Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of the strength of love
A study of how a family of different characters copes when their younger son goes missing, and how they remesh later on. The relationship between the two sons is sensitively explored, and breathtakingly moving and understated. Look out for Ryan Merriman, who plays Sam Karras/Ben Cappadora - he gives a very believable performance. A great character study. Not mushy. Not...
Published on 29 May 2002 by phillip newhouse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A mediocre film
This film is about a 3 year old boy who gets separated from his family in a hotel lobby, remains unfound for 9 years, and how this impacts on the boy's natural family and adoptive father. I had forgotten that I watched it years ago and I felt the same frustrations as I did then. Why would a Mother leave a 3 year old with a slightly older son in a hotel lobby teeming...
Published 22 months ago by Suzanne Stone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of the strength of love, 29 May 2002
A study of how a family of different characters copes when their younger son goes missing, and how they remesh later on. The relationship between the two sons is sensitively explored, and breathtakingly moving and understated. Look out for Ryan Merriman, who plays Sam Karras/Ben Cappadora - he gives a very believable performance. A great character study. Not mushy. Not schmaltz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Film of powerful and kaleidoscopic emotions, 17 Mar 2001
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This powerful film produces a kaleidoscope of emotions in the viewer. It is humorous, thrilling, warm and compassionate. From the beginning of the film, which is wonderfully filmed, you are transported into the lives of the family. You feel their emotions in an almost empathic way. You suffer in their pain and rejoice in their joy. This is one to watch on a cold winters night, snuggled up with someone special or your favourite teddy bear and a big box of tissues and long glass of red wine. It stays with you for a long time and is a film that you can watch over and over.... with the same someone special, or perhaps another someone special. Enjoy you will!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film was really good. The acting was believable. I was totally glued to it all the way through and the only problem I thought about it comes with Whoopi Goldberg's character slightly. I can't understand why we have to know that her character is lesbian as she suddenly jumps when Beth is just about to give her a hug and we go into a bit of detail about Whoopi's character. I think this might as well be cut out. It does not have any bearing on the film. Michelle Pfeiffer's character was very good when she loses her son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. Anne Margaret Cook "anniecook123" (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I read the book several years ago, and then re-read it recently. I was glad to find that the film has stuck closely to the book, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Deep End of the Ocean dvd, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I would recommend this movie, should i say chick flick !!! really good value for money. Every mother's nightmare is to lose their child as depicted in this story, Michelle Pheiffer is totally believable and takes you through her rollercoaster of emotions and even though its an old movie(1999) it doesn't feel dated when you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart-breaking tale of loss, love and regret, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Michelle Pfeiffer gives a career best performance as Beth, a successful photographer- with a young family. While she is at her high school reunion, her three year old boy, Ben disappears. Every mother's nightmare comes true for Beth. Ben is gone and following a relentless search- with no stone left unturned... Ben is not found. Then years later, with help from a determined detective (played with verve by Whoopi Goldberg)- all kinds of startling facts about Ben are uncovered. The grief and loss that the family have shared for many years is bought to the surface once more as they must deal with the new revelations and face ghosts from the past.
This may sound like a TV movie but thanks to Michelle Pfeiffer's heartbreaking performance and the tightness of the script, the film never transcends to TV movie hell. You will believe Pfeiffer's sense of loss and sheer determination. You feel anxious when the child goes missing as you know that he could be gone forever.
There is humour provided by Whoopi Goldberg in a small but pivotal role as the detective who helps Beth comes to terms with her loss by refusing to let her give up. Treat Williams is also quietly impressive as Beth's husband- he believes that the child's disappearance is her fault and this leads to emotional confrontations- this is when these two actors really excel. You really do feel their pain.
The Deep End Of The Ocean is a rare film that makes you care about the characters and it makes you think about how you would react to the young family's plight if it were your child or sibling that went missing- how would you cope? Who would you blame?
This film has been largely ignored and deserves to be seen. Buy it and then wonder why Michelle Pfeiffer's work, of late is largely ignored. She is one of America's most under-rated actresses' and this is a severely under-rated movie gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still waters run deep, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Based on a true story, this film uses muted tones to express the story of a family coping when a child goes missing, then struggling even more when he returns suddenly to their lives nine years later, as a twelve-year old. The film benefits greatly from finely crafted, understated performances from Pfeiffer and Williams, as well as the moodiness of Jonathan Jackson as the older brother, Vincent, who is trying bitterly to hold things together. Look out also for Whoopi Goldberg, and for an early appearance by Alexa Vega.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYED, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to anyone for viewing Michelle Pfeiffer played a very good part as the mother of a missing son and the relationships that occur when the son is found and rejoins the family circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A mediocre film, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is about a 3 year old boy who gets separated from his family in a hotel lobby, remains unfound for 9 years, and how this impacts on the boy's natural family and adoptive father. I had forgotten that I watched it years ago and I felt the same frustrations as I did then. Why would a Mother leave a 3 year old with a slightly older son in a hotel lobby teeming with people? The film is full of plausibility issues for me but I would hate to spoil it for others.
Oops! sorry, no offence to the real life family, I am sure it didn't happen quite as the film portrayed. The plausibility issues were mainly based on the acting though Michelle Pfeiffer played her role superbly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good charcter film, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I had seen this film years ago and remembered thinking it was good so thought i would give it another watch, it is a little dated now but the story and acting is very good, i am a michelle pfeiffer fan and she is very believable in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999]
The Deep End Of The Ocean [DVD] [1999] by Ulu Grosbard (DVD - 2000)
£9.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews