Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dish for everyones palate
A tale of two friendships, one which existed several decades ago and another in the present day. Evelyn Couch (Kathy Bates) is a middle aged woman who has seen a son off to college and now finds herself trying to get her husbands attention again. One day while visiting a relative in a home she meets Mrs Threadgoode (Jessica Tandy) who begins to tell her the story of two...
Published on 8 Sept. 2006 by RD

versus
76 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing recut of original version
I saw the film soon after it first came out some ten years ago and have been looking forward to acquire it on DVD. My disappointment was therefore rather big when I discovered that some scenes have been cut out of the original version on this DVD edition. The fact that the love making between the main characters (Ruth and Idgie) in this edition is not present stinks of...
Published on 13 Dec. 2002 by Robert D. Oeffner


‹ Previous | 112 13 1419 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars green tomatoes, 31 Mar. 2006
By 
This film takes a while to get going but it is worthwhile waiting. It takes as its story a remininsce of the past history of the cafe as retold to a lady visiting at the nursing home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changed to DVD, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to have this film on video and now have replaced it with the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why did they cut some scenes?, 19 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe [VHS] (VHS Tape)
There was something seriously wrong with this film when i first watched it. Don't get me wrong, it what really good. It's just that i felt it was lacking in something. While watching the film, i realise how in love the main charaters were, then i began to wonder why that's not portayed within the film, whether that be a love scene or a kiss, it just left me wondering all night. Thats why i checked of the net to see if any parts had been cut of the film edition that i watched on tv. Obviously as you probably already know, i found out that the love scenes had been cut out. Why i ask, did they do that?
Anyway, without complaining to much, my final comment is that i recommend this film for anyone to watch its very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film., 23 Aug. 2014
Brilliant film. All the actors are excellent. Not much else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another lovely film, another one of my all time favorites, Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was a Christmas present and was enjoyed by all, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time. was a Christmas present and was enjoyed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic film love it love it watched it many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my favourite alltime film, quite girly and leaves you guessing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film to add to your collection - keep the tissues handy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect!, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched with friends on a cold, Sunday afternoon, perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1419 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe [VHS]
£3.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews