Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steam punk set in the Wild West?
This deserves a five, simply because it is both a new slant on a wide range of current topics, set in the fantastic vision of the Victorian "Deus ex Machina" ideal of being able to find a mechanical solution to every problem harnessing the power of steam. The acting is superb, Kenneth Brannagh as the mad 'half man' genius inventer is the perfect foil against which...
Published on 5 Dec. 2012 by Patrick G Cox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars you get what you see
I ordered this as i had never seen the film before, the DVD came quickly, worked fine, the film was what i expected, although i enjoyed it much more than i thought i would. It feels so 90's blockbuster!
Published on 3 May 2013 by Natalie Williams


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steam punk set in the Wild West?, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This deserves a five, simply because it is both a new slant on a wide range of current topics, set in the fantastic vision of the Victorian "Deus ex Machina" ideal of being able to find a mechanical solution to every problem harnessing the power of steam. The acting is superb, Kenneth Brannagh as the mad 'half man' genius inventer is the perfect foil against which to set Will Smith.

What more can one ask. Great film, amusing, innovative and with some pertinent provocative bits to challenge our own ideas and attitudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first 'steampunk' film?, 18 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Oh dear, oh dear - could it be that, yet again, the closeted community of film critics has missed the point entirely? Fulminous rumblings about historical innaccuracy are magnificently irrelevant when applied to this film, which seems not so much a Western or a straightforward action movie as an earnest attempt to create the first true 'steampunk' film. For those who don't know, or simply don't care, about science fiction (and shame upon you, you staid stay-at-homes), 'steampunk' is a label popularly applied to recent works of fiction that take the essence of 'cyberpunk' (outlandish hi-tech, meganational companies and conspiracies, and hard-as-nails streetwise lead characters) and transplant it into the latter half of the nineteenth century. It's often a joy to see how 'steampunk' writers rise to the challenge of rebuilding (or is that prebuilding?) technology that we take for granted today with the science and resources available a century ago. 'Wild Wild West' satisfies. The trick of using Leonardo daVinci's sketches is an old one, but a particular delight is the scene in which Artemus Gordon makes literal use of the old adage that a dead man's retinas will retain the last image he sees. And if you were expecting the plot to be given to you on a plate, why didn't you buy one of the swathes of dreary romantic comedies or monotonous 'hi-octane' thrillers that pollute the shelves of your local video store? 'Wild Wild West' is for thinkers, dreamers, and above all those who can appreciate a little imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite the bad reviews, it is excellent., 27 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
If you couldn't give a damn about accuracy and just want to watch a film for a good laugh, this is the one for you. Packed to the brim with wacky inventions and stupid ideas this film is one of the greatest i have seen in a good number of years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
this is a great film for a old film it has romance,comedy,action the lot in it and no matter what film will smith is in it is a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupidly Entertaining, 15 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is ridiculous. It is brilliantly strange and wonderfully unique to anything else out there.

The silly inventions and cliché quotes always lead you intrigued to find out what the next insane scene will be. The film has a bizarre charm to it and from the first 20 minutes of fantastic acting you are already emotionally attached to all of the main characters.

The storyline is as innocent as it is charming, chivalrous good guys and half-mad bad guys battling it out for the sake of power. The main plot hence is of course predictable but the ever changing, constantly mad dialogue and creations will keep you captivated throughout the film.

In short this film is brilliant, I can truly say that it is perhaps the most entertaining film I have ever watched. I would recommend it to all audiences and I envy those who can look forward to watching this brilliantly entertaining film for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend., 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I can not comment on the stroryline, although with Will Smith there are bound to be some comic 'takes' on the classic westerns. Perhaps I should limit my rating to the quality, packaging and speed of delivery which were excellent and typical of Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Science, 27 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The combining of Smith and Kline is inspired and Branagh is a memorably weird villain. Endlessly inventive and compulsively watchable. Pity there hasn't been a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A small, positive piece of information, 29 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
Wild Wild West despite being a highly slated film by critics it is an action - packed witty and charming movie. Kevin Kliine and Will Smith are hilarious. Kenneth Brangh co-stars as the baddie who has lost both of legs in a freak accident so he builds lots of things to do with legs for himself. I would buy this video, if only I diden't have it on DVD. It kind of is trying to spoof westerns in a way. The acting is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars you get what you see, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I ordered this as i had never seen the film before, the DVD came quickly, worked fine, the film was what i expected, although i enjoyed it much more than i thought i would. It feels so 90's blockbuster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wild West, 3 Feb. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Look, let's get one thing straight, this film was never meant to be a serious attempt at an accurate historical piece or even a believable, credible thriller. It's a pantomime on film with wonderful costumes, fantastic sets, a baddie you can hiss and boo and goodies you can cheer on to their final victory.
I was quite surprised to see the "12" rating of the film as I watched it with my children (11 and 9) and felt there was no excessive violence or extreme foul language. Indeed the fight scenes are so staged and comical the opposite is true.
OK, Will Smith is never going to be cast in Shakespeare, but he does pull of a mean cool hero, Kevin Klein is good but never reaches his true comic potential in his role, but stealing the show has to be a brilliant Kenneth Branagh hamming it up to the ultimate. The comedy isn't side splitting, but it is jolly and is never far away and there are some pretty snappy one-liners.
A mention has to be made about the sets and props also, futuristic yet antique they are incredibly fantastic and suit the mood of the film perfectly. It's like the industrial revolution gone mad and a wonderland for the lovers of gadgets.
As I say, even if you hated the film for its dubious storyline, it did feature a bevy of beautiful women in tight corsets, which can't be a bad thing can it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999]
Wild Wild West (widescreen version) [DVD] [1999] by Barry Sonnenfeld (DVD - 2000)
£6.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews