Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wild about it
Wild Things is great. It has some great comedy, a nice series of sound themes, nice eye candy for the lads and a good laugh for the lasses, and best of all, the only plot I've seen which makes it past the quadruple-cross. Not highly realistic, but it's TV, right?
Denise Richards is the daughter of THE top society family in Blue Bay, Florida. Neve Campbell is a piece...
Published on 11 Jun 2004 by Joanna Crawford Steel

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twisted and twisty
This is another recent reworking of an idea thats as old as film. This is a twisty thriller, you know the kind where you're never quite sure who is working with who, who is trying to get what, who's dead who's alive. Nothing is certain kind of film. However, despite this formula, its a cracking film. It starts with the rich girl accusing the poor teacher of rape. It then...
Published on 1 Oct 2002 by b_m_whitley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wild about it, 11 Jun 2004
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Wild Things is great. It has some great comedy, a nice series of sound themes, nice eye candy for the lads and a good laugh for the lasses, and best of all, the only plot I've seen which makes it past the quadruple-cross. Not highly realistic, but it's TV, right?
Denise Richards is the daughter of THE top society family in Blue Bay, Florida. Neve Campbell is a piece of white trash who lives in a broken down caravan in mangroves and looks like a Goth. Matt Dillon is the up and coming star teacher at Blue Bay High and Kevin Bacon is the dodgy cop in the Blue Bay Police Department.
On first sight, Kelly (Richards) loathes Suzie (Campbell) and is intent on seducing her cute teacher Sam (Dillon), and Suzie loathes Detective Duquette (Bacon), for reasons that we don't find out until later. It's only after it becomes apparent how very close Suzie, Kelly and Sam actually are that the plot begins to thicken - and I won't spoil the fun.
It's a thriller that is so trashy, kinky and convoluted that you watch it all the way through, go "Eh?" and have another go - let's say it's the ONLY film I know where there are so many double-crosses that they had to tack an explanatory out-take on the end! Good to watch any time, with any company except possibly your granny, and some lovely sunny scenery for those who really miss the sun through ten months of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy classy thriller!, 28 Aug 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I have heard of this film for quite a while now but have only just got round to watching it. I have to say it is a lot better than expected. The acting is good, good story and the plot has more twists than a pizzeria pepper pot!!!
Probably more well know for the scenes where Denise Richards and Neve Campbell kiss and the sex scene, but the rest of the film is much better than most thrillers with a twist, featuring a strong cast including Kevin Bacon. However you do need your brain in gear towards the end of the film to keep up with all the plot twists.........while the credits roll a few scenes are show as if to try and untangle some of the plotlines. Overall a great sexy thriller with a great ending no one could see coming....but you just feel some earlier scenes don't add up once you see the later plot revelations? ....but good fun all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic sexy twisted thriller., 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Imagine one day in a beautiful south Flordia community, a rich woman's sexy daughter washing her handsome guidence consulars jeep and wants to sleep with him, but it becomes a twisted nightmare as the consular is accused of rape, but there is something else behind it. That is the backbone to WILD THINGS. WILD THINGS is defanly the original sexy twisted thriller of the year, that made Denise Richards and Neve Campbell, the sexiest young stars in a erotic thriller. The plot is clever and twisted and you've got to have snakeeyes to understand everything. The performances by Campbell, Richards, Dillion, Bacon and Murray (Ghostbusters fame) are something else. And the sex scene is breathtaking. Who ever wrote a good story to this is amazing. it's like the hidden clues like in the plot, and the actors do the plot as if it is their own. Sam Lombardo (Matt Dillion - There's something about Mary) a consular with a handsome charm doesn't realize that Rich girl Kelly Van Ryan (Denise Richards - The world is not enough, in here ultimate sex straved performance) is in love with him, but she accuses him of rape when he refuses to deflower her. And Suzie Toller (Scream's Never Campbell) too is accusing, but a detective named Ray (Kevin Bacon - The hollow man) has a bad feeling that the rape case maybe a game, but whose game? I have seen this a couple of times, the sex scene with Campbell, Richards and Dillion is truly something else. A CLASSIC THRILLER WITH A TWISTED INTELLIGENT STORY. I reccomended this to Amazon customers 18 years and over it contains Thriller violence, Sex invovling high level Denise Richards nudidty and some bad lananuge. I give it a high score of: 10/10 *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good film, very cleverly written, 1 July 2010
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Firstly anyone watching this with their girlfriend or wife will get a battering in the first 50 minutes as the beautiful Denise Richards shines. However, as the plot twists and turns they will soon congratulate you on picking an excellent intelligent suspense thriller. This is what good films should be like not those drippy lovey eco world saving mush they seem to provide lately. I totally unexpected the twist and the ending which made this film in a way a 'shocker' and you dont really know what to expect next. A good film, very cleverly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All is not as it seems, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Don't get this mixed up with 'Where the wild things are'!. Released in 1998 this erotic thriller begins with a high school guidance councillor, Sam Lombardo (Matt Dillon) being accused of rape by two female students, Kelly Van Ryan (Denise Richards) and Suzie Toller (Neve Campbell), and he hires lawyer Kenneth Bowden (Bill Murray) to defend him, but all is not as it seems.
This basic plot soon takes a dramatic turn as other schemes come into play. All in all there are about 4 major plot twists to the story and if you didn't manage to figure it out during the movie, the end credits show 'hidden' scenes that explain the various plot twists.
The film gained notoriety when it came out for its explicit sex scenes but these are now much reduced in impact due to more modern releases. Denise Richards still smokes as the spoilt Kelly and Neve Cambell works well as her nemesis. Murry is great as the unconventional lawyer. Sure there are some plot holes if you're looking past the eye candy, but its still a good thriller.
Unlike other reviewers I had no issues with the disc. The colours and sound were fine -mind you, I do pass it through a hi fi system. I picked this up for under £3 and for that price you can't really go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted & Trashy with a Vengeance, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what's called "a trashy thriller" I've watched some films called this and frequently been disappointed but this is the one, the original item the genuine article the real thing! Set in the steamy marshy coastal area of the Florida Everglades this movie is beautifully photographed from start to finish even the alligators look great. The plot is incredible complicated but don't worry about that just let everything wash over you, there's a rape thyme but that is misleading ending in an astonishing twist, following that about four or five surprises/double crosses, all of the four main characters are involved in some way and by the end only one of them is left alive! Kevin bacon - Matt Dillon - Denise Richards - Neve Campbell are perfect and in a supporting roll Bill Murray adds some comedy. This Blu-Ray is the Unrated Version and shows a bit more of the two lesbian scenes between Denise Richards & Neve Campbell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure, 2 May 2003
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
One of the first movies that I picked up after buying my DVD player was this guilty pleasure of a show that I had seen only a year earlier in the theaters. Personally, any movie that sports a naked Denise Richards is a pretty easy sell and the "naughty" nature of the movie is quite distracting enough to ignore the plot holes that are simply gaping in this example of plot twist on top of plot twist. For extra features the commentary is just okay and the extras, well they emphasize that everything of any substance was put in the theatrical run (ie they are short, very short). It's hard to really give any plot information on this because to do so would give away the stories many surprises, but suffice to say we are dealing here with a concoction of scheming and counter scheming between an interesting and diverse group of people in Florida. I heartily recommend a purchase of this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure, 16 April 2003
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
One of the first movies that I picked up after buying my DVD player was this guilty pleasure of a show that I had seen only a year earlier in the theaters. Personally, any movie that sports a naked Denise Richards is a pretty easy sell and the "naughty" nature of the movie is quite distracting enough to ignore the plot holes that are simply gaping in this example of plot twist on top of plot twist. For extra features the commentary is just okay and the extras, well they emphasize that everything of any substance was put in the theatrical run (ie they are short, very short). It's hard to really give any plot information on this because to do so would give away the stories many surprises, but suffice to say we are dealing here with a concoction of scheming and counter scheming between an interesting and diverse group of people in Florida. I heartily recommend a purchase of this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The plot is good but the DVD is way below average, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Things [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The plot is quite interesting and provides plenty of twists to last till the end of the movie (see other reviews). But the quality of the recording itself is nowhere near what a DVD should be. Colors are blotchy and pale, like on a badly worn videotape. Real disappointment.
But as I said, the move itself is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cult!, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Better go for a rental..

When you know the story, it's not as great as it is on the first time!

The story is, imho, awesome!
I love all those sick twists and the ending is just, yeeeah :o)

Every Fan of Denise Richards must own this movie :o)
(As with "Into the Blue" and Jessica Alba XD )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Things [DVD] [1998]
Wild Things [DVD] [1998] by John McNaughton (DVD - 1999)
£3.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews