Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge and Romeo + Juliet Double Pack
Two fantastic films by director Baz Luhrmann that will each enchant the viewer.
Romeo and Juliet turned an old classic love story into a modern masterpiece which kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the film (even though I, as do many others already know the ending!) Set in Verona, it's use of antiquated Shakespearean language is given a modern twist in the...
Published on 18 Feb 2002

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emotionless but very original
Firstly, any fan of Shakespeare should see this interpretation of his greatest love story, as this hugely modernised version is one of the most original and different views of Shakespeare that has ever been produced.

The production and editing is phenomenal, that is without doubt, and the acting can hardly be criticised. However, like most Baz Luhrmann films,...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by Daniel Henshaw


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge and Romeo + Juliet Double Pack, 18 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Two fantastic films by director Baz Luhrmann that will each enchant the viewer.
Romeo and Juliet turned an old classic love story into a modern masterpiece which kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the film (even though I, as do many others already know the ending!) Set in Verona, it's use of antiquated Shakespearean language is given a modern twist in the context that the film is set in, with the use of modern props like cars. The two stars Leonardo DiCaprio (Romeo), and Claire Danes (Juliet)are very believable in their roles of the tragic star crossed lovers led by fate, each going against their families wishes to pursue their love for one another.
Moulin Rouge is a musical in which Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman deliver an outstanding performance in the roles of Christian and Satine. It will make you laugh, and guaranteed it will make you cry as the tragic love story is revealed. I didn't see one dry face as I walked out the cinema after the film had ended.
Try and see how many modern songs you recognise as they are joined together to make the story even more emotive, and look out for a cameo appearance by pop star Kylie Minogue.
Two tragic love stories that the director has successfully modernised to contrast with the old periods in time in which the films are set.
Don't forget your box of tissues for two emotional rollercoasters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For never was a story of more woe, than this of Juliet and her Romeo..., 25 July 2009
By 
S. Paterson "sarah_love" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romeo + Juliet [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Okay so when you first begin to watch this movie your so close to branding it over dramatic, Americanised drivel. I'll admit it I nearly turned it off...then when Leo Dicaprio smoldered onto the screen and began versing in the perfect words of old Shaky himself I sat up and listened. Never could I imagine a better choice of a young brooding Romeo than he. He plays the role with youthful innocnce, passion and is just utterly captivating. Clare Danes wouldnt have been my perfect Juliet..granted, but she is fresh looking and truly beautiful and by the end of the movie I had warmed to her and her infectious smile. The chemisrty between these two is almost tangible its so real. What convincing and memorable preformances!
You must see this movie...its like marmite. Some will feel the that this film isnt a true reflection of the oridginal works and dismiss it as another dull remake. But in relaity its so much more than that. Its a modern take done on a true classic that keeps the spirit of these charaters alive and the story as tragicly heartbreaking as ever.
On a side note the soundtrack is perfect. The setting sets the tone amazingly well and the direction although sometimes over the top and a little silly (opening gas station scene) is pretty dam good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accent on worldliness, 6 Feb 2008
By 
Old Wealden (Pinner, Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
The opening sequence of this film includes arial shots of an American city in which a church spire is dominated by two much taller skyscrapers belonging to the chief businesses there. Visually, this sums up one of the important themes of the play, how material values in Verona have become more important than spiritual ones. There are many more ways in which this film intelligently translates Shakespeare's words into pictures. Particularly enjoyable is the way in which, at the Capulet's party, all the major characters play a symbol of themselves: Tybalt is a devil, Lady Capulet is Cleopatra, Mercutio is a transvestite, Juliet is an angel, and though Romeo begins as an astronaut, he ends up looking far more like a knight in shinning armour. The text is very much shorter than we might expect and few of the actors speak the text with much lyricism but anyone who has to teach this play might do a lot worse than ask students to compare and contrast this with Zeffirelli's version, but beware, your discussion could go on for several sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!, 8 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Romeo + Juliet [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I hear so many people say that this film 'butchered' Shakespeare but I strongly think otherwise. Prepare yourself to see a modern twist of the classic tragedy, Romeo and Juliet. It is a feast for the senses with lavish sets, a hip soundtrack, colorful costumes, and cutting edge direction. Leonardo and Claire give heart-wrenching performances. I think that Shakespeare would be pleased because this film really captures the raw teen-angst that the star-crossed lovers experienced. So, expect to see something different, and you just might find yourself pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll drag thee to a hurdle thither, 2 May 2009
Forget the Shakespeare; this is a damn good film in its own right - if a record is going to be covered or a film of a classic drama made, then it ought to be done as differently as possible; there are plenty of faithful adaptations of The Bard's most famous play if that's what you want - hats off to Baz Luhrmann for being bold enough to reinvent the classic story of star-crossed lovers. Great performances (especially Harold Perrineau as the mercurial (geddit?) Mercutio, and Claire Danes as a stunning Juliet. Deserves five stars and gets 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Shakespeare, but not as we know it, 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Romeo And Juliet [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This isn't like any Shakespeare you'll have ever seen. This isn't like anything you'll have ever seen. Shot in a style which makes NYPD Blue look sedate, Baz Luhrman's version of Romeo and Juliet is one to take the breath away. The story is the same, the setting totally different. Placed in a world of pimps and drugs, crime and revenge Romeo and Juliet sizzles with the wit, energy and passion that the bard deserves. The acting throughout is superb with DiCaprio and Danes in especially good form. John Leguizamo's Tybalt also deserves a mention as a brilliant characterisation. This has to be the best version of Romeo and Juliet around. With a brilliant soundtrack, incredible camera work and of course the incomparable script this film is a work of art that deserves to be seen time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous transposition to modern youth, 2 Dec 2000
By 
Here the adaptation is a modernization in a mythical city of Verona Beach in Calidornia, a city that does not exist, even if we may think of Venice next to Los Angeles. It uses the editing technique and the shooting technique of modern cinema and video clips. The prologue for instance is given three times : on TV by an anchorwoman, over real life pictures by a male overvoice emphasized by headlines in papers, and finally in text injections on black screens at high speed. The situation is changed and the brawl is transformed into a gang war betwwen two rich boys' gangs, the Montagues being some kind of punks and the Capulets some kind of Latin America mafia, with a strong set of allusions to western films, and even to Clint Eastwood's « a Man named Nobody ». Tybalt is the direct impersonification of evil with his metal teeth printed with SIN, with his image of Christ on his waistcoat that he flashes at Benvolio as an image of the death that is awaiting Benvolio, as if this picture were a mirror image of Benvolio in the process of dying. The main change though is the transformation of the Prince into the head of the police that comes from the sky in a helicopter and that has full power to keep the peace in Verona's streets. It is a vision of a society where the police is omnipresent and where the youth can only organise their pleasures and entertainments in a rebelious search for street adventure. It is in a way marvelous. Di Caprio is admirable as a romantic, naive and completely lost young man or old teenager. Mercutio is a prodigy as a black man and a drag queen, even if only for fun. He is a pretty jolly good fellow even if a grave man in a many ways. One excellent adaptation. Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Paris Universities II and IX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old story, new interpretation, 21 April 2012
By 
Jackie Lennon (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pace of this production is FAST!! I feel you would have to be very familier with the intricities of the plot to follow it as the speech is like rappers on caffine. Having said that, the film is very entertaining and the characters believable. I really enjoyed it and have watched it 3 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic version of a classic, 5 Mar 2002
This review is from: Romeo + Juliet [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Baz creates a fantastic upbeat and modern version of this shakespeare classic whilst holding the traditional elements that make this film adored by all ages. With the combination of a modern twist a great soundtrack and the use of original language and characters this film entertains from start to finish for fans of r&j and those interested in Baz this won't disapoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did my heart love 'til now?, 26 May 2003
By A Customer
I have studied many of Shakespeare's plays and i am always keen to welcome new interpretations of the ancient texts. The playwright did after all write with the intention that his work should be acted out. This adaptation of Romeo and Juliet is both bold and moving, with strong performances from the two leads. I agree with Luhrmann's decision to maintain the traditional dialogue, which is even more powerful when juxtaposed with the raw, modern setting. However, for me the most original and breathtaking scene is the lovers' first meeting through the exotic fish tank to the sound of Des'ree's 'Kissing you'. Personally, I always think the Bard's dramas are best experienced live on stage but Luhrmann pulls out all the stops to ensure that all the magic of the play is captured as best as possible through the medium of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romeo And Juliet [DVD] [1997]
Romeo And Juliet [DVD] [1997] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2000)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews