Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars175
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2009
Scent of a Woman may not be the latest but it certainly holds it appeal. Certainly worth watching if you are an Al Pacino fan and missed this one on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
brilliant movie I could watch it every day It makes you feel how lucky you are I will never complain again just get on with life and enjoy what youve got
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
One of my top ten films of all time. If it's your first time viewing DO STICK WITH IT ... it seems horribly depressing, but it is utterly BRILLIANT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Al Pacino turns in an impressive impersonation of Burt Lancaster (with his eyes shut and his hands tied behind his back) in this film. Enjoyable tosh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
This film never dates and is enjoyable to watch many times over. A superb performance from Pacino, he fails to disappoint with his performance here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Fantastic film could watch it over and over again he plays the part to a tee absolutely love the end. Can't praise this film enough. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 August 2011
Al Pacino plays Frank Slade, a former Lieutenant Colonel who lost his career and his sight due to a stupid accident. Living in New Hampshire with tolerant relatives, Frank has become bitter and angry with the world, so much so he plans to peg out of it after one last hurrah in New York City. Enter Charlie Simms {Chris O'Donnell}, a hard up student from Baird College who is trying to earn $300 just to baby-sit the volatile Frank over the Thanksgiving weekend. Originally oblivious to Frank's plans, Charlie unwittingly becomes an accomplice to what Frank has in mind, yet both of them have no idea just how life defining the weekend could prove to be.

In the main, Scent Of A Woman survives its obvious creaks because of Pacino's Oscar winning, barn storming show. The film itself is engaging and ever watchable, if perhaps a touch too long. Pacino as Slade is plunged into implausible set pieces, driving a Ferrari, dancing the tango with the petite Donna {Gabrielle Anwar} and bluffing traffic cops with care free abandon. But such is the gusto and conviction that Pacino puts into the role, it scarcely matters about improbability since we are having too much of a good time with him. Ably supported by O'Donnell, who sadly after this film wouldn't go on to a better level of acting, Pacino manages to off set the short comings in the piece.....

There is no real drama to speak of in Scent Of A Woman. Some tight coiled spring like moments such as a family dinner and the point of Frank's journey aside, it's a pretty basic and safely written screenplay-with an ending that has divided many across the globe. It's an ending that to me, sits perfectly within the story, in fact it was apparent to me that it would go that way. This is not just Frank's journey, this is Charlie's as well, the ending just brings it all together as regards two polar opposites meeting in the middle at a differing, but crucial, point in their lives. Hell!, I beat my chest and shout Hoo-Hah! upon every viewing, and that's the impact, and the result, that director Martin Brest and his team were hinting at all thru the film.

Sometimes safe and ham can be real enjoyable, especially when backed by a certain soft eyed Italian American actor from the Bronx. 8/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The DVD arrived in excellent condition and in good packaging. It is an excellent movie. One of the best Al Pacino movies in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
This film is a real gem and Al Pacino's performance is stunning. You fall in love with him - I now feel the need to take up dancing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Extremely well acted film with a good story line, and a particularly memorable scene on a hotel dance floor. Very enjoyable movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)