Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding Fantasy and Desire Apart
David Lynch's Blue Velvet is a fantastic film and I recommend it highly. Thematically, the film concerns itself with desire, fantasy and violence. It is directed with thought and skill. The plot concerns a young man, Jeffrey Beaumont, who discovers a severed ear. This leads him, partly through his own unstoppable curiosity, to discover a dark underworld that coexists with...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by Caleb Sivyer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 hours plus SEPARATELY 52 minutes on another disc!!
The extra 52 minutes are NOT integrated into one 169 minute film. The Blu-ray is a 2 hour film plus, separately, 52 minutes. I will send back for a refund. Shan't even bother to watch it.
Published 1 month ago by Colin Spacecraft Man


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding Fantasy and Desire Apart, 19 Mar 2011
David Lynch's Blue Velvet is a fantastic film and I recommend it highly. Thematically, the film concerns itself with desire, fantasy and violence. It is directed with thought and skill. The plot concerns a young man, Jeffrey Beaumont, who discovers a severed ear. This leads him, partly through his own unstoppable curiosity, to discover a dark underworld that coexists with his innocent and friendly town. Along the way he is assisted by the local detective's daughter Sandy, he discovers a strange young woman named Dorothy, and encounters a sinister and perverted individual named Frank Booth. Throughout the film, Jeffrey attempts to understand the meaning of the detached ear, and its connection to both Dorothy and Frank. But by pursuing this mystery, Jeffrey discovers a number of terrible truths and is himself caught up in this dark underworld.

Lynch's film depicts two worlds: on the one hand, there is the all-too-perfect world of Lumberton, with its white picket-fences and smiling firemen; on the other hand, there is the dark underworld of Frank Booth and his associates. Lynch stylistically separates these worlds through several contrasts: Lumberton is mostly presented in daylight and in reassuring places such as the family home or the school; whereas the underworld is presented at night and in places such as a nightclub and a seedy home belonging to one of Frank's associates. Each world, though, is structured according to fantasy: Lumberton's fantasies revolve around family life, education and dating, whilst Frank's world centres on intoxication, adrenaline, and sex.

Whilst it is tempting to see Lynch's world in terms of a good place and a corrupt underworld, this would leave out Dorothy and the mini-world of her apartment. It would also be hard to maintain such an interpretation in light of the fairly obvious satirical elements. Lumberton is depicted with heavy doses of irony: the smiling, waving fireman and his dog aboard the fire engine; the too-perfect red roses; and the billboard depicting the friendly town of Lumberton. But Dorothy and her apartment represent the biggest problem of interpretation here. Her space is dark, disturbing and the scene of two very different sexual encounters: Frank's and Jeffrey's. This world sits uneasily between Lumberton and Frank's underworld. It is neither too-perfect nor typically (and thus reassuringly) dark. It is a mini-world, a liminial space, a void. It is the place not of fantasy, but of pure desire. It is for this reason that it haunts Jeffrey and Frank, and by extension us.

Although both Frank and Jeffrey are made anxious by Dorothy and her apartment, each responds in a different way. Frank's fantasised sexual encounters with her are a means of violently repressing her sexual otherness (embodied in his repression of her gazing at him), whilst Jeffrey tries to place himself in the role of saviour, rescuing her from Frank and returning her son to her. However, despite both attempts, Dorothy still troubles both Frank and Jeffrey. There is a particularly poignent moment in the film when Dorothy breaks from her liminal space of pure desire and invades Sandy's innocent home. At this moment, desire invades Sandy's fantasy space and she cannot control herself, breaking into tears.

This is one of Lynch's great gifts to cinema (which he has repeated a number of times, albeit with differences): his stylistic and thematic choice of presenting the worlds of desire and fantasy separately. Unlike other films by Lynch, such as Lost Highway or Mulholland Drive, Blue Velvet ends on a quasi-happy note (though with plenty of irony still). Jeffrey vanquishes his enemy Frank, Dorothy's son is returned to her, and Jeffrey and Sandy live happily ever after. However, those ironic elements have the last say in the film: the fireman, the roses and that ludicrous robin almost smiling at Jeffrey and Sandy, and by extension us. The film is thus disturbingly hilarious and I found myself laughing at the end on some occassions, though with a sinister feeling too.

A note on the DVD: I strongly warn people not to buy the version published by Prism Leisure. This version is by far the worst available. It is watchable, but if possible I recommend getting a different copy. The version released by Sanctuary Visual Entertainment, which is a 2-disc edition and region free, is an excellent version of the film. It has both stereo and 5.1 surround sound options, two documentaries and a nice 16 page booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Release, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Ben (Scotland) - See all my reviews
David Lynch's Blue Velvet is a masterpiece. For those who haven't seen the film, be prepared for a cinematic experience that you rarely come across nowadays. For those who have seen the film, be prepared for a fantastic restoration in this Blu-Ray. It looks stunning.

Blue Velvet follows Jeffrey Beaumont, who after finding a severed human ear, stumbles upon a horrific underworld lying beneath his idyllic suburban home town.

When diving into a David Lynch film, you have to be prepared to roll with whatever is presented to you. I remember after the first time I saw Blue Velvet I was just stunned, I couldn't quite work out what I was feeling. It stirred me in a way that I couldn't put into words. The film is mesmerizing. It completely absorbs the viewer with the story, the direction, the cinematography, the acting, you will not be able to look away.

Isabella Rossellini is fantastic as the fragile and broken Dorothy Vallens. Also a mention to Dennis Hopper as the terrifying Frank Booth.

The Blu-Ray is great. The film comes alive in a completely new way with the HD transfer. I felt like I was watching it for the first time again. The special features are good, not in HD, but very interesting content.

For those who haven't seen the film, please give it go.
Everyone who loves the film already, don't hesitate to buy this fantastic Blu-Ray.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 hours plus SEPARATELY 52 minutes on another disc!!, 5 Nov 2014
The extra 52 minutes are NOT integrated into one 169 minute film. The Blu-ray is a 2 hour film plus, separately, 52 minutes. I will send back for a refund. Shan't even bother to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a strange world", 24 Mar 2002
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
Not meaning to contradict other reviewers, but I thought I'd lend my opinion about the controversy surrounding this DVD release. Basically, I put off buying this for so long simply because of many of the reviews on here complaining about the picture and quality on the region 2 version. The other day however, I DID buy it and was pleasantly surprised.
I own the 4Front video release and this DVD just trashes it in terms of picture quality and sound... in the video you can't see what's going on half the time because it's too dark, the colour is over-saturated and the sound is too low.
Sure, it hasn't been remastered or anything, much like the Castle release of 'Dune' but it IS a good transfer. MUCH better than the video, which really spoilt my enjoyment of the film.
On to the film itself. 'Blue Velvet' is probably David Lynch's defining moment and masterpiece. Where as 'Eraserhead' and 'Twin Peaks' are strong cult films [and TV series], 'Blue Velvet' was a heavy blip on the timeline of American cinema. Certainly without it such films as 'American Beauty' wouldn't have come about, although that's not to say that this film is anything like that... Lynch's vision of the darkness beneath suburban USA and the human psyche is much darker and explicit.
It all starts with the discovery of a severed human ear in a field and spirals downward from there into a psychosexual thriller involving some of the best characterization I've ever seen, especially by Denis Hopper who is FANTASTIC as the evil Frank Booth. Simply put, this is a film you will NOT forget and will haunt your thoughts long afterwards. It's dark, it's elaborate, it's Lynch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrongly labeled!, 5 Nov 2014
Unfortunately this is not a version with the lost footage inserted into the film as the run time on the cover (169 min) suggests, but it's the film in its original version with the additional footage (that has already been available in the US) contained on a second disc. So it's five stars for the film, but the overall rating is only three stars as I think the labeling created false expectations.

For those of you hoping to get a longer version of the film, I can not recommend the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 142 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Horrible DVD., 20 Mar 2005
By 
Steampunk "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I should start by saying that I've never paid much attention to talk of good and bad 'prints' of movies, and always regarded it as a bit of movie snobbery. Until now, I've never purchased a DVD that left me seriously unhappy with the quality of the image.

I'm afraid this DVD (by Prism Leisure Corporation) changed all that. Quite simply, it's dreadful. Ok, it's a budget DVD, but frankly, if someone offers you this DVD for *free* you should politely decline.

Blue Velvet is one of my favourite movies. I bought this DVD as an upgrade from my aging VHS version. But after 20 minutes of trying to watch the DVD, I ejected it and went back to my old VHS.

In this version, the colours are washed out and muddy; the contrast is terrible; the image is far from sharp. In the dark scenes (and there are a lot of them) you'll frequently find yourself staring at a black screen. In short, watching this DVD is like seeing the movie on a seriously sick TV.

Really, you should give this a miss. Watch it on tape, or on the (much more expensive) special edition DVD (which I've now discovered is much much better and does the movie justice).

I can't believe that I'm writing a 1-star review of Blue Velvet!!

For the movie, five stars, easily. But because of the quality of this DVD, I'm knocking off four of them (and would knock off all five if I could). The movie is stunning, powerful, harrowing. This DVD is just harrowing. Avoid it like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynch invades your dreams!!!!!!!!!, 17 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
I remember my parents watching Twin Peaks when I was little and we had the soundtrack, a haunting, melodious collection of music that had me spellbound when I first heard it. However it wasn't till I was older and saw Blue Velvet that David Lynch began to take over my mind. . .
If you've never seen David Lynch this is a good place to start as it has a combination of his trademark obscurity (seen perhaps best in Eraserhead, Lost Highway and Twin Peaks FWWM) and a reasonably linear structure (though not as coherent as The Straight Story), so incorporating some of the finest techniques of his work. The plot is bizarre, complex and perverse leaving unanswered questions and disturbing imagery firmly impressioned on the mind. Blue Velvet creates a remarkably hokey smalltown American town and explores the sinister mechanics behind the seemingly placid facade. No one else can combine tacky diners, convenience stores, picket fences and tweeting robins with the sadomasochistic underworld quite like Lynch can.
Watch it and you'll never forget it. Watch any more of his films and you'll never think about cinema the same again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynch's masterpiece, 17 Jan 2005
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Certainly David Lynch's best film and one of the best films ever made.
I'm not sure that it is best seen on DVD - it works best in the cinema but failing that a very dark room. This is a film that you need to engage with; it is not one to watch in bits and pieces or with interruptions.
It is a beautiful film - full of amazing imagery and fantastic cinematography - it is also very dark and disturbing film but laced with humour and many funny moments.
Dennis Hopper steals the show as Frank but he is well supported by Isabella Rossellini and Dean Stockwell. The two main characters Kyle MacLachlan and Laura Dern are wooden but this is strangely effective.
Not for the faint hearted but recommended to all those brave enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Velvet. A post modern masterpiece, 9 Mar 2004
The term post modernism is used so loosely these days, David Lynch however secures the winning title of a post modern piece of film.
A mixture of narcotic fuelled sex and violence, drugs and alcohol abuse contrasted with the aesthetics of a 1940/1950`s exterior. The stranger would think nothing of this little town within America but look through the voyeuristic eyes of Jeffrey and you will be sucked into a world not even you could imagine.
This film isn`t for the faint hearted but is a genuine masterpiece from the movie genius that is David Lynch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25th ANNIVERSARY US IMPORT BLU RAY EDITION REVIEW, 12 Jan 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally, a David Lynch film gets the home video treatment it deserves. This 25th anniversary edition boasts a beautiful new High Definition transfer overseen by Lynch himself, and a superb DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack. Rest assured, Blue Velvet has never looked or sounded better. Colours are rich, blacks are strong and there is no sign of obtrusive digital manipulation. The clarity, depth and atmosphere of the lossless surround soundtrack is equally impressive.

I would urge anyone to buy this version over the UK release. Despite the box stating that this is a region "A" disc (i.e.-US and surrounding territories), this will work perfectly on a British BD player. Crucially, it also features something the UK release does not: 51 minutes of newly discovered deleted scenes.

Previously featured only as stills on the earlier Region 1 DVD, the footage has been fully restored, presented in HD and featuring the original music and sound elements. The care and attention these scenes have received makes a mockery of the scrappy, unfinished workprint versions of deleted scenes featured on most releases.

Whilst it could be argued that the majority of this footage was rightly excised from the final cut, it nonetheless offers a fascinating alternate perspective to the film, and provides a wonderful insight into Lynch's creative process. Would that the production company holding the rights to the legendary deleted scenes for "Fire Walk With Me" acquiesce to Lynch's demands and afford similar respect to that footage.

The disc also features the fantastic 70 minute "Mysteries of Love" documentary carried over from the Region 1 DVD along with the trailers, TV spots and "Siskel & Ebert" review. The disc menu is rather strange: having no screen of its own, it is only accessible via the "pop up" menu whilst the film is playing (although the film can be paused whilst scrolling through the options).

All in all, a wonderful edition of an incredible film at a superb price. Every Lynch fan should own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD]
Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] by David Lynch (DVD - 2004)
£14.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews