Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential upgrade from the R2 DVD
This blu-ray release is better than the old R2 DVD in every way. The film is presented in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio rather than the cropped version, which was a travesty given that the film used its widescreen framing to the fullest extent. You get a pristine HD transfer and a bombastic Dolby TrueHD soundtrack - the music really kicks in, and the firecrackers in...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Anorakus

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic film but the DVD is terrible!
1 star DVD but a 4 star film. Just wanted to warn any prospective buyers. For a star £18.99 is quite a rip off. That aside though the dvd is really rushed and poorly put together. Extras are pointless and minimal. The interviews are so short and badly edited its a complete waste of time. I dont think there is directors commentary on there either. If you dont like extras...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by A. Jones


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 22 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Lot of care gone into this. Thee early parts of the film develop a vast array of great characters, every line of the script is loaded, and it's hilarious in parts. The latter, cocaine-addicted part of the film, while retaining the sharpness and wit, is much darker, but no less brilliant for it. All the performances are great.
Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this film, 2 Jun 2010
By 
HmS (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of nostalgic films. This was a brilliant film i sky+'d it one night and eventually watched it and as soon as it had finished i knew i had to buy it. it was just brilliant made me laugh, made me feel kinda sad and eventually made my jaw hit the floor, but i found out later that it was a prosthetic made from rubber. i loved this movie it was brilliant i was captivated. now after watching that film everytime i see heather graham in anything i just remember that scene on the sidewalk with her infamous rollerskates. she'll always be rollergirl to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting insight into the industry:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any film lover, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Laugh out loud, brilliant film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Magnolia, 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Paul Thomas Anderson's latest film 'Magnolia' is currently the subject of Oscar rumours - and so it should be, with awesome performances from Tom Cruise, Melora Walters and many of the other six billion cast members. 'Boogie Nights', on the other hand, attracted attention for its risque subject matter - but I feel it's a better film, with a tighter structure and a cast of characters you end up caring about. John C. Reilly, Burt Reynolds, William H. Macy and Mark Wahlberg are all excellent. The gorgeous Heather Graham doesn't get a chance to shine as Roller Girl, but she's better suited to this sort of picture than the sublime-but-ridiculous Austin Powers 2. And the use of music is just superb - the pumping 70s soundtrack will satisfy lovers of the Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction OSTs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing film with so many levels!, 4 Sep 2002
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This incredibly realistic and meaningful drama tells the story of a young man that takes fame to far. When nice guy (though destined to be a no hoper)Eddie finally leaves the home of his abusive mother and tired father, he finds refuge in the arms of critically acclaimed porographer Jack Cambell. All his life he dreampt of being a star, but when he finally gets his break he messes it up due to a big ego and an addiction to drugs he was introduced to by the business.
This film delves deep inside the minds of every character. Amongst them, Maggie (Julliane moor)who (because of her porn career) has to fight for custardy of her son. Scotty, who is secretly gay and follows Eddies every lead. Even when he is overcome with drugs and money problems. Rollergirl (whos real name is only uttered once in the film)(Heather Graham)who realises that she shouldnt waste her education by making films.
This fly on the wall style masterpeace shows you the disadvantages and drawbacks of fame and the sleaze and corruption that goes with it whilst still maintaining love and loyalty, much in the ways of mob familys in that all the characters have had rough lives but they continue to battle on and never question the industry but themselves instead.
The films meanings are quite clear and should be adored by fans of Tarantino (Reservoir dogs) and Sam Mendes (American beauty)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will continue to order from the supplier, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Just as advertised. Great quality. Great price. Just wish delivery could of been a little more prompt. Otherwise fantastic and great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great moments, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Neb (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Never taken seriously because of its rubbish title and tiresome subject matter, this riches-to-rags story has great performances from all involved, some highly intelligent sub-plots, and keeps you riveted despite its rambling structure and two hour running time. Extra points for having both the scariest drug dealer scene and funniest music recording scene in any film ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998]
Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] by Paul Thomas Anderson (DVD - 1999)
£3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews