Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite romantic comedy of all time
This is easily my favorite romantic comedy of all time. My enjoyment never decreases no matter how many times I watch it. Adam Sandler may put out a mediocre movie now and again, but he proves his acting skills in The Wedding Singer. The adorable Drew Barrymore pretty much breaks the world record for cuteness, innocence, and preciousness in her performance. Robbie...
Published on 29 Nov. 2002 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wedding Singer Fun
It was good fun but not a film I will want to watch too often. It was good to remember 80's fashion!
Published on 13 May 2013 by Hilary Eastwood


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite romantic comedy of all time, 29 Nov. 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wedding Singer [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is easily my favorite romantic comedy of all time. My enjoyment never decreases no matter how many times I watch it. Adam Sandler may put out a mediocre movie now and again, but he proves his acting skills in The Wedding Singer. The adorable Drew Barrymore pretty much breaks the world record for cuteness, innocence, and preciousness in her performance. Robbie Hart (Sandler) is a wedding singer who is a week away from marrying his sweetheart Linda. Julia Sullivan (Barrymore) is a waitress who has moved to the city to be closer to her fiancée Glenn, whom she fears is never going to set a date for their wedding. Robbie loves his job and loves helping all sorts of people, but his world crashes down around him when his fiancée never shows up for the wedding and later tells him she cannot possibly marry someone who is just a wedding singer in a small town. Julia is overjoyed when Glenn finally agrees to get married, but she begins to question her feelings as she spends more and more time with Robbie, whom she helps bring out of his Linda-induced depression. Both Linda and Glenn are thoroughly shallow, unworthy people. Naturally, there are all kinds of complications involved in Robbie and Julia actually acknowledging and expressing their feelings for one another, and the movie culminates in Robbie's desperate attempt to find Julia before she gets to Las Vegas and marries Glenn.
The theme may sound rather commonplace, and it probably is, but this movie works wonderfully. The entire cast is wonderful, from an older lady who pays Robbie for singing lessons with meatballs as she learns a song to sing for her husband on their 50th wedding anniversary, to Robbie's strange friend who dresses like Michael Jackson and patterns his life after Fonzie. Robbie's androgynous, Culture Club-loving backup singer George is a real hoot, and Billie Idol (yes, that Billie Idol) ably adds his own unique touch to the movie. Not only is the storyline wonderful, refreshing, and touching, the whole film is a treasure trove of 1980s pop culture. The soundtrack is a veritable smorgasbord of 1980s music, featuring some of the decade's most popular and most distinctive songs. There are references to the pop culture of the time strewn everywhere, making The Wedding Singer a veritable tribute to my favorite decade. Hilarious, sentimental, and touching, this movie finds its way into my VCR every few months, and I enjoy it more and more every time I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my absolute favourite, 23 Jun. 2000
This film is fantastic. Each and every time it is on sky I have to watch it. My family have nearly had enough and are well versed in the amusing "say hi to your brother Tito". It never fails to make me laugh and make me cry. Robbie is a gentle chap and Julia his perfect match. It is almost heartbreaking. The obnoxious Glen deserves everything that he eventually gets. I thoroughly recommend this video for anyone with a soft heart and good humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love doesn't stink you know?, 9 Jun. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Robbie Hart is a popular wedding singer who's life gets flipped upside down after he is jilted at the altar. Enter pretty waitress Julia who's all set to marry her supposedly dream guy.

Oh the 80s was a fun decade, few like to own up to it, but yeah it was colourful and...The 80s, a time of big hair, Miami Vice fashions, red leather jackets and the Michael Jackson glove. All of which gets captured perfectly in Frank Coraci's The Wedding Singer.

Starring Adam Sandler as Robbi and Drew Barrymore as Julia, The Wedding Singer is a simple, but highly effective boy meets girl frothathon. The story has been told a million times in a number of other eras, but how many really tap into the zeitgeist of the time the way Coraci's movie does? A great soundtrack is backed up by a lovely poignant script, and our two protagonists are chemistry personified. Wonderful humorous support comes from Alexis Arquette as a Boy George wannabe, and Steve Buscemi pops in with one of the funniest cameos of the 90s.

It's possible that The Wedding Singer only really strikes a chord with those who were youth of the 80s? (it made over $100,000,000 profit though), and rest assured this is only one side of the decade we are witnessing. But it has charm in abundance and it's funny and irresistibly joyous. It has flaws if one wanted to delve down deep into the production, but really, why would you? They haven't made a film for intellectuals and muso's of the cinematic medium. They made a film about love in the 1980s and slyly took the rise on the way.

Now where did I leave my glove? 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love stinks...., 4 Mar. 2014
Robbie is stood up at the altar by Linda, who decides that the prospect of marrying a guy who sings at wedding receptions doesn't equal the attraction she felt when he was lead singer in a rock band.

Robbie finds consolation in his friendship with Julia, a waitress at the wedding receptions and bar mitzvahs where he performs.

Julia asks Robbie to help her plan her upcoming wedding to Glenn, who isn't interested in the details of the ceremony.

Robbie learns that Glenn also isn't totally interested in Julia and is marrying her because she "deserves it" after sticking with him for years and because he knows she's not marrying him for his money, since she dated him back before he started pulling down the big bucks...

It's not your typical Sandler movie. There are no where near as many sight gags and rants as you get in his other movies. This is 'The Ladies' Adam Sandler, as you have also seen in '50 first dates' and 'Big Daddy'.

It's ultimately a chick flick with a slight Sandler Sheen. All of his regulars are here, but they play it more straighter than usual.

But it's a god film. The chemistry between the two leads is fantastic, and they should make more movies together.

If you, like myself, love the eighties, then this is the pinnacle tribute to the eighties. Big Hair, Big egos, and Billy Idol.

A movie that will brighten your day up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE !!!!, 15 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Wedding Singer [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I LOVE this film so much. It is so funny. The music is great, and the memories of the 90's are hysterical. The cast is absolutely fantastic. You'll love every character. This is a film that will have you smiling from start to finish. The soundtrack is fantastic.

Adam and Drew give a great performance. I love Adam's 'Outburst' song about Linda. Love John Lovitch's version of ' Lady's Night' .....'CHAKA KHAN'...brilliant !!!

I like the fact that Adam continously puts his friends and family in his films.

The Wedding Singer and Happy Gilmore are films you could watch over and over again.

Adam is a comic genius, and loved by us all. I have forgiven him for 'Going Overboard' (I'm still confused by that film...what the hell was Billy Zane meant to be ??) and I can try to ignore Adam's annoying voice in Waterboy and Little Nicky !!

The Wedding Singer is an absolute classic about a fun time in our lives. It's definately one of my favourite comedy films. Everyone should own this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eighties Heaven, 3 Feb. 2011
Absolutely love this film! Have watched it countless times and it never fails to lift my spirits and make me laugh. And, having been a teenager in the eighties, it also has a funny way of making me reminisce about the good old days.

The film brilliantly portrays the atrocious leg-warmers, frills and perms which we all thought at the time were the height of fashion, and the fantastic soundtrack boasts many of the greatest songs to come out of that unforgettable decade.

Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler both nail their performances, along with a fab supporting cast including the legend that is Billy Idol!

If you haven't already seen this film you really must! It will give you total escapism and make you feel all warm and cosy, and if the eighties was your time, you will find yourself being swept away on a wave of nostalgia. Easily 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trully excellent film, 17 Feb. 2004
By 
D. Simons "collectauctionamazon" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wedding Singer [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film is absolutley fantastic in the sense that it keeps you gripped all the way through and although a love story it is not totally slushy. Adam Sandler plays a fantastic role and to a sense you end up wanting to give him a good slap and say wake up and smell the coffee. It is this feeling that brings the film to life. Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADAM & DREW, BEST FILM, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The wedding singer is Adam Sandler's best ever film, and for me one of the best films based on the 80's, the soundtrack is just awesome, plus Drew Barrymore is so cute in this film. Adam Sandler plays a wedding singer and he loves his job, but when he gets jilted on his wedding day he loses all faith in love and marriage, but when he becomes friends with a waitress called Julia(Drew Barrymore) he begins to find his feet again, and begins to fall in love with her, but there is a huge stepping stone, she is engaged to be married. This is a brilliant film with a great song at the end plus full of good laughs and cringe worthy moments, and for me I never get bored of watching it.

***BONUS FEATURES***

A Backstage look at the Wedding singer on Broadway
Theatrical Trailer
Extra Footage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb film, 14 May 2009
By 
Eric W. Harrison "ericharrison42" (barnard castle uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a really good rom com with the added bonus of a trip down memory lane for those of us of a certain age.the story follows adam sandlers robbie hart the best wedding singer in town as he is dumped by his girlfriend and falls slowly for the lovely drew barrymores julia who is about to marry the wrong man.that's all the story you need to know but the leads act well together with that special chemistry that makes a movie stand out from the crowd(which this one does).
the picture on this blu-ray is great and so is the sound track the only thing to let the disc down is the lack of special features but even then this is a definite buy for anyone who love a good romance with all the things about the eighties that should have been left there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine film, 19 May 2009
This review is from: The Wedding Singer [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Sandler and Barrymore are superb. But for me what makes this movie a classic are the roles of the supporting cast. For example the drunk best mans speech at the start and his mad friends egging him on, the old lady and old man overtly lusting after the younger characters, the other wedding singers vying for Sandler's business and Sandler's depression song. There is so much immature and amusing visual comedy throughout, add this to 80's soundtrack and underlying romantic theme and this film has something for everyone. It does help if you remember the 80's though for some of the visual gags and oneliners. Highly recommended, one of the few films I can watch time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wedding Singer [DVD] [1998]
The Wedding Singer [DVD] [1998] by Frank Coraci (DVD - 1999)
£1.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews