Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in Blu-Ray
The Mask, for those of you who haven't seen it, is a hilarious film about a hapless young bank clerk (Jim Carrey) who secretly admires a beautiful singer (Cameron Diaz). He sees a "dead body" floating in the river and dives in to save it. It turn out to be simply a pile of junk and "The Mask". The mask itself contains a mischeivous character called Loki who's personality...
Published on 7 Aug 2009 by Chris Webb

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Jim Crazy
This is Jim Carrey on top form: restrained but manic as Stanley Ipkiss, and totally unstoppable as The Mask, without being as sickening as he was in the second Ace Ventura film. The plot is fairly simple, and all the better for it. The bad guys are disposable but their presence is felt nonetheless. And Cameron Diaz (of whom I've never been a fan) is undeniably smoldering...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by Paul McNamee


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The film's great, don't get me wrong. But this supplier isn't., 12 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Mask [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When you order a DVD that's been advertised in English. You expect to get it in English. Instead of "The mask" (as advertised) I get "Die Maske"

Strange that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stanley Ipkiss is not the man he used to be, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Mask [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Jim Carrey is - as always - excellent in this movie that features little else to commend itself to viewers. Carrey plays Stanley Ipkiss, a shy and awkward bank employee whose life is changed when he finds and dons a mysterious mask that brings out all of his innermost feelings and desires. In short, he becomes everything he wishes he was - and finds that he's better off as who he is. Perhaps a good lesson in life for all those who wish their lives were different. But this movie didn't go for any serious message. It went for laughs, and in doing so featured - at best - sophomoric humour (which is sometimes hilarious and sometimes painfully bad.) Combined with lacklustre performances from the rest of the cast, what emerged was a mediocre film which broadly resembles a big cartoon.

I watched this movie with my 11 year old son. He thought it was great. That should tell you something right there. This is definitely a movie for the younger set. If you don't have an 11 year old to watch it with, I frankly wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this film, 17 Nov 2010
By 
M. Graham (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mask [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
loved this film when i was a kid so bought it for my niece and nephew and they love it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Dale Stephenson "Bertandi" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mask [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This was a brilliant film and certainly am looking forward to watching it in the future, it turned up with no scratches, faults and it came efficiently. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wouldn't give this any stars but I have to so I can write a rewiew. It took weeks to get this then wen my daughter woke up on Easter morning to find it, she was very happy. She put it in the DVD player and " it doesn't work " it's a load if crap!!!! Will Neva Eva buy from YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Mrs. R. Wright "Mrs. R. Wright" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mask [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Happy!, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed with this DVD as it would not play on my built in DVD player, a normal DVD player, my laptop and only works on the newest TV in the hse which has a built in DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mask, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didnt state that it is american! Dosent play on uk players! Had to send it back! Funny movie if you order correct dvd for your player and like Jim Carrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the mask...., 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Mask [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This has the be the most terrible film i have ever watched! The humour is diar and storyline is just ridiculous ! i wouldn’t recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waist of time, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Complete rubbish could not get it to play on any of my DVD players I tried both normal and blue ray won't be using this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mask [DVD] [1994]
The Mask [DVD] [1994] by Chuck Russell (DVD - 2005)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews