Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A live action Flintstones film!
Bedrock came to life in 1994 with the first live action Flintstones movie. Remaining faithful to the classic cartoon, the film manages to capture most of it's humour. Amusingly, animals are often used to help the cave people throughout in clever ways, just like in the animated series.

The storyline tests the loyal friendship between Barney Rubble and Fred...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Have a Yabba Dabba Doo Doo time....
Fred and Barney work at Slate and Company, mining rock. Fred gives Barney some money so he and Betty can adopt a baby.

When Fred and Barney take a test to determine who should become the new associate vice president, Barney returns the favour by switching his test answers for Fred's, whose answers aren't very good.

Fred gets the executive position,...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A live action Flintstones film!, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Bedrock came to life in 1994 with the first live action Flintstones movie. Remaining faithful to the classic cartoon, the film manages to capture most of it's humour. Amusingly, animals are often used to help the cave people throughout in clever ways, just like in the animated series.

The storyline tests the loyal friendship between Barney Rubble and Fred Flintstone, who receives a high promotion at work, but unfortunately is to dim to realise that he is being used by manipulators trying to loot his employer. Whilst I'd say that there is a lot for the adult audiences to enjoy, the movie is clearly aimed primarily at kids.

Household name John Goodman excels as Fred and Elizabeth Perkins was also well cast as his wife Wilma, but American comedienne and talk show host Rosie O'Donnell is miscast I feel. She's still plays the part well, but I felt that she was a bit to brash and loud to play the meek and mild Betty Rubble. Personally, I imagine that she would have made a better Pearl (Wilma's mother), although Dame Elizabeth Taylor is more than competent in her role as the old battleaxe. Barney Rubble is played by Rick Moranis, who carries off the role brilliantly, and in fact, like Liz Taylor, steals a lot of the scenes.

In short, a thoroughly enjoyable enough film, which will sure enough appeal to the kids, but probably also the whole family.

I've recently upgraded to the DVD format, and the bonus documentary about how the film came together is both revealing and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The film is really great. My kids love it too and the quality of the DVD was brilliant. Delivered speedily too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching this film,and i think the actors and actresses really got into character as the best fammily in the universe!the only character i was slightly disapointed with was Barney rubble.i think the film is good for familys to watch,and kids,but i dont think adults wouldnt find this film as their no.1 favourite film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
very funny film i liked it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ya ba daba do, 19 April 2014
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I enjoyed this as a child and still like it as an adult. For a movie that is 20 years old it hasn't aged much. Picture was very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Have a Yabba Dabba Doo Doo time...., 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Fred and Barney work at Slate and Company, mining rock. Fred gives Barney some money so he and Betty can adopt a baby.

When Fred and Barney take a test to determine who should become the new associate vice president, Barney returns the favour by switching his test answers for Fred's, whose answers aren't very good.

Fred gets the executive position, but little realises that he's being manipulated by Cliff Vandercave to be the fall guy for an embezzlement scheme.....

As soon as the credits roll, you know that the makers are really trying too much to entertain the adults as much as the kids, and when Berry introduced herself as Sharon Stone, I gave up.

It is faithful to the cartoon, and to be fair, the effects and the references to the cartoon are wondrous, and Bedrock really does come alive on the screen.

Goodmaen is way over the top, but I don't believe there is any other way. The rest of the cast are just there, but Moranis is great and really shines in this.

The plot is simple and straight forward, and it's as predictable as alway, friends fall out, argue for a while, hero gets the blame, every one hates him for a while, come the end, everyone is happy.

It's not good, and it's not clever, just a tirade of product placement and silly references to adults.

That made me grimace rather than smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flintstones, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Received in excellent order and an excellent film to brighten up the day, so thank you very much for the good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
My 5 year old daughter loves this film and after deleting it off the sky box I had to buy it, great quality DVD. would recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why I purchased it, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Sky TV dont have this film on their list so after mentioning it to my 12 year old daughter I decided to order it as I remember it to be very funny! The DVD was wrapped very well and will recommend this company to anyone else. Thak you very very much!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have loved this film ever since it first came out, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Have loved this film ever since it first came out, John Goodman is hilarious and Halle Berry sizzles just as much as she did in Catwoman, and the story is very entertaining and culminates in Fred inventing concrete. I never tire of watching this film, am very pleased to have my own copy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flintstones [DVD] [1994]
The Flintstones [DVD] [1994] by Brian Levant (DVD - 1999)
£4.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews