Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why so much negativity?
I bought this on VHS (I know!!), I cant remember why I did, but I was pleasntly surprised and still throw it on now and again. As many have stated at the very least this showcases young talent in early roles. That aside the story is based on paranoia, peer presures, sexual desires and growing up; all in just the right mix. In no place does the film substitute one for...
Published on 15 Nov 2009 by Mr. J. Forsyth

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing rather than disturbing
I don't know what it was about this film but when I heard about it I couldn't wait to lay my hands on a copy. I did cheat and didn't buy the DVD, but hired it on video instead and I'm glad I didn't waste anymore time and money on this film. Disturbing Behavior is one of those films where you can watch the trailer and you don't need to see the rest of it. The select...
Published on 22 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea less than perfect execution, 18 Nov 2011
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The film has got an interesting premise where adolescents are reprogrammed chemically/surgically(?) to become faintly sinister if compliant goodie two shoes in a controlling community.

Elements of the themes have all being done elsewhere e.g., The Midwich Cuckoos for sinister youth Hot Fuzz [DVD] for sinister communities. The community is a bit Dawson's Creek the dark side. Possibly elements of the village in the The Prisoner [DVD] are present.

All of the foregoing do what they do much better than this film, The ending is a little trite. Utimately the film wasn't very well done but it's not awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable and fun., 5 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disturbing Behavior is similar to The Faculty accept it is humans rather than Aliens who are invading the minds of teenagers. It's also obvious that something is wrong when teens go from D students to A graders overnight, except the parents in the movie don't seem to really notice (I guess a movie with dumb parents will appeal more to teenagers).

All the main leads in the movie are fine, Nick Stahl (Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines) and Katie Holmes (Dawson's Creek) are both very good as always though I thought James Marsden (X-Men) looked a bit old to be playing a teenager. William Sadler (The Shawshank Redemption) & Bruce Greenwood (In The Line of Duty: The F.B.I. Murders) are fine but Katherine Isabelle (Ginger Snaps) doesn't even get a name check on the DVD. A.J. Buckley from CSI NY plays one of the Blue Ribbons.

The score by Mark Snow and the original soundtrack are very good, if you like your indie/rock then you would enjoy the soundtrack.

It's directed by David Nutter from The X-Files and I remember Katherine Isabelle also appeared in an episode of The X-Files, not sure if Nutter directed that episode.

Overall, Disturbing Behavior is a good movie but it is not very original nor scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There's One Reason To Spend Your Time Watching This, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour (VHS Tape)
...her name is Katie Holmes. Breathtakingly beautiful as ever, the makers of 'Disturbing Behavior' must have thrown her in to at least get SOMEthing out of their film. 'Cause there's not much of a story. Or rather, we've seen it all before.
'Disturbing Behavior' is more original than 'The Skulls', on the level of 'The Faculty', but contains, what, one scary scene. 'Scary' is maybe too strong a word.
But go ahead, rent it on a lazy afternoon, and enjoy Katie Holmes' gorgeousness. But do not expect much more from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars utter helm-cheese, 26 July 2013
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
ripped from every other 'us against them' teen movie out there, there are no surprises in this by-the-numbers tosh. if you are completely hungover and can't quite engage your brain with anything challenging or remotely original, then this film might work for you. utter helm-cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High school horror?, 8 Sep 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Loner Steve Clark (James Marsden) and his family have just moved from Chicago to an idyllic village in the northwest. As he starts school, Steve finds the usual cliques, the strangest being a group called "the Blue Ribbons;" they're the handsomest jocks and most beautiful coeds and seem perfect but have a bad habit of beating people up - and getting away with it. Steve is befriended by a stoner (Nick Stahl) and a punk girl (Katie Holmes) who share his suspicions about the Blue Ribbons. Can they solve the mystery - in time?!

First of all, James Marsden is way too good-looking, charming, and old to play the outsider teen. He's extremely likeable and sincere, however, and was the only reason I kept watching to end, hoping this confusing mess would make sense. I guess it did have a plot, but it was so poorly written that it's pretty laughable. There was nothing in the story that seemed believeable. The teen and adult characters were all stereotypes, the Marsden and Holmes characters suddenly became brilliant detectives and foiled an evil plan to turn the student body into Stepford Teens, and zombies, it seems, are really dumb and apparently no one will notice if they all disappear.

For a so-called "thriller," this movie was not suspenseful at all, just silly and amateurish. (But James Marsden looks good.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sort of an X-files type film., 5 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour (VHS Tape)
Directed by David Nutter who directed episodes of the X-files. By the start of the film you would think it was an episode of the X-files. Its a story about creepy goings-on at Cradle Bay. A brainy bunch of kids who can also pretty much kick...(see the supermarket scene) This movie is good. It is NOT a faculty rip-off and it has some good suspense and a weird ending.(The waterfall jump-off) BUT, its not very long, the boy and his family kind of make it boring and its not a film you would want to watch all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The acting was alright, that's all I have to say..., 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
...apart from the fact that this was one weird-ass film. Katie Holmes was amazing in her role but the characters were poorly written and the ending was too predictable (apart from when the Stahl turned).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disturbing Behaviour [DVD] [1999]
Disturbing Behaviour [DVD] [1999] by David Nutter (DVD - 2004)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews