Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey is again doing the best if you can follow him.
I think Jim Carrey is one of the most interesting guys out there. I think he did not play the role of Andy Kauffman for nothing in the "Man on the Moon", he is truly a talent not accounted for as much as he deserves in life. The movie seems off this world if you cant follow, but once you are ready to take it as it comes, it is a wonderul comedy and clearly a...
Published on 1 Nov. 2000 by korayberk@superonline.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Funny but Bordering on Annoying
I personally love The Mask, we all do.
My daughter loves Carey in The Mask so I got this for her.
Carey is too silly for words in Pet Detective for me but my 10 year old daughter really enjoyed it. I found him bordering on annoying in this, but my daughter really chuckled at it.
There is a scene that simulates sex, comedy sex, which thankfully my daughter...
Published 9 months ago by Jo


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey is again doing the best if you can follow him., 1 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I think Jim Carrey is one of the most interesting guys out there. I think he did not play the role of Andy Kauffman for nothing in the "Man on the Moon", he is truly a talent not accounted for as much as he deserves in life. The movie seems off this world if you cant follow, but once you are ready to take it as it comes, it is a wonderul comedy and clearly a clever detective movie. I am serious... And so is this movie about being funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the two - sheer entertainment, 20 Jan. 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Another 90's classic, and probably the film that made Jim Carrey a star, Ace Ventura is an absolute classic, and seems to be a film many of us watched when we were teens. An ecentric Jim Carrey plays a private-hire 'Pet Detective', who's main concern is capturing a rare dove that, once he has recieved the reward, can pay his landlord! However, he is called up to action when the local football teams mascott - a dolphin, is kidnapped.

Admittedly, Jim Carrey has always recieved mixed reviews based on his style of humour, but that is no reason mark down a film because of the style of an actor. His immature, yet powerful humour is still laugh out loud at times, and people forget just how much of a good serious actor he is too, as displayed in other films.

But, if your looking for a fun and still clever 'pet' detective film (of which you'll find very few!) then this is the DVD you want to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace Ventura - PET DETECTIVE! <3 xx, 3 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm 13 years old and this is still my favourite ever film!!!! I regularly quote Jim Carrey at random times and my family are, well, let's just say, not always amused! My dad in particular is fed up of hearing 'Like a glove!' and 'Loo-hoo-ser-her!'

BEST FILM EVER! I can't believe it's from 1994 though - that's before I was even born! Even though it's old, Ace Ventura is hilarious and will be enjoyed widely! I loved it when I was only 7 years old and it's rated a 12!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great film, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
rich20 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen Ace Ventura when nature calls many times and watched the entire cartoon series as a kid, but I don't recall in having seen this film so I went ahead and bought it.

This is a great film, and I think is a typical Jim Carrey character in the way he acts, his manerisms etc. and that's what I love about his movies.

There is a genuine story line in this and I think the film and Jim Carrey to a good job at sticking to it and making it obvious with what's going on. There's also many funny moments which don't feel like they've aged too badly.

Definitely worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a comedy should be, 14 Jan. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Pet detective Ace Ventura (Carrey) is assigned to track down Snowflake,
the mascot of football team The Dolphins before the Superbowl.

Jim Carrey, the man. Whether you love him or hate him you cannot deny
his comic talent. In this 1994 crime comedy he plays a smart crazy pet
detective who has the best catchphrases of any character, of any
comedy, of any film, of anyone, ever.

Opening with a delivery man kicking a package and destroying it with
every step he takes and you feel as if you know this person and you
simply have to love him for it. His character never slackens, always
entertains and gets funnier with every scene. He is a comic master and
he is this film.

Carrey's performance does take the shine off a well written plot. The
script is a great incentive for Ventura to be wacky and spontaneous.

The pursuit of a missing dolphin is interesting, if not quite as
intense as it should be. We see Ventura using his 'skill' and his
'charm' to give the older viewers plenty of laughs where the slapstick
moments are undoubtedly aimed towards younger generations, however
years on it is still as funny as when I was young. The sarcastic yet
sophisticated undertones still remain classic.

Flowing all the way through, this nineties comedy follows the mad
detective in an intriguing investigation. There are lapses in the
majority of modern comedies where the stereotypical hero has to redeem
himself to find the answer and everything is super come the final piece
but there are many twists and turns and a difference in the comic
formulaic style here which gives the film a uniqueness that required
Carrey's special touch. No clichés, stereotypes or cringing romance
sequences that don't shine off the plot, unless you count the atrocious
made for money sequel.

The supporting cast are good enough to add some extra laughs but they
are always standing in Carrey's superior shadow.

Sharp, witty and exceptionally funny, Ace Ventura: Pet Detective
justifies the genre and is worth watching whatever age you may be.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of a trio of films that led to a phenomenal year for Jim Carrey., 16 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first film i seen with Jim Carrey in it and it was the first of a trio of classic comedy films he made in 1994 along with The Mask and Dumb And Dumber.
I personally like The Mask the best but this is still superb comedy at its best with so many funny lines to make you laugh over and over again and have seen it dozens of times down the years.
Carrey is a genius in the same mould of Bill Murray,Eddie Murphy and the late great Robin Williams and excels in his finest creation and one of only two characters he has played twice(Lloyd from Dumb And Dumber being the other).
Its not just the lines that makes you laugh but its Jim's mannerisms that make you roar and his near perfect accents he puts on and of course his all righty then catchphrase.
The plot is a cracking one involving him tracking down a kidnapped dolphin and has great chemistry with Courtney Cox and a great couple of scenes with beautiful Sean Young(until he learns her secret)which makes up a brilliant last half an hour and some of the funniest moments happen in the finale.
Watch out for former pro American Football player Dan Marino playing himself.
A masterpiece comedy film and the start of a Hollywood genius's career.
Oh and favorite line 'Do not go in there woah'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious classic!, 15 Oct. 2007
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
If you ever want to watch a really insane film which will make you laugh, then this is it. I enjoy most Jim Carrey films and although this one is some years old, it never fails to make me chuckle. It has quite a clever plot, i.e. Carrey plays a pet detective, whereby people hire him to find their pets or animals. They may have been stolen, kidnapped or otherwise, but by hook or by crook, Ace Ventura will find and return the creature to its rightful owner.

The film's charm is mainly in Carrey's idiocy. His talent for pulling stupid faces and generally being a moron is amazing. I'm guessing being on a film set with him would have you holding your sides most of the time. But it makes the film, because the character of Ace Ventura is a lovable idiot, and in Ace Ventura: Pet Detective he certainly saves the day by returning the missing mascot of a football team just in time for their Superbowl game.

If you hate Carrey (as many do) then don't watch this film. But if you like him, or you're indifferent, it's a laugh a minute and you have to admire the guy for happily making an idiot of himself on camera for the public's enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beleive me, you won't stop laughing, 24 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
You gotta see this...not only is Jim Carrey, hillarious, but the plot and comdedy aspects are well linked. When you have both of those, working well together, you have youself a great movie and Pet dective is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Funny but Bordering on Annoying, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I personally love The Mask, we all do.
My daughter loves Carey in The Mask so I got this for her.
Carey is too silly for words in Pet Detective for me but my 10 year old daughter really enjoyed it. I found him bordering on annoying in this, but my daughter really chuckled at it.
There is a scene that simulates sex, comedy sex, which thankfully my daughter didn't question, but she did notice the swearing & now knows what giving someone the middle finger means, kind of!!!
Suppose it depends how broad minded a parent you are & what you're happy to let your children watch. If unsure, watch it first then decide. However, you may wish you'd watched a meatier film instead if your time is precious!!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant opening, with the laughs maintained thereafter., 5 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Jim Carrey is an actor that people either love or hate. While there's undoubtedly been films that have relied on his slapstick style and failed, this is one of the films that shows him in a much better light, mainly because it's genuinely funny throughout.
Whilst relying on Carreys flexible features and physical abilities rather than the acting ability demonstrated in some of his later films (such as the Truman Show), this film has a coherent plot that would be entertaining enough with or without Carrey (the opening is a perfect, hilarious example of this). However, the eccentricity of the lead character is perfect for Carrey to showcase his physical humour.
Unlike some of his poorer films that used ad-hoc excuses to show Carreys slapstick style, here his humour is cleverly deployed to enhance scenes within the storyline. His demonstration with the double glazed patio doors, his slow-play interpretation of a superbowl move, these are things that very few people can do, and even fewer can do as amusingly.
Admittedly, there are a couple of scenes people could point to as being overly-crass toilet-humour, but most comedies have these. What most comedies can't offer though is the inventiveness, the variety, or the outright funniness of the humour that is not only offered in this film, but maintained throughout. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD]
Ace Ventura - Pet Detective (1994) [DVD] by Tom Shadyac (DVD - 2000)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews