Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate 'bloke flick'
I first saw this film with a group of my mates at Uni and it was almost the perfect audience for this film. There are many so-called 'chick flicks' that combine tales of relationship with humour and "that's me" moments (or so I'm told) - think Bridget Jones - but few of the same for guys.
Well, Swingers fills that void. Instead of being a story about a group of...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Invicta13

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a film that is only enjoyable when the dialogue is good
This film is about a group of male friends who travel from bar to bar and club to club drinking, chatting up women, and philosophising on why they haven't got the jobs they want and the women they want. Some of the dialogue is long-winded but the good dialogue is very funny. As a bunch of
wanabees who were probably going to get nowhere in life, these actors were very...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If the the inbetweeners were money., 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite movies. Considering every weekend all over the world men try to pick up women in bars, you would think there would be a ton of movies about this universal culture.. but weirdly there isn't. Swingers depicts this aspect of life with great detail, dialogue and humour, without going for the cheap laughs', that you might expect from the movies title. It's slick style will make you want to buy a bowling shirt and chain wallet, drink cocktails and smoke cigars. Your so money and you do to even know it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your a big ... bear man!, 26 Jun 2008
By 
Matt (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I first watched this film at University, after a friend bought it and stuck it on the communal DVD player; then watched it again, and again, and now watch my own copy of it from time to time eight years on. The soundtrack is great, the direction is great, and everything just seems to work really well. The characters are all also genuinley likable, with Vince Vaughn's performance being particularly memorable. Its also hilarious at times, right up until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great little gem, 21 May 2013
By 
Elleppi (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered this movies many years ago, when it was released on VHS in the Sates. It arrived to Italy years later, and it was already a classic to me. Over the years, Doug Liman lost his touch, but here you can see a young filmaker and a couple of future Hollywood stars as fresh as they will hardly be since then. Swingers is not just the story of some young fellows who want to make it in move business, it's the story of those 3 people who made a low budget movie and made it because of it. It's free cinema, not just independent, but free as you can breathe freedom and lazyiness and easy living in L.A. when you are young and all you want to do is hanging around, living day by day and even more night by night. It's miraculously makes you live and feel that atmosphere and that approach to life. In a funny, easy going way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If Goodfellas was comedy..., 11 May 2013
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Swingers is about five guys who are dealing with single life in various different ways, all sharing experiences as they go from one L.A. bar to the next.

That's about it. We follow their lives. A lot of people have criticised the film for having no plot. And they're right, it doesn't really. But does it matter? Only if you're really only interested in films with tight and deep plots. If you like your comedy a little on the adult side (and perhaps this film will appeal to guys over girls), plus are happy to follow these people and simply go along with the ride, you should get something out of this.

It's kind of like a gangster film, but without the violence and crime. You have many long `talkie' scenes, set around various bar tables in dingy clubs, while the protagonists sit back and discuss film trivia. This hardly drives the narrative forward, but, if you're into character pieces (and film trivia!) you should find it amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got a mate moping too long over a lost love ?, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Got a mate moping too long over a lost love ?

Then this is the movie for you gather a few mates round hand them a beer sit them down and turn on the movie.

If your mates invite you round and you are handed a beer and this is put on you know you been moping too long.

Very funny movie and you know are under no illusions from the start and what has got to be the greatest cringe answer phone scene which will have you screaming" Noooooooooooooo" stop at the screen.

lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, looks fantastic on blu-ray, 24 Mar 2013
By 
F. J. Prado (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is very funny and entertaining. One you can watch many times. PQ is excellent in my opinion. It looks as good as is supposed to. Grain is not a bad thing, it is a bad thing when it's not where is supposed to. Contrast, color and black levels are excellent. There are some extras and commentaries I haven't watched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This film is so money!, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: Swingers [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A friend told me about this film years ago but never really sold it to me. It was only recently I got around to watching with a friend and instantly bought myself a copy!

It's a great guy film - although at times a little cringey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First watched this back in 1998. After having lived in LA for a while, i can relate to the weird and wonderful life of a wanna-be-actor can be like, particulalry on the hollywood scene. I find parts of the script just fabulous. recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Money It Doesn't Even Know It!, 3 Sep 2011
Swingers is John Favreau's semi autobiographical account of a group of struggling actors headed west to get their foot on the slippery showbiz ladder in LA. We follow the group as they travel from casino to bar hoping to get lucky whilst newly single central character Mikey gets knocked back on a regular basis, having been 'out of the game' as he puts it for 6 years. Plot wise that's basically it so if you're after something more bombastic don't touch this film with a barge pole as you'll be sorely dissapointed.
A rough indicator of the tone of the film would be to think of the ultra realistic faux documentary comedies such as the British version of The Office, with the camera taking an over the shoulder point of view , putting the viewer in the position of the person at the back of the line following the gang from bar to bar. Like the office we find a handful of cringe worthily realistic moments mainly involving Mikey's interaction with women but like all good comedy there lies a warmth and seriousness to the film.
My favourite scene in the film sums up the film nicely. We find Mikey and other lead character Trent(played by Vince Vaughan) sat in their car on the hard shoulder of the interstate after an aborted pick up session and in his despair at his current situation and short comings, Mikey outlines all his insecurities and lack of esteem to which Trent puts a poignant spin on his usual catchphrase and tells him hes 'so money he doesn't even know it' and continues to support him and make sure he doesn't shut himself off from the world and become bitter until hes back on his feet.
These types of scenes which balance reality with comedy elevate this film from a good one to a great one. The underlying theme of friendship added to the lack of anything particularly dramatic or overblown occurring during the film ensure this is a film people from all walks of life can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swingers [DVD] [1997]
Swingers [DVD] [1997] by Doug Liman (DVD - 1999)
£2.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews