Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic genius: Seedy, sordid, showy and superb
SUMMARY / BOTTOM-LINE
My opinion is that Showgirls is brilliantly scripted, cast and acted, and thoroughly entertaining. My impression is that this film was created for the love of the craft, perhaps never intended to be a 'blockbuster'.

DETAILS
Showgirls portrays materialism in a highly refined form, in the community surrounding erotic show business...
Published 23 months ago by Mark

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars showgirls uncensored and uncut. dutch import
I found it to be the same as shown on t.v. No more no less, a little fault with picture flicker.
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by eagle eye


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic genius: Seedy, sordid, showy and superb, 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Showgirls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
SUMMARY / BOTTOM-LINE
My opinion is that Showgirls is brilliantly scripted, cast and acted, and thoroughly entertaining. My impression is that this film was created for the love of the craft, perhaps never intended to be a 'blockbuster'.

DETAILS
Showgirls portrays materialism in a highly refined form, in the community surrounding erotic show business. This superficial society is portrayed brilliantly without moralising, without judgement, without sentimentality. It is a film about messed-up people living messed-up lives and the film doesn't pretend that the characters are anything other than messed-up people. As such, the film doesn't offer an epic battle of good against evil, nor pit some sweet damsel against dark forces and have her triumph against all odds because of her inner virtue. This isn't a philosophical film in which a spiritually deep and virtuous maiden, wise beyond her years, struggles to retain her dignity and honesty amidst cruel and unfair circumstances. This isn't a pretentious film with a nauseating, fashionably progressive political message masquerading as a heart-warming, happily-ending story. There are no deep characters in the film because it is a portrayal of a society composed entirely of shallow people engaged in the carnal pursuit of fame, sex, money and power, and of people who use one another and discard one another without once questioning the morality or advisability of such conduct. There is no magical ending ... no wedding, no lesson learned, no apologies, no reconciliation.

In other words, unlike many films, Showgirls isn't a contemporary fairy tale.

Every character from the glamorous leading dancers to the drunken lechers is believable. Every significant character in the film, whether he/she be rich or poor, successful or cast aside, is motivated by base desires. All of them are trying to make something of their lives -- to succeed -- yet none of them has the wisdom or insight or virtue to measure success in terms of relationships or any form of absolute morality. There is no hero or heroine in this film; there is nobody to cheer for. Even Molly -- the seamstress who initially seems humble, kind and sensible -- is found to be foolishly and dangerously starstruck. There are no complex, growing relationships, because this is a film about people who are all far too emotionally damaged to sustain a deep and complex relationship. The film doesn't offer lazy cliches of wicked, heartless corporate managers taking advantage of the innocent and helpless little people, nor of kind-hearted girls struggling to love cruel and vicious men. There are no 'innocent victims' to feel sorry for, nor utterly vile people to hate. Instead we are given an entire cast of pitiful users and abusers; people who, regardless of gender, vocation or material wealth, are all lacking deep virtue and who are all inclined to chase glitter and to trample one another underfoot if it might lead to personal advantage. Almost everybody has a facade, pretending to be what they are not. Lies and fakery abound; off-stage as well as on-stage, everything is a show, and everybody is putting on an act at least some of the time.

The leading character is Nomi Malone; a superficial girl, not particularly bright or well-educated. She is running away from a broken family, petty crime and prostitution, trying to avoid arrest for previous offences, and trying to lift herself above wretched circumstances. The actress, Miss Elizabeth Berkeley, does a superb job of portraying Nomi's adolescent turbulence, immaturity, aggressiveness, ignorance, insecurity, amorality, seething sexuality, youthful energy and naively misplaced optimism. Adding to the difficulty of the role are the dances, sex and nudity. Miss Berkeley spends a large portion of the film barely clothed or naked and the high-energy dance routines are properly choreographed and genuinely performed. Her performance is compelling, convincing and courageous.

As a piece of cinematic art Showgirls presents sensuality and sex without being either prudish or pornographic. Despite the sex and nudity, it isn't really an erotic film or a film about sex but rather a film about the false promise of glittery things, the futility of idolising fame, money, power, sex or the people who might have such things. It is about broken, superficial people attempting to gratify their lusts for fame, sex, money or significance. If there is any deep meaning accompanying this film it is perhaps to be found in the reactions of the audience and particularly the critics who seem to have watched the film through a fog of fashionably pretentious preconceptions about human society and human nature, about how a film should be made and acted, and about what a plot should or should not contain.

I disagree entirely with the people who have said "Its so bad its good", or that its "camp" or "misogynistic". As far as I am concerned, Showgirls is a very honest and straightforward film; a grand stage on which are paraded superficiality, sensuality and stupidity. It is seedy, sordid and showy, and it is a superb work of acting, art and cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Wiltshire "jediwilt" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got hold of the Dutch Uncut Blu Ray, what can I say? It's my favourite trashy movie in glorious HD.
The picture and sound are great, and the movie is just as entertaining as ever.
Not sure what makes it uncut, but it has plenty of overly gratuitous nudity, and the funniest sex scene in movie history.
There are no extras at all on the disc, but you do get to enjoy one of the worst acting performances in cinematic history, pure gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Elizabeth Berkley, 18 Mar 2009
By 
It's been a long time since my previous viewing of this movie. But the recent acquisition of this DVD version has renewed my fascination for the beautiful Elizabeth Berkley. There have been many reviews for different versions of this movie decrying it completely or making fun of it. I just can't follow that attitude. I like the script and the way it was done. And I don't complain about there being a lot of bare skin. That's part of the game in this case, just like the excessive make-ups for the showgirls. I'd give four stars, but I give five because I love the looks of Berkley here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood and underrated... probably, 6 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Showgirls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I should start with a caveat - I am a huge Verhoeven fan. His Hollywood films are some of my favourite film treats, and I have probably watched them more times than is healthy.

What intrigues me about Showgirls is that it follows a familiar pattern within Verhoeven's work, but one which seems to have passed most viewers by. Robocop was a masterful pastiche of policier dramas, ultraviolent underground movies, and tongue-in-cheek social commentary. Basic Instinct was a wonderful parody of Hitchcockian suspense drama mixed with steamy erotic thriller overtones. Total Recall is a sci-fi story about a man experiencing a traditional sci-fi story, with all the genre's cliches and tropes writ large. Where these multi-layered works are generally acknowleged as such, Showgirls seems to have been dismissed as trash.

Of all of Verhoeven's films, this one perfects the blending of parody with paradigm. Taking the story of the "country girl in big city loses her way" to its extreme, his ingenue star pouts and glides her way through the most outrageously camp and over-the-top story I've seen in a long time. The dance set-pieces are gloriously showy, the sex scenes ridiculously overblown, the performances hammed up to the max. Verhoeven revels in the smut and the glamour, and attempts to make the ultimate soft-porn extravaganza.

Like all of Verhoeven's movies, the surface story and glossy production covers a great love and understanding of the genre in which he is working, and invests this rag-to-riches tale with a huge sense of fun, and class. I particularly like the ending, as she leaves Las Vegas with nothing, just as she began, even down to the driver and car. It gives a sense that this story has happened a thousand times, to a thousand poor girls, in the original "sin city".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars showgirls dvd, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. L. Cave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Showgirls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
classic dvd a good night in with a take away not made like this anymore would recommend it to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good title, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic film.
It's not quite HD quality but you aren't going to get any better on this title.
Menus are a little annoying but worth the buy for a fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jan 2013
This review is from: Showgirls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I love this film and cant understand poor reviews on it. Its certainly one of those timeless classics in my top five and up there with the likes of dirty dancing. I can however relate to some aspects of the film on a personal level. Its a raw film with a lot of nudity obviously, so if you dont want to see boobs, lap dancers or strip clubs, its not for you. The storyline is heart warming, Berkley is superb. I can watch it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars showgirls uncensored and uncut. dutch import, 5 Aug 2011
I found it to be the same as shown on t.v. No more no less, a little fault with picture flicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Worst, 27 Sep 2011
By 
Toby Townrow (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Showgirls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I've decided to write this because there simply aren't enough one-star reviews for this film and people need to be informed. Make no mistake, this is one of the worst blockbuster studio movies ever made. And because of this, it's unmissable.

I love Robocop, Basic Instinct and Total Recall. I've even got a soft spot for Starship Troopers. I get the irony, the camp and the satire in all these films. But it just simply doesn't work here as the vacuousness of Vegas is already beyond satire. What these other films had (except ST) was some excellent performances, interesting storylines, sympathetic characters and engaging scripts. Everything Showgirls lacks. The film is unremittingly, mind-bendingly dreadful from the very first shot. It's such a turkey, you can almost smell the cranberry sauce from your TV.

But it's hilarious. Brilliantly funny. It includes the worst sex scenes ever filmed (yes, scenes, not just the one in the swimming pool), some terrible choreography, some completely random plotting, amazingly bad acting that will leave your mouth agape and a cringeworthy script with lines that would make a daytime soap screenwriter blush.

In short, you have to see it to really appreciate just how bad it is. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liking this makes you more guilty than eating After Eight mints for breakfast, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: Showgirls [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
How I wish I could write this review anonymously. No one should publicly admit to liking Showgirls. There's very little to like about it. Yet I still do. And, looking at some of the other comments on here, I'm not the only one (perhaps there's a secret `Fight Club-like' organisation out there somewhere for people like us?).

It's about a young woman who drifts into Las Vegas with dreams of being a dancer. She ends up being a stripper. However, her fortunes don't stay that way for long, as she's offered a role in a top Vegas casino's show... which involves taking her clothes off.

In case you've never heard of this film, it does involve a lot of female nudity. Now, this naturally attracted a lot of criticism of the film being sexist. And, in short, it is. However, isn't that the point? We're getting a look into an industry (whether it be the stripping industry, the showgirl industry, or even the film industry) which is heavily male-dominated. It's run by rich middle-aged men who get to decide which young 18-21 year old females get the parts. Of course there's going to be a heavy element of sexism and quite a fair share of sleaze involved.

I won't try to defend Showgirls and say things like `the nudity empowers the women,' because that would probably be untrue (and rather pretentious). But I will say that the nudity is at least valid. Making a film without nudity about a subject involving strippers and erotic dancers would be like making a film about the Second World War without soldiers.

It's all pretty cheesy stuff. I don't know whether that was the film-makers' intentions when they made it, but that's the end result. Everything is very dramatic. The lead characters dances overly-dramatically, walks overly-dramatically and, if you look closely, even eats a hamburger overly-dramatically. It's kind of like the acting quality you'd expect from an afternoon soap (but with more nudity, obviously).

However, if there's one redeeming feature that can genuinely be talked about, it's Gina Gershon, who plays the femme fatale `Cristal Connors.' She seems to revel in flitting between evil and seductively charming and is a joy to watch when it comes to baddies.

I don't think anyone should recommend Showgirls to anyone, without knowing what sort of films they're into. You'll either love it or throw a brick at the TV. Best to just tell people you hate it until you meet up with them in some underground car park with the rest of the Showgirls fans. Remember, the first rule about liking Showgirls is that you DO NOT admit to liking Showgirls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Showgirls [DVD] [1996]
Showgirls [DVD] [1996] by Paul Verhoeven (DVD - 2003)
9.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews