Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film - highly recommended!
Richard Gere is fantastic as Mr Jones - one of his best performances. A super story that has a great ending - even though I didn't want it to finish!
Published on 14 Aug 2006 by P. Gajic

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Wasted Opportunity
Mr Jones is a film which could, and should, have been much better. Richard Gere, the director and the writer have gone to considerable lengths to research the subject of manic depression and this is very evident. Gere's performance here is surely one of his best and with Mike Figgis he has created a convincing portrait of a man with a crippling mental illness. You can...
Published on 10 Nov 2007 by Eddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Wasted Opportunity, 10 Nov 2007
By 
Eddie (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Mr Jones is a film which could, and should, have been much better. Richard Gere, the director and the writer have gone to considerable lengths to research the subject of manic depression and this is very evident. Gere's performance here is surely one of his best and with Mike Figgis he has created a convincing portrait of a man with a crippling mental illness. You can feel his absolute exhilaration when high, especially during the classical concert and you sense his descent into hell when he crashes into depression. Unfortunately this section is less than satisfactory simply because it is too short, this I believe because the studio decided in its infinite wisdom that the audience should not be subjected to subject matter which is too depressing. My response to that is not printable. In fact the whole film smacks of studio interference - it is strangely wobbly throughout.

Of course, we can't expect a documentary about manic depression and while mental illness may be the source of great amusement to many it is not, believe me, at all funny and should not be presented as entertainment. This film tries do do both and while it does offer some understanding of the condition it also uses it to motivate a romance which in context, is ludicrous.

The supporting performances are strong, in partiular Delroy Lindo as Howard, a co-worker who seems to understand Jones and offers him support but this relationship is not developed and simply sits on the sidelines. Lena Olin is somewhat flat but Gere injects his character with a vitality which endears the viewer to him and his portrayal of Jones as a man in total despair is intensely moving. We do not find out much about Jones though and this aspect is something which in terms of the script simply seems to be, well, missing.

Is it a love story or a study of manic depression? It undoubtably leans towards the former, but it is Gere's performance in the latter which makes it worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shallow, 5 May 2014
By 
J. Chilton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
A shallow portrayal of bipolar disorder. Hollywood has proved itself capable of depicting mental illness superbly (A Beautifu Mind, Rain Man) but this wasn't even close. Luckily, Richard Gere is so gorgeous, it's worth buying anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Mike "I listen to my audio books while drivin... (WAKEFIELD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Not a great film, but an interesting portrayal of manic depression. A bit stereotypical and obviously compresses the episode of mania and depression significantly. Once it starts on the relationship it becomes very routine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film - highly recommended!, 14 Aug 2006
By 
P. Gajic "moviemad" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Richard Gere is fantastic as Mr Jones - one of his best performances. A super story that has a great ending - even though I didn't want it to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Jones - Brilliant, must have!, 29 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Just a wonderful movie.
Sensitive to the subject matter and passionate with the emotional bond that grows between the main characters.
Gere is brilliantly manic and Olin is beautifully challenging while seeking her own answers.
Can't quite decide whether this is better than Figgis's Leaving Las Vegas but it is a close call.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Jones - a manic depressive genius, 27 April 2010
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Richard Gere gives a chilling and convincing rendition of a mentally ill man. Bits of this equally beautiful, disturbing and wonderfully alive film are making bipolar depression look nearly 'good'. A beautiful and talented, if rather too quiet and stoic Lena Olin plays along with Gere's multi-personalities. I don't know whether I like the film but I know that here Gere acts more than I've seen him playing in most of his other films. He's going OTT but he's great fun to watch - as long as you keep in mind that this is not How Life Is... doctor's mustn't and shouldn't ever fall in love with their charges - but if you like those two actors, you're in for a fine surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars richard gere is wicked in mr jones, 30 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I think Mr Jones is one of the best films Richard Gere has made to this date. His role as a man suffering from depression is so convincing and the relationship with lena olin in the movie is brilliant to watch.
The ending of the movie really does have you on the edge of your seats.
One to watch especially if you're a Richard Gere fan like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
all good, arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
my fav film :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
A fine film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Jones [DVD] [1994]
Mr Jones [DVD] [1994] by Mike Figgis (DVD - 2004)
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews