Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey is again doing the best if you can follow him.
I think Jim Carrey is one of the most interesting guys out there. I think he did not play the role of Andy Kauffman for nothing in the "Man on the Moon", he is truly a talent not accounted for as much as he deserves in life. The movie seems off this world if you cant follow, but once you are ready to take it as it comes, it is a wonderul comedy and clearly a...
Published on 1 Nov 2000 by korayberk@superonline.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey,s breakout hit
Your enjoyment of Ace Ventura will depend on your feelings of the overtop gurning of it's lead Jim Carrey. The film is based entirely around his madcap antics the paperthin plot just an excuse for Carrey to give his all in attempt to get laughs and for the most part he succeeds, so many jokes are thrown out the few misses are soon covered by the hits.

Although...
Published 10 months ago by ACP


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey is again doing the best if you can follow him., 1 Nov 2000
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I think Jim Carrey is one of the most interesting guys out there. I think he did not play the role of Andy Kauffman for nothing in the "Man on the Moon", he is truly a talent not accounted for as much as he deserves in life. The movie seems off this world if you cant follow, but once you are ready to take it as it comes, it is a wonderul comedy and clearly a clever detective movie. I am serious... And so is this movie about being funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace Ventura - PET DETECTIVE! <3 xx, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm 13 years old and this is still my favourite ever film!!!! I regularly quote Jim Carrey at random times and my family are, well, let's just say, not always amused! My dad in particular is fed up of hearing 'Like a glove!' and 'Loo-hoo-ser-her!'

BEST FILM EVER! I can't believe it's from 1994 though - that's before I was even born! Even though it's old, Ace Ventura is hilarious and will be enjoyed widely! I loved it when I was only 7 years old and it's rated a 12!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the two - sheer entertainment, 20 Jan 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Another 90's classic, and probably the film that made Jim Carrey a star, Ace Ventura is an absolute classic, and seems to be a film many of us watched when we were teens. An ecentric Jim Carrey plays a private-hire 'Pet Detective', who's main concern is capturing a rare dove that, once he has recieved the reward, can pay his landlord! However, he is called up to action when the local football teams mascott - a dolphin, is kidnapped.

Admittedly, Jim Carrey has always recieved mixed reviews based on his style of humour, but that is no reason mark down a film because of the style of an actor. His immature, yet powerful humour is still laugh out loud at times, and people forget just how much of a good serious actor he is too, as displayed in other films.

But, if your looking for a fun and still clever 'pet' detective film (of which you'll find very few!) then this is the DVD you want to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great film, 5 Dec 2013
By 
rich20 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen Ace Ventura when nature calls many times and watched the entire cartoon series as a kid, but I don't recall in having seen this film so I went ahead and bought it.

This is a great film, and I think is a typical Jim Carrey character in the way he acts, his manerisms etc. and that's what I love about his movies.

There is a genuine story line in this and I think the film and Jim Carrey to a good job at sticking to it and making it obvious with what's going on. There's also many funny moments which don't feel like they've aged too badly.

Definitely worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beleive me, you won't stop laughing, 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
You gotta see this...not only is Jim Carrey, hillarious, but the plot and comdedy aspects are well linked. When you have both of those, working well together, you have youself a great movie and Pet dective is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant opening, with the laughs maintained thereafter., 5 Feb 2003
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Jim Carrey is an actor that people either love or hate. While there's undoubtedly been films that have relied on his slapstick style and failed, this is one of the films that shows him in a much better light, mainly because it's genuinely funny throughout.
Whilst relying on Carreys flexible features and physical abilities rather than the acting ability demonstrated in some of his later films (such as the Truman Show), this film has a coherent plot that would be entertaining enough with or without Carrey (the opening is a perfect, hilarious example of this). However, the eccentricity of the lead character is perfect for Carrey to showcase his physical humour.
Unlike some of his poorer films that used ad-hoc excuses to show Carreys slapstick style, here his humour is cleverly deployed to enhance scenes within the storyline. His demonstration with the double glazed patio doors, his slow-play interpretation of a superbowl move, these are things that very few people can do, and even fewer can do as amusingly.
Admittedly, there are a couple of scenes people could point to as being overly-crass toilet-humour, but most comedies have these. What most comedies can't offer though is the inventiveness, the variety, or the outright funniness of the humour that is not only offered in this film, but maintained throughout. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great: ), 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Quick dispatch, great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the film you'll love the book!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gave to my son for his birthday as he absolutely loves Jim Carey films and Ace Ventura is his favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
It's ace, really good, on time, and it's funny and you can watch it over and over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey,s breakout hit, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Your enjoyment of Ace Ventura will depend on your feelings of the overtop gurning of it's lead Jim Carrey. The film is based entirely around his madcap antics the paperthin plot just an excuse for Carrey to give his all in attempt to get laughs and for the most part he succeeds, so many jokes are thrown out the few misses are soon covered by the hits.

Although it can be crude and immature the film moves along at a lightning pace and entertains throughout providing plenty of laughs and memorable dialogue. Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD]
Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] by Tom Shadyac (DVD - 2000)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews