Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When a Man Only Answers to a Bottle...
"Leaving Las Vegas" is a dark and tragic film that shows you how low you can fall and just how bad things can get. It portrays a dead-on picture of alcoholism and what exactly one goes through when they've hit rock bottom. As tragic as it is, this is a very beautiful and well-done film that keeps your attention to the bitter end.
Ben Sanderson (Nicholas Cage) is an...
Published on 6 Sep 2003 by Michael Crane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Film, Shit Presentation
I'm not here to talk about the movie. I'm sure you've read all there is to know about it and I do not wish to add to that. If I was judging this film alone it would get 6 stars. However the way it is packaged is an absolute disgrace. The sound is shot to hell: at parts in the movie it ebbs and flows, up and down. You can hardly make out what the characters are saying...
Published 20 days ago by Mr. Carl Kamutikaoma


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When a Man Only Answers to a Bottle..., 6 Sep 2003
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
"Leaving Las Vegas" is a dark and tragic film that shows you how low you can fall and just how bad things can get. It portrays a dead-on picture of alcoholism and what exactly one goes through when they've hit rock bottom. As tragic as it is, this is a very beautiful and well-done film that keeps your attention to the bitter end.
Ben Sanderson (Nicholas Cage) is an alcoholic who has nothing left to live for but the very booze that seems to be the only happiness he can find. His friends want nothing to do with him and women are disgusted by him. After being let go from his job, Ben burns all of his possessions and moves to Las Vegas, where his only plan is to drink himself to death. In a short amount of time he meets Sera (Elisabeth Shue), a lonely hooker who has been through it all. An unexpected bond is formed between the two and love falls upon them that can only end in tragedy.
Boy, was this a hard movie to watch, but it was so well-done and executed. You are able to sympathize with both Ben and Sera, despite the paths they have chosen. Nicholas Cage was amazing and brilliant. No wonder why he won an Academy Award for his performance. You really buy into the fact that he is this sad character who wants nothing more but to destroy himself by the only thing that can bring him some sense of false happiness. Shue is also terrific in her role and should be applauded as well. The two are explosive as a team and can really bring the house down.
"Leaving Las Vegas" is drama at its best. It's heartbreaking, but at the same time is satisfying. It's emotionally charged from start to finish. The writing is poetic, the acting is electric, and the directing is fantastic. Be warned, this is not a "feel-good" movie. It's a portrait of harsh reality and it doesn't go easy on you for a second. If you want a powerhouse drama that will keep you emotionally involved, this is the one for you. A terrific and amazing film on every front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dance of Despair in the Night, 26 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Mike Figgis brought this touching ode to the night to the screen, imbuing it with the transient and tragic nature of those seduced and then swallowed up by it. The director of Stormy Monday perfectly captures the sad yet often poetic beauty found in the shared loneliness of the night two souls in despair can find. On the surface it is a simple story of a man drinking himself to death and a prostitute on the streets of Las Vegas. But it is really a story of love and loss with a foreign film atmosphere and quality, giving it that rare depth where the film becomes more than the sum of its parts.
Nicholas Cage gives a haunting performance as Ben Sanderson, a man who has lost everything and come to Las Vegas to drink himself to death. On his way down he meets a prostitute named Sera and in their spiraling despair they discover love. One of the most poignant moments in the film comes when Cage is on the streets of Las Vegas seeking human contact and can’t remember whether he lost everything because of his drinking or started drinking because he lost everything. Cage’s performance rings absolutely true and deservedly won him the Oscar. He shows with great tenderness the sad realism of being an alcoholic.
Matching Cage scene for scene is Elizabeth Shue in a brilliantly realized role that should have won an Oscar. As this working girl begins to care about Ben she discovers she is not dead inside, like some, and can still love. But when Ben finally pushes her away in order to save her she realizes that if she lets him, she may very well lose this power to love and her connection to being human. Going back, however, may be more than her heart can bare.
Figgis has made a mesmerizing film of almost overwhelming sadness. This is not a ‘feel good’ movie by any stretch of the imagination. There is both truth and poetry here though for those who know this life. Ben and Sera are like two roses; one withering at the onset of its last winter and the other finding an unexpected bud on a long dormant vine.
An incredible sountrack with artist like Michael MacDonald and Sting is used to set the tone for this wonderful but difficult to watch film. Anyone who has ever been devastated by a loss and known a Sera will be moved by this heartbreaking journey into loneliness and despair. Though brilliant, its appeal may be limited and it is easy to understand why some are not as enthusiastic about it.
But for those who have even seen or experienced a glimmer of this side of life and been shown the comforting tenderness of love on the way down, the final moments of this film will be almost painful to watch and deeply affecting. Figgis has made a masterpiece for all those who have walked away before the night swallowed them up completely and they were lost forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, compelling and painful, 29 July 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I found this film very hard to watch. Not because it is a bad film but because of the material with which it deals and the strength of the portrayal of that material.
Nicolas Cage plays Ben, a man who is on the way down and who knows it. He loses his family and his job and the only thing that he has left is drinking. Finally, destroying everything that remains of his old life, he takes his severance pay and sets off for Las Vegas with the simple intention of drinking himself to death.
There he has a chance encounter with prostitute Sera (Elisabeth Shue) and they are drawn together. All that Ben needs is a person who will not reject him because he is a drunk and who will not try to get him off the bottle. Sera needs Ben too. She needs a man who wants her for more than just sex or the money that it makes.
Oddly, for a relationship involving a prostitute, sex hardly enters into things. The reason is simple. Alcohol is deadening Ben to the extent that he is not sexually interested in Sera. This is the one thing that strains their relationship. Ben never asks Sera to stop working but he makes sure that she knows that he does not like it. Sera cannot understand how Ben can want to be with her but not want her sexually.
Finally, Sera realises something about Ben. When he told her that he intended to drink hiumself to death, he was being more serious than with anything else. She asks him to seek help. This precipitates a string of events that breaks them up but they are reunited for a tragic finale in which both finally get what they wanted.
Cage puts in a truely outstanding performance as Ben. Watching him gave me the same feelings that I have had when watching a friend get too drunk, too often. He really is totally convincing. Shue is good but her performance is overshadowed by Cage.
The final reason that the film is so compelling is the source material. The film is based on a book by John O'Brien who killed himself as filming began. Director, Mike Figgis finished the film as a tribute and O'Brien's father is reported to have described the story as his son's suicide note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nihilistic but touching., 21 July 2004
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A great movie.
This is the film that Nic Cage was born to make. It is his best performance by a mile. Unfortunately it makes watching pretty much everything else he has done frustrating as he has never hit these heights again.
The bleak premise of the film, a broken man drinking himself to death in the company of a hooker whose pimp has been killed, could put some people off. Don't be one of them, this film has a rare beauty and emotional depth.
If you want to see a love story that isn't saccharine, cliched guff then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Are You A Drunk?, 31 May 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] (DVD)
So speculates Elizabeth Shue's prostitute Sera, as to the question Nicolas Cage's incorrigible alcoholic Ben Sanderson is expecting to hear in Mike Figgis' bleak, but impressive, 1995 film. In fact, it is a question Sera never does pose explicitly (partly because she suspects Ben would immediately walk out on her) and one as to whose answer we, the audience, are only given a fleeting clue (perhaps) via the photo Ben keeps of a woman and child (his wife and son?), before allowing it to go up in flames, along with other possessions, as he is sacked from his LA screenwriter job, thereafter moving to Las Vegas to 'drink himself to death'.

Figgis, who has been something of an enigmatic film-maker, from a variable, quite prolific, early career to, latterly, a very sporadic one, does a fine job here in his tale of two troubled, despairing and (apparently) doomed souls - providing probably the most uncompromisingly honest account of the lot of the dipsomaniac that I have seen (to rate with other fine portrayals on the same subject in films such as The Lost Weekend, My Name Is Joe and 16 Years Of Alcohol). Both central performances here are outstanding. Cage, arguably, has the slightly easier role in which to excel, full of bluster and bravado when drunk, but tinged with pathos and (frequently shivering) despair when sober - this, along with his early role in Alan Parker's Birdy, is certainly the best thing I've seen from him. Indeed, I would not wish to deny his right to his Best Actor Oscar, but if Cage deserved such an accolade, then (for me) Shue did likewise (even more so, in fact) for a performance of staggering power and complexity (brassy, sensitive, confused, raw, sympathetic, sexy, tragic and deluded) - it seems to me to be another case of talent wasted as I have not seen her do anything remotely comparable to this performance since.

Visually, Figgis' film is never less than impressive with cinematographer Declan Quinn providing a vibrantly evocative depiction of (predominantly) night-time Las Vegas, whilst the film's eclectic (but primarily jazzy) soundtrack, largely composed by Figgis, also adds to the film's edgy atmosphere (although I could have done without quite so much Sting). Whilst Leaving Las Vegas is more a series of vignettes than having a particularly strong narrative per se, Figgis does include a number of nice homage-like touches, such as when Ben and Sera are watching The Third Man on a TV across a swimming pool and the scene when the two first meet, as Ben (drunk as usual) almost runs into Sera in his car (at a red light), in a nod which harks back to the similar first meeting of Travis Bickle and Easy (Iris) in Taxi Driver.

For me, the film is slightly less engaging during its third quarter, but concludes with a brilliantly powerful (and tragic) denouement and remains a compelling piece of film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Going To Drink Myself To Death, 17 Nov 2003
By 
Ken J (Dublin, Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Nick Cage plays the part of Ben Sanderson, a hopelessly addicted alcoholic, whose life is now on the slippery slope to nowhere.
We see little glimpses of his former self, as a powerful Hollywood movie executive. He was once happily married, brilliant at his job, and with the world at his fingertips. But alcohol has no respect for either intelligence or social position, and Ben is now merely a shadow of his former self, and deep in the grip of his own personal demons.
One scene at the beginning of the movie encapsulates beautifully the way in which alcohol has dragged Ben down, and robbed him totally of any last shred of his self-respect.
His film producer colleagues Marc (Steven Webber) and Peter (Richard Lewis) are having dinner and drinks in an upmarket restaurant while they shoot the breeze about their latest blockbuster film project.
Ben has run out of cash, and is desperate for a drink.
He spots his erstwhile buddies, and dollar signs immediately begin to flash before his eyes. He bursts into their private conversation in a desperate attempt to cadge enough money to allow him to carry on boozing. He completely demeans and degrades himself for the paltry price of a few drinks, and what’s more he realises it. But alcohol has him in such a fierce stranglehold that he would quite literally go to any lengths to get the necessary wherewithal to buy his next glass of hooch!
His career is on the slide, and he’s eventually sacked by his boss. This is done reluctantly, and it’s plain that his boss still has a lot of regard for him, but has now been let down just once too often, and left with no alternative but to let Ben go.
It’s the last straw for Ben, who concludes that he can’t fight his addiction any longer, and decides to take his own life. But a painless death with a bottle of pills is not for him! He decides to go out with a bang. He liquidates all his remaining assets, and with the severance pay from his job heads for the bright lights of Las Vegas, where he reckons he can ‘party’ 24-hours a day without sticking out like a sore thumb.
He’s worked out a budget that will allow him to maintain his required daily alcohol intake (enormous) and the occasional fling with a hooker, and which should see him dead and buried within a few months.
But he hasn’t reckoned on falling in love!
He’s hardly landed in Vegas when he meets Sera, (Elisabeth Shue) a prostitute with a heart of gold, who falls for him like a ton of bricks. (And vice versa)
Before long she has convinced him to move into her apartment, and has even given him a present of a silver hip flask to hold the real love of his life, his beloved booze. Ben reckons he’s at last found a woman that truly ’understands’ him.
A poignant scene with Sera captures to a tee the hopeless plight of the drinking alcoholic. Sera is trying to convince him to move in with her, and he agrees, but only after making her give a solemn promise.
“The one thing you can NEVER ask me to do is to stop drinking!”
You know from the start that the relationship is doomed to failure.
Ben is incapable of sustaining any form of physical relationship. In one harrowing scene by a hotel pool, we see Sera taking off her bikini top and soaking her breasts in champagne, in a futile attempt to get Ben more interested in her body than his beloved booze.
Ben’s interested all right, but is so piss*d that he falls over, shattering a glass table and cutting himself to ribbons. Sera then proceeds to lick his wounds clean!
She loves this man so totally that she’s prepared to put up with almost anything to win his affection, and will care for him no matter what.
Elisabeth Shue gives the performance of her life as Sera.
We’re never really told how she ended up as a prostitute, working for a sadistic Russian pimp. (played by Julian Sands) She is as trapped by her lifestyle every bit as much as Ben is ensnared by his alcohol addiction, and cannot break free from the ‘easy money’ she has become used to earning.
This is no glossy “Pretty Woman” type of movie, and we see the inherent dangers of prostitution when in one gut-wrenching scene she is brutally beaten and anally raped by a bunch of college boys out for a night on the town.
The movie is directed by Mike Figgis. ( Stormy Monday, Internal Affairs) and is based on a autobiographical novel by author John O’Brien.
Incidentally, O’Brien never got to see his novel on the silver screen, because he himself committed suicide only two weeks after it went into production.
British director Figgis has brilliantly captured the futility and despair of both the drinking alcoholic and the unglamorous and dangerous life of a prostitute.
He doesn’t even attempt to introduce any “feel-good” factor, by hinting at a possible happy ending, with Sera giving up the game, and Ben getting himself ‘clean and sober’. Instead he concentrates on showing us what actually happens to over 90% of alcoholics, who NEVER get sober, and eventually end up dead from their illness.
Incidentally, Cage researched his part in the movie by actually going on a series of binge drinking sessions himself, and by talking to dozens of alcoholics in clinics all over America.

Be warned. This is not a movie that is easy to watch, and to say I enjoyed it wouldn’t be a correct assessment. It’s far to hard hitting, and it’s message far too brutal, for it to be ‘enjoyed’ in the conventional sense.
But I guarantee that you won’t fail to be moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaving Las Vegas review, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film is very intense and quite edgey. Both the main actors are totally convincing. If you have issues about alcoholism and codependency this film may not be for you - alternatively it might make you understand it a bit more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping sense of reality portrayed here, 10 Nov 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
leaving las vegas is a film of deep desperation and is a grim and unflinching look at alcoholism and offers little in terms of joy and happy endings,this is the stuff of nightmares and is a raw look at the weakness of man.

Nic cage plays ben who has lost everything he ever loved due to his dependance on alcohol so decides to sell up and head to las vegas to end his life through one mother of a drinking session,along the way he meets a prostitute called sera played brilliantly bu beth shue,and they form an unlikely but doomed friendship,at first she says he can die how he wants but after a while she begs for him to end his mission of destruction but unlike the hollywood ethos where maybe ben would listen and they all live happy ever after this isnt one of those films.

There are scenes that are just plain horrific and cage is immense as ben who cant live with his demons,simply stunning and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling but very Depressing, 23 Dec 2007
Remarkable. Touching. Riveting. Leaving Las Vegas is all of these and then some. I have not seen a film of this magnitude about loneliness and acceptance in such a while that I was in tears for much of the run time.

Nicholas Cage is Ben, a man who has lost his wife and child, throws his job away, and takes all of his remaining money to buy as much liquor as possible and "drink himself to death" in the city of Las Vegas. He has given up all hope, with no wish to live, but for one reason or another, wants a companion to share in his misery, but not try to save him. He finds this companion in a hooker, Sera, played by Elizabeth Shue. They immediately form a strong relationship based on one night of talking about their lives. Sera in particular quickly grows attached to Ben, for no other reason than she has been alone her whole life and wants nothing more than to feel that want and need by someone.

Cage won his first Oscar for his role as Ben, and how deserved it was. He was astounding, perfection, down to every single tick, the volume of his voice, the pain and tragedy buried in his eyes. I could not believe the extent of his role, the dedication and time he invested in bringing this character to life. Same goes for Elizabeth Shue, who with a simple glance at a person, she reveals her entire self, and no one even dares to notice except for Ben. This neediness is apparent, she wants to hold onto this relationship so badly, yet what makes their relationship work is total and complete acceptance of their respective decisions. He will not tell her to stop being a hooker, and she in return can never ask him to stop drinking. And it is in that factor that makes this film worth watching. To be totally accepted by those around them, to open themselves up to such an extreme.

Leaving Las Vegas is a sobering film about connections, loneliness, acceptance, and a small little island of hope that is Ben and Sera. They are two good people, depicted in a world full of sorrows and misdeeds, who latch onto each other and never let go. They were nothing but ghosts, till that chance encounter, and became each others worlds. Cage and Shue bring these good people to life in such an extraordinary way, making Leaving Las Vegas a film to be treasured and remembered for years to come. I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Cage became a douche, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant piece of American film noir. very dark, very, very dark and touching and sad and beautiful. Oh Nicholas... what happend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996]
Leaving Las Vegas [DVD] [1996] by Mike Figgis (DVD - 2000)
5.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews