Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This hilarious comedy shows Jim Carrey at his very best
I you feel like having a laugh-a-minute then I seriously suggest that you invest in this film so you can watch it over and over again and see the fabulous Jim Carrey at his very best with a superb storyline to accompany him. My Tip: Order it now!
Published on 17 April 2000

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liar Liar
Whether you love or hate this film will all depend on whether you love or hate Jim Carey. So obviously written as a vehicle for the rubber faced star this film gives Carey ample opportunity to show of his own particular brand of comic goofing around and take advantage of this he certainly does. Hardly a scene goes by without him playing up to his slapstick best and...
Published on 21 Jan 2005 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This hilarious comedy shows Jim Carrey at his very best, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I you feel like having a laugh-a-minute then I seriously suggest that you invest in this film so you can watch it over and over again and see the fabulous Jim Carrey at his very best with a superb storyline to accompany him. My Tip: Order it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liar Liar, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Whether you love or hate this film will all depend on whether you love or hate Jim Carey. So obviously written as a vehicle for the rubber faced star this film gives Carey ample opportunity to show of his own particular brand of comic goofing around and take advantage of this he certainly does. Hardly a scene goes by without him playing up to his slapstick best and pulling a multitude of awesome facial expressions.
Both the plot and the other cast members are simply scenery to the outrageous Carey and although you could analyse the plot's morality on the subject of how many lies the average adult tells, it is really nothing more than a backdrop to how many crazy situations the film makers can place Carey's character. The supporting cast are fine in the small roles they have, Justin Cooper as Carey's son puts on a great performance for one so young (nice haircut by the way!) and I though Cary Elwes as Carey's ex-wife's new boyfriend provided the one or two poignant moments very nicely.
But there is no doubt who the star is and Carey certainly is on top form in this film. I began the review by saying you would love it or hate depending on your feelings about Carey, but I would challenge even the most ardent critic of Jim Carey to get through this film without laughing. Good Fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Carrey, no I'm not lying, 21 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Fletcher (Carrey) is having difficulty seeing his son, putting his career first. On his birthday his son Max (Cooper) wishes that Fletcher can't tell a lie for a whole day.

Jim Carrey has always been a comic genius. From the wonderfully daft Ace Ventura to the insane Mask, the actor has been pleasing audiences for years. On seeing Yes Man in cinemas recently, I couldn't help but feel he has out grown that wonderful slapstick nature he produced so easily.

Many have critics have said that recent flick is this 1997 picture all over again, only with a bungee jump and a Terrance Stamp lecture thrown in, and in all honesty, that really is the case, though this is thankfully funnier.

With an inevitable ending and a central character who has to overcome a difficulty for everything to be alright again this is conventional cinema at its most obvious. But, and it's a big but, Carrey has taken his comic ability and thrust that into the central character which will please fans and his Fletcher feels like a somebody, more because he knows he is a bad father.

The issue of parenting is brought up frequently, though far from significant as it was in other comedies like Ferris Bueller's Day off. Thanks to the encoding of this important issue, the story itself feels important, but then it is still lost on cinematic stereotyping and conventional story. As good as the comedy is to; the shine falls on that instead of the important issue of parenthood.

Justin Cooper is really good as Max, a young lad who wants a strong role model. The supporting cast otherwise offers no surprises with everyone as predictable as next Easter.

The narrative with its predictable nature still surprises every so often. There are some sharp moments and Carrey's funny nature maintains likability. His humour is the only reason to carry on watching. The first ten minutes or so are incredibly unfunny by his standard so hang on in there for some great slapstick and insulting comedy.

To be fair the narrative offers up a twist towards the end, but this appears as an attempt to preach to an audience already lost in the comic nature of the film. Kudos of including it though as most comedies round off straight away.

Liar Liar, though consistently predictable, has a charm and a likability that can't be ignored and though the preaching of parenthood is obscured by the comedy, it still feels important.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrey's Best Performance, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I loved this movie and i find it is one of Carrey's funniest performances to date.
Carrey plays a lawyer who tells some outstanding lies that gives him a win every time and makes him one of the top lawyers, but he takes the lying out of work too and lies to everybody. His mother, his ex-wife, his co-workers and even his son Max. Eventually Max has had enough of his fathers lies and on his birthday when blowing out the candles on his cake he makes a wish that his father can't lie and it comes true with some incredbily funny outcomes.
Fletcher (Carrey) on his first day of no lies in the first few minutes of him being awake finds it hard to cope with. On his way to work he tells some horrible truths but at the same time they are incredibly funny.
Through the movie Fletcher comes to realize that although it is hard to cope with that the truth is always the best option but is it too late to win back his son?
A very emotional movie which is a very heartwarming family film that everybody will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, 23 Nov 2003
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Trust me - BUY THIS FILM - it is very very funny. Jim carrey is superb acting Fletcher, the lawer who can't lie. My baby cousins luaghed at this film, my dad laughed at this film, my gran laughed at this film.....
It is fantastic - i Highly recommned it to anyone who likes to laugh
Trust me !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 9 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Liar Liar [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
This is Jim Carey at his best - one of the funniest films I have ever seen. It is literally a laugh a minute. All the acting is excellent, screenplay brilliant well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably Carrey's most accesible comedy, 3 Nov 2002
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Jim Carrey has plenty of comedy opportunities to work with here in a role of a lawyer who cannot lie for 24 hours due to a wish his son made coming true. Fletcher Reede (Carrey) is a very good lawyer , simply because he is a great liar but even though he clearly cares for his son Max (Justin Cooper) he looks after number one more, and this infuriates his ex wife Audrey (Maura Tierney, who most people will recognize from E.R) and often leaves poor little Max feeling let down. When he fails to turn up for Max’ fifth birthday party, because he was getting his leg over on the boss instead (played by Amanda Donohoe) , Max makes a wish that his dad cannot lie for at least one day. Obviously with the fact that Fletcher is a serial liar, this leads to many farcical situations. A scene where he can’t lie about a blue pen being red is particularly inspired, as is a scene when he admits to a series of driving offences to a traffic cop after being pulled over. Add to this the infamous scene where he tells a woman in the lift, people are only nice to her because she has big breasts and a boardroom scene where he insults all his co-workers, and these are only a few select moments of a whole wealth of comedy gold .Unlike many Carrey projects though Liar, Liar does come with a conscience; with Audrey threatening to move to Boston with her new boyfriend Jerry (Cary Elwes) , this wakes Fletcher up to what is really important in his life, his own son and this point is further brought home in the current divorce/custody settlement he is involved in.
Carrey is once again, inspired as Fletcher Reede with the character giving him a large scope to show off his comedy talents, with his trademark physical stuff (a scene where he beats himself up in the courthouse bathroom, is the sort of ‘inspired’ scene only Carrey could pull off) accentuating the frustrations that this big shot lawyer cannot lie and cannot do his job. Another winning feature of the film is the chemistry with his screen son Justin Cooper, with Carrey something of a big kid himself this may not all be down to ‘acting’ but sometimes the best acting is the type that just comes naturally and the relationship here seems very natural. The film is obviously built for Carrey and the decision to surround him with a solid rather than a star-studded supporting cast is probably a wise move here, though the always a little eccentric Jennifer Tilly gets to chew some scenery as the cold hearted Samantha Cole, the woman Carrey is representing in his current case.
Liar, Liar has the odd light reference to more adult situations (namely of the beginning in S and ending in X variety) , but for the most part the film is very much more family orientated and with the gross out factor turned down, making it one of Jim Carrey’s more accessible comedies; but without really losing any of the trademark Carrey goofiness. The fact that Carrey realizes the errors of his ways by the end of the film is possibly a little cheesy but I never felt this film was over-moralizing. I just felt it was a good all round comedy, even the most ardent Carrey anti-fan should find something to laugh about this time. (8)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the two Jim Carrey films I can watch!, 21 Sep 2003
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Really funny and like I said in the title - only one of two of his films I can watch. This is Carrey at his best - not always rubber-faced and leaping around. There are some instances of fantastic farce and some of heart-rending poignancy. This film makes you realise just how much human beings rely on lies - from the little white variety to major untruths!

Simply brilliant. Buy it and have a really good "belly laugh!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a role that suits Carrey to the glove, 14 Dec 2007
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Liar Liar is a very good comedy about a lawyer who can't lie for an entire day because of a wish his son made when blowing out the candles on his birthday cake. He always promises the boy that he will pay him a visit, but when that moment has come he always has something better to do. Because the boy is so disappointed by his dad, he wishes that the man will be honest for an entire day and surprise, surprise: his wish comes true.

What you get is typical Jim Carrey, but it works perfectly if you ask me. It could have been a corny movie that you would love to hate (in other words a typical Disney movie), but he made something original out of it. In some movies he really exaggerates and then I'm not a fan of his work, but this time his style and overacting didn't bother me once. I had a great time watching this movie and was laughing all the time. I just loved the idea of the career driven lawyer who always lies but now has to be honest for an entire day and therefor almost loses his job and career that is so dear to him. I'm sure that many lawyers in real life would have a lot of difficulties as well if they had to be honest for one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If Carrey is your man? This is a laugh festival., 26 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Flethcher Reade {Jim Carrey} is a sharp tongued attorney for whom lying has become second nature. When his son Max finally gets fed up of Fletcher breaking his promises to him, he makes a birthday wish that his dad can't lie for 24 hours. This creates monumental problems for Fletcher at work, especially as he has a big case in court today.

A delightful premise is executed with boundless energy by Carrey, who clearly revels in the chance to show his flair for berserker visual comedy. Some may say over acting, others will say comic genius, either way there is no getting away from the fact that Carrey's brand of high energy, rubber faced comedy is marketable box office product. There has been an annoying trend in some of his movies where his antics have just engulfed the film, leaving no room for anything, or anyone else, to breathe. That's not the case here tho. The family arc is well treated, and well acted by Justin Cooper & Maura Tierney as Fletcher's son & ex-wife respectively. While the lawyer/court room based story provides plenty of scope that is utilised to get its messages over. It's all silly nonsense of course, but even as the film drifts into treacle pudding territory, the laughs continue to outweigh the moments of froth. Be sure to stay for the outtakes during the closing credits; joyous. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liar Liar [DVD] [1997]
Liar Liar [DVD] [1997] by Tom Shadyac (DVD - 2010)
£4.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews