Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genuine entertainment
"Ed Eood" is the true story of Hollywoods worst director, Edward D. Wood Jr. The plot centres around Ed's struggle to make succesful films, films which tell a story. Ed also likes to dress up in women's clothing. As funny as this may sound, Ed's cross dressing is strangely meloncholy. One feels genuinly sorrow for him because no one will accept him for who he is, not even...
Published on 5 July 2004

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cut! That was PERFECT!
'Ed Wood' was everything I wasn't expecting.I was intrigued by the idea of a biopic about a bad filmmaker and having seen a few of Burton's films I thought I knew what I was buying, yet the picture succeeds in being both true-to-life and surreal at the same time.

The surreality stems partly from the black and white filming and partly from the witty, self-aware...
Published on 31 Aug 2009 by S. Marsden


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, What a great movie., 16 Sep 2008
By 
P. M. Dome "Moogsterman" (sheffield uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Marvelous. Take a transvestite writer producer, A, hasbeen Movie star, a bald headed wrestler, Wobbly sets, Paper plates on strings suspended from a, fishing rod,and a Rubber octopus. Throw in, a man who sleeps in a coffin and a few naff actors, and there could be only one man responsible, the late great," Ed wood Jnr". The eccentric movie maker, who earned the title of, "Worst movie maker ever". His movies are so bad, There brilliant, and, classic.

This film, tells the story of megalomaniac, Ed Wood. A, transvestite movie writer, trying to find, backers for the movies he writes, where, anyone with a bit of money, has a part in the film, whether they can act or not.and,Bringing back a faded Movie star.

This movie, is fantastic, and, deserves an oscar.. Absolutely stunning performances from, The very versatile Jonny Depp as Ed Wood, and Martin Landau, as, Bella Lugosi's, incredible, The movie also stars, Sarah jessica Parker, Bill Murry, and Patricia arquette.Simply brilliant. shot in black and white, Was directed by, " Tim Burton", (planet of the apes, Batman ect, and is very atmospheric, and has the feel, of a great 1950s movie. Apparantley, Martin Landau got an oscar for, his brilliant potrayal as, screen horror legend, "Bella lugosi". The star of Dracula movies in the 1930s.An oscar well deserved. What a treasure Johnny Depp is, his acting is flawless and, phenomenal.

Add, some weird esry music from the theramin, ( the eary oo, oo, sound on the Beach boys, good vibrations) And youth got, a, clasic.

I love this film so much, great story, stunning acting,great director. the film has warmth, humour, and, I couldn't help feeling sorry for Bella Lugosi. Such a big star in the, 1930s, but, then rejected by the movie industry. And of course for the great man himself, "ED Wood". His greatest movie, being, "Plan 9 from outer space".

They don't make good movies like this any more, and this one is true classic. My thanks to other reviewers for influencing my purchase, I didn't expect, it to be this good. It's one of my old time favourites now. A film you'll want to watch again and again.

So, dim the lights, get some pop corn, and be transported back, to the 1950s, and languish in pure, movie magic. Buy it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, 31 May 2003
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Today I saw it, and I must say it is a beautifull movie. Shot in a great black & white (Tim Burton is our guy) this movie portrays several aspects of that misunderstood genius that was Ed Wood, as well as the sensitive man we was also... his friendship with the "monster" Bela Lugosi gives us, troughout the movie, several "tear in the eye" moments.
Johnny Depp, as always when directed by Tim Burton, gives an exceeding performance to this movie that is, definetely, a must for all Ed Wood, Tim Burton and Johnny Depp fans.
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. Johnny Depp at his best - both ..., 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Loved it. Johnny Depp at his best - both in choice of film and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 5 Aug 2010
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I've been fascinated by the story of Ed Wood for many years now and this Tim Burton movie is as accurate a reflection of his life as you're likely to get. The characters are exceptional and Martin Landau is a deserved winner of the supporting actor Oscar for his portrayal of Bela Lugosi. I love the atmosphere of the film and Depp hits the spot in a sympathetic performance which could easily have been OTT and gross. Bill Murray, Mike Starr, Sarah Jessica Parker, Jeffrey Jones and Lisa Marie all play their parts brilliantly. Buy this DVD now if you are a movie buff, it's great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Very interesting film. The disk worked fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
LOW PRICE THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 29 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Johnny Depps acting in this movie is superb , never mind accurate and hilarious. Also Martin Landau as Bella Lagosi was marvellous. If you are a fan of Ed Woods movies and are looking for a good time then i reccomend this DVD to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 8 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I bought this film after reading the other customer reviews which descibed it as exciting, hilarious and classic, and although I didn't dislike it I've gotta say it was none of those things.
I really like Tim Burton and Johnny Depp but i found this film a bit weak, mainly becuase of my high expectations.
Depp is great in it, his acting was the only thing which made me hold on. There are a few laughs but nothing to get excited about, and i found myself hoping it would end soon.
Unless you are realy into old cinema "classics" then you may find this film a bit slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking performances all round, 31 Oct 2002
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This film is so wonderful.
It tells the tale of "the Worst Director Ever" Ed Wood (Jonny Depp)and all the trials and tribulations he suffered to become a famous director. This was also distrupted by the very fact that he was a transvestite!!!
This story is fancinating and funny! Jonny Depp is fantastic as Ed!
I think Tim Burton should do more films like this as it is sheer class all the way! (It is shot in black and white to mirror what Ed Wood would've done - but at a much higher quality!)
This is a modern masterpiece based on historic trash!
Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 13 Jun 2010
By 
V. Zvyagintsev "Ziggy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ed Wood [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Love this movie. Nomatter what mood I'm in, it always makes me laugh. Great peformances from Johnny Depp, SJP and especially Martin Landau in his oscar winning performance (deservedly so) as Bela Lugosi. Smart, short and very very funny. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ed Wood [VHS]
Ed Wood [VHS] by Tim Burton (VHS Tape - 1999)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews