Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So it's not Caddyshack. What's the problem?
Caddyshack 2 has a dreadful reputation, due only to the fact that it is a sequel to a highly-held classic. People have criticised the film on a lot of grounds, but they all ultimately hark back to the fact that this is not Caddyshack.

I would begin by saying that we should just take Caddyshack out of the equation and consider this film on its own merits, but I...
Published on 13 Dec 2007 by James the King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's nothing compared to the original, but still amusing in it's own right
Eight years after the classic original Warner decided to do a sequel to Harold Ramis' director debut. Only Ramis isn't in the chair this time (surrendering the honors to sitcom director Allan Arkush), but he did pen the script.

The only returning characters are Ty Webb and Mr. Gopher. There were supposed to be more but Bill Murray and Rodney Dangerfield hated...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by Inspector Gadget


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So it's not Caddyshack. What's the problem?, 13 Dec 2007
By 
James the King (...under the stairs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Caddyshack 2 has a dreadful reputation, due only to the fact that it is a sequel to a highly-held classic. People have criticised the film on a lot of grounds, but they all ultimately hark back to the fact that this is not Caddyshack.

I would begin by saying that we should just take Caddyshack out of the equation and consider this film on its own merits, but I think that would be unfair. The movie does have a lot in common with its predecessor. The class-related themes of 'snobs versus slobs' and the desire to fit in to a class above your own are as prevalent here as they were in the first movie. The two things that are truly lacking here are Bill Murray and Rodney Dangerfield, who are replaced with Dan Ackroyd and Jackie Mason respectively.

Now I am not about to try and argue that Ackroyd comes close to Murray in the movie, but Jackie Mason is an admirable successor to Dangerfield. He comes off as a cross between Dangerfield and Arnold Stang, but without biting too heavily on either. I wouldn't say that he is anywhere close to being as funny as Dangerfield is in Caddyshack, but there is a whole lot more point to his character and his dilemma in the film.

Chevy Chase only pops up and handful of times in the movie, which is another common complaint. Maybe these particular naysayers didn't notice that he only popped up a few times in the first movie. For my money, his scenes here are a lot funnier, if somewhat over-directed.

All things considered, this is a fun, goofy movie with something to say about class and identity that very few movies at the time were saying. Don't be put off by the appallingly low rating on IMDb, check it out for yourself.

As the only other review here points out, the DVD treatment is a bit poor, with the film being presented full screen. That aside, the quality is fine (though the sounds has been badly compressed in places). If you pick this up on the cheap, it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny movie, 31 July 2008
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
the first caddyshack is a legend, the second one is still very good and funny. A must see for chevy chase fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caddyshack2, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you want some good wholesome home laughter and are easily entertained then grab it. I like Jackie Mason and Dan Ackroyd so a needs must for my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful., 27 Aug 2011
By 
T (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Not a patch on the first movie. Who thought it would be a good idea to cast the unintelligible Jackie Mason in the lead? Perhaps if they'd thought of some decent gags and a plot then there'd be some mileage in watching this. Not even Randy Quaid's lunatic lawyer or Dan Aykroyd's bumbling ex-Special Forces PI can drag this away from being the complete train wreck that it is. Neither can Robert Stack, who completely buries all he gained from his excellent and comic portrayals of the go-to-guy aviation expert in Airplane and the general in 1941 - although he does his very best to try to rescue this rubbish from the deep pit it casts itself into.

Stick with the original Caddyshack and avoid this - if you watch this then you'll complete destroy anything you got from the first; the laughs, the feelgood sense of being thoroughly entertained, the lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's nothing compared to the original, but still amusing in it's own right, 31 Aug 2006
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Eight years after the classic original Warner decided to do a sequel to Harold Ramis' director debut. Only Ramis isn't in the chair this time (surrendering the honors to sitcom director Allan Arkush), but he did pen the script.

The only returning characters are Ty Webb and Mr. Gopher. There were supposed to be more but Bill Murray and Rodney Dangerfield hated the script and Ramis would not let them make their own changes, which I think was a huge mistake and quite arrogant and out of character for Ramis. Taking Murray's place is Dan Ackroyd as Captain Tom Everett, a mentally-scarred war vet turned mercenary, and Jackie Mason as Jack Hartounian, another boorish, blue-collar millionaire property developer. He's entertaining, but he's certainly no Al Czervik.

Ted Knight passed away in 1986, so Judge Smails couldn't return either. Instead we have Robert Stack playing the villainous Candler Young. Again, I like Stack, but he just can't live up to Ted Knight.

Hartounian agrees to join the prestigious Bushwood Country Club to please his teenage daughter who is desperate to fit in. The snobs don't take too kindly to his unsavory humor or his connections to the local working class. Together they conspire to shut him down, but Jack Hartounian doesn't give up easily.

Almost everything that made Caddyshack so good is dumbed down in this sequel. The R-rating, the raunchiness, the complex character interactions...all gone. Though they somehow still managed to squeeze in a single F-word (courtesy of Randy Quaid's obnoxious lawyer Peter Blunt) in a PG, which is very rare. Caddyshack also had dozens of speaking roles and didn't care if the audience couldn't keep up with it. Those kind of quirks make it endlessly watchable, while Caddyshack II is merely good for a laugh only once in a while.

The theme of the working class clashing with greedy snobs who have had everything handed to them might be a little more relevant today, I just wish that they hadn't comprised the film so much. Had there been more continuity with the original we could have had another classic.

Not as bad as its reputation suggests, and there are a decent amount of laughs. But just not enough.

I do appreciate the Mad Magazine and Root Beer references though.

This DVD from 2006 is in fullscreen. Avoid it. I rented the movie from the PlayStation Network in HD (and in widescreen for the first time). The picture was quite good and I suspect Warner might release it as a double-bill with the original soon, or it might even get it's own Blu Ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd funniest Golf comedy ever, only bettered by the prequel!, 14 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an absolutely amazing piece of film work. A seminal classic! This ranks alongside the likes of The Matrix for special effects, Monty Python for comic genius and American Beauty for touchingly harsh reality. A masterpiece. I love it! People should make more movies like this. Humour and Golf together-a magic mix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct 2014
By 
K. Boatman (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely film very funny, especially with Chevy Chase in it. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
So funny havent seen it in years, enjoyed it all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disgrace!, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caddyshack 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What a total waste of 90 mins (I counted every minute). Chevy chase must be ashamed of himself. It is possible to give no stars? Total garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caddyshack 2 [VHS]
Caddyshack 2 [VHS] by Chase Chevy (VHS Tape)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews