Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Kill them all and let God sort out the innocents"
Eddie Kasalivich (Keanu Reeves) is first among his colleagues searching for free clean energy to better the world. On the eve of what looks like success a horrible accident (yeah right) dispatches Dr. Alistair Barkley (Nicholas Rudall.)

Eddie complains that it was not an accident so of course everyone knows that Eddie is the culprit assisted by colleagues Dr...
Published on 8 Jan. 2007 by bernie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm in the middle of a Chain Reaction...
So, having not seen this since around 2007, I decided to dust off a copy of it in a second hand store and give it a second chance.

I vaguely remembered the start and end from the time before;
----> Innocent man wrongly accused of murder (very much from the director of The Fugitive, then).
<---- Law enforcement consistently pursue, believing them...
Published on 15 Mar. 2012 by DocReview


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm in the middle of a Chain Reaction..., 15 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
So, having not seen this since around 2007, I decided to dust off a copy of it in a second hand store and give it a second chance.

I vaguely remembered the start and end from the time before;
----> Innocent man wrongly accused of murder (very much from the director of The Fugitive, then).
<---- Law enforcement consistently pursue, believing them guilty, until eventually being the best of friends with each other at the end.

The film has its moments, right from the kind of cool hydrogen explosion at the near beginning to the bit in the middle where the bad guys get into the house they're hiding in. It wasn't, and probably wasn't meant to be, a top notch thriller; it doesn't even come close. But it does provide a film that you don't feel too bad having watched.

MORAL; A film worth watching only once every five years. Or if its a Sunday and ITV are showing it at 11pm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A middle of the road chase thriller, 6 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Andrew Davis tries to recapture the same feeling of thrills here as he did in The Fugitive, and in some chunks it works, but the script isn't exciting enough to reach that film's heights. Keanu is good as the only survivor of a truly breathtaking explosion at a hydrogen energy research lab which kills his professor, and soon he finds himself on the run, accused of sabotaging the place. Rachel Weisz is feisty fun support as his companion on-the-lam, and there are some impressive stunts. The atmosphere is also very similar to The Fugitive. But where that film felt like a crossbow bolt - always relentlessly heading towards a target - this feels like a lobbed snowball. It's fun and it's heading the right way, it's just not sure where it wants to land. This reduces the tension, and the fact that the third act of the film feels a little down-beat doesn't help it rev back up. There's also some truly poor dialogue, with Keanu improbably stating that he's 'making it up as I go' while trying to steer an extremely complicated getaway vehicle.
It's got moments of thrills and it is good enough to be worth you attention, just don't expect it to be particularly memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Kill them all and let God sort out the innocents", 8 Jan. 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Eddie Kasalivich (Keanu Reeves) is first among his colleagues searching for free clean energy to better the world. On the eve of what looks like success a horrible accident (yeah right) dispatches Dr. Alistair Barkley (Nicholas Rudall.)

Eddie complains that it was not an accident so of course everyone knows that Eddie is the culprit assisted by colleagues Dr. Lily Sinclair (Rachel Weisz), and Lu Chen (Tzi Ma). While his employer Paul Shannon (Morgan Freeman) is unshakably not sure (why?).

As with most mysteries the only way to prove his innocence is to find the guilty.

All the parts are well played and the story is just in plausibility. The twists and turns will keep you intrigued until the last. Not too long of a chase scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good little film with exciting sequences, 15 Dec. 2003
By 
D. J. Parsons (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Ah yes; yet another underrated Keanu Reeves film. This one comes from the director of "The Fugitive", and co-stars Morgan Freeman, and so has good credentials. Keanu acquits himself well and is both likeable and believable as a student machinist. His chemistry with Rachel Weisz (they're teaming up again for the forthcoming "Constantine") is also sweet and unforced.
But lets face it, this is the kind of movie in which you expect high-octane thrills, and in this the movie does not disappoint. There are stunning opening and closing sequences, and a superb chase sequence involving a bridge.
The DVD comes with one of those promotional 'featurettes' that aren't really worth bothering. On the plus side, the picture quality and soundtrack are both very decent. If you didn't catch this at the flicks or on TV, it's well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Chain Reaction" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc - Buy The UK Version..., 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This 1996 fusion device thriller has some showstopper scenes in it - and has become a firm fan favourite on the new fangled format.

But British fans and newcomers alike should note that the ‘US’ edition of the BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which most aren't).

Buy the UK version instead - it's dirt-cheap now - a looker on the Format - and a good night in with Morgan and Keanu...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHAIN REACTION, 2 May 2004
By 
julia (lymm, cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is actually a very good film though people did put me off it before i saw it.
The story follows two young scientists; Eddie Kasalivich (Reeves) and Lily Sinclair (Weisz) who are wrongly accused of a murder of a fellow scientist,just as Eddie makes an amazing break through.On the run from the police, Eddie and Lily confide in their 'friend' (Freeman) who is a powerful bureaucrat, but is he on their side?...
A twisted plot; how will it end? Will the police realise the truth...before it is too late?
Chain Reaction stars Keanu Reeves (Matrix trilogy,The Watcher), Rachel Weisz (The Mummy,The Mummy Returns) and co-stars Morgan Freeman. A film deffinately worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good but dated, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
was disappointed with this dvd as it seemed fine but three quarters of the way through it stopped working and was unwatchable which was very frustrating. As for the film itself what we were able to watch was okay but showed its age, i like keanu reeves as an actor but i dont think this is his best film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great acting and story, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
Emma (Sunderland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film one of Keanu's best performance as a sciencest trying to prove his innocence. Great acting from the 3 main stars in Reeves, Freeman and Weisz, the story is believable and had me on the edge of my seat as it reached the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a huge Keanu Reeve's fan..., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Not one of Keanu's most popular films but I think it's a brilliant film with a clever plot and it has Morgan Freeman in it, so its got to be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller., 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Of course I've seen this before (sure you must have too?). It hasn't been on TV lately, so bought it for a few quid.
Good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD]
Chain Reaction [1996] [DVD] by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2003)
£4.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews