Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
Of all of the films ever nominated for the best picture Oscar, this seems one of the most surprising choices. On paper, it is a fairytale that sees a pig triumphing over all adversity to become a shepherd. And yet the film is so much more ...
From the opening, accompanied by rousing and beautiful main theme, you know that you are in for a treat. The themes are so...
Published on 22 Sep 2003

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pig marooned trans-Atlantic
This is an adult view, so it shouldn't be taken to represent what children will think of this movie - clearly most will love it.

I got the movie because I was enchanted by King-Smith's original book. Actually King-Smith gets shamefully little credit for inspiring the movie, although the film sticks quite closely to the original story.

The trouble is...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by R. A. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 22 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Of all of the films ever nominated for the best picture Oscar, this seems one of the most surprising choices. On paper, it is a fairytale that sees a pig triumphing over all adversity to become a shepherd. And yet the film is so much more ...
From the opening, accompanied by rousing and beautiful main theme, you know that you are in for a treat. The themes are so simple, and yet so capably handled. Refreshingly dark and very funny, with a truly cinematic ending. A wonderful performance from James Cromwell binds together the whole film.
But it is the special effects that possibly polish the film off. They are dangerous to use, because special effects can ruin a film like this, and yet as soon as it begins you forget about them and watch the story unfold.
The characters are all so human, that the only one who ever wanders into the danger of being a stereotype is the farmer's wife, Mrs Hoggett. Sarcasm and wit are strewn across the film, with great personalities like Ferdinand the duck keeping the action tiding over.
But ultimately, it is a wonderfully moving film, about courage in the face of all adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain for a lovely film, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Had just read The Sheep Pig (on which film is based) with my 5 year old so was delighted to pick up a decent copy at a delightful price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Babe dvd, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I bought this for my 5 yr old and overall he loved this classic but was upset by the dog attack killing the sheep so possibly not totally suitable for very young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oink oink!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Love this film. It made me laugh and it made me cry. Love the story, which reminds me that I need to read the book too!
James Cromwell is brilliant and one of my favourite scenes is his dance. An uplifting, heartfelt and joyful experience. Great, however old you are! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely film, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
I bought this Blu-ray to replace my DVD copy, the change to Blu-ray makes it look like your watching a new film because you notice details that you hadn't seen before, so I can recommend this Blu-ray. Babe (and Babe in the city) are fantastic films for all the family, and appeal to young & old alike, before long you will forget that the animals are talking, as you get drawn into the plot. A lovely film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babe, the sheep pig, 18 Jun 2013
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It was in very good condition and arrived promptly. I ran it with friends for relaxation after a garden party and it was sad and funny in very surprising ways. I found the duck particularly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Good wholesome family entertainment fun for all the family. Would recommend this film time and time again as it is just magical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Curly Tail, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyable film. The flock thoroughly enjoyed it!!!
It is a charming and amusing piece of cinema. Would recommend it to brighten up any slow winter's evening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Movie with a Big Heart, 16 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Babe [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
For those of us who are fans of Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory, this is a must have. The touching story of a Pig which thinks its a sheep dog is magical. This is one of those movies which will bring you back to your childhood and away from the every day toils of life.
Babe is the little pig who ends up on Hoggett farm and from the moment of arrival we are entertained no end with Ferdinand the Duck, singing mice, Fly and Rex (sheepdogs) and a host of other farm animals. James Cromwell, who gives a wonderful performance, plays the role of Farmer Hoggett. This a man who follows up those niggling idea's which don't go away.
The storyline is simple but movin and combined with the visual effects, we have a movie which should appeal to both children and grown-ups. The storyline might be a little dark at times but this is counterbalanced with humour.
This movie should cause a few eyes to moisten and the ending is truly captivating. At the end of the day, this movie is spellbinding, will tug at the heartstrings and leave you with a feel good feeling, bring a smile to your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Warming, 30 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Babe [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I remember watching this film when i was growing up and decided to have a flashback so i went online to buy this little beutie of a film.

I forgot how much i loved the character of Farmer hogget, amazingly played and he makes me feel all warm inside, wish he was my grandad :P

and who could forget about those cheerful little mice as a nice little extra.

I persoanlly think this is an amazing film that even adults can enjoy. Truely one of the classic family films that makes you feel all happy :D

xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Babe [DVD] [1995]
Babe [DVD] [1995] by Chris Noonan (DVD - 2006)
3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews