a thrilling ride.

The settings also make the film stunning, none more so than one of the final scenes which makes it one of the best action adventures of all time.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the three!, 6 Jan 2011
By 
I appear to be in the very small minority for which Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom is their favourite Indiana Jones film! I love this movie, I think it has all the things that made Raiders of The Lost Ark but cranked up yo eleven! It's funny, action packed and entertaining from start to finish!

I suppose my view is slightly clouded though as one of my earliest memories is watching this film with my cousin and being blown away! For weeks I walked around dressed as Harrison Ford. So for that reason it will always be special to me for personal reasons. However I do think this is the best Indie film! Please watch this film, in my opinion, humble though it is, this is one of the best pieces of cinema since the cosmos was created!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncut, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Gerald Mindham "gerry" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes you've read it right this is the uncut indiana jones film that everybody's wanted for years .... Fab transfer to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Nice try Lao Che!", 23 Oct 2003
This review is from: Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom [VHS] [1984] (VHS Tape)
Absolutely superb cult classic & by far the best one to quote from when you're lashed up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great Flik, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Temple of Doom is a great watch. Not my favorite Indiana Jones, but still a great example of a film designed purely to be entertaining and fun. Indiana Jones transcends generations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love indiana jones films - the blend of humor, action and storyline are superb- and each time i watch them i discover parts i hadn't appreciate before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars product as described, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a true classic has the kids transfixed, good quality DVD happy with the delivery and I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great action that kept us on the front of our seats. Have liked all the Indiana Jones movies. Can't fail to entertain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom [VHS] [1984]
Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom [VHS] [1984] by Steven Spielberg (VHS Tape - 2000)
4.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews