Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mariah Carey the best selling female artist of the 90's
This is Mariah Carey's #1's DVD. I absolutely love Mariah and got this DVD about a year ago. This is more or less the same as the videotape but had some cool but bog standard extras such as the video to the Heartbreaker remix and a brief Biography.
The DVD opens with the menu showing a sultry Mariah in her famous pose as the front cover of this DVD.
You can...
Published on 10 April 2004 by F. Hearn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mariah no.1 dvd
I bought this dvd as I like the way it is presented Mariah introduces each song she expounds on what they mean to her. I also liked the fact they took the versions from different videos of live concert performances rather than just be a collection of videos. They took the footage from other videos like mtv live and the 1st vision which I thought was a clever way to...
Published 13 months ago by lin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mariah Carey the best selling female artist of the 90's, 10 April 2004
By 
F. Hearn "Frannii" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
This is Mariah Carey's #1's DVD. I absolutely love Mariah and got this DVD about a year ago. This is more or less the same as the videotape but had some cool but bog standard extras such as the video to the Heartbreaker remix and a brief Biography.
The DVD opens with the menu showing a sultry Mariah in her famous pose as the front cover of this DVD.
You can choose to see the video selecting gallery, choose the audio mix, see the two special features and play the program from the beginning.
I love to see the video montage at the beginning with the My all (my club remix) playing along with it.
The quality of the videos is varied, and as good as the master tapes. Not remastered or anything but still great! Honey and Heartbreker being the best quality.
The 5.1 Dolby surround is good but some tracks don't sound right. Can't wait for the day they release a complete video collection of Mariah on DVD. More videos could have been included but all the #1's are here...more or less and although some videos have been replaced with performances such as the lovely Vision of love and Someday. But some great MTV unplugged footage is here.
So all in all a nice package. A bit careless and rushed with the product as with most re issues but still fine. No booklet or insert is included just a background with other Sony products. Enjoy if you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah in a must see DVD, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Mariah Carey then buy this DVD, if you dont then u shouldn't even be here reading this. This is an outstanding DVD that at last contains some of her best videos. Her videos are always beautifully shot and show the best of Mariah (which isnt hard dont you agree?) I especially like the DVD because it allows me to skip her interviews, which id rather not watch ; but if its your thing then you wont be dissaponted. Wow, a singer with beauty to match her voice! This DVD is worth it for the DreamLover video alone, need i say more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Songs Are Amazing, The Videos are Superb, 19 Jan 2004
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
In 1990 we saw the debut of a female artist who was destined to become the biggest selling female artist of all time boasting sales of over 130 million albums, 15 US number one singles.
Mariahs first US number one was the incredible "Vision Of Love" with its perfect vocals and drum beats, very powerful but this is one of the less interesting music videos. "Vision Of Love" peaked at number nine in the UK. "Love Takes Time" was the second US number one for Mariah and peaked at a lousy number 37 in the UK, it's a beautiful and heart rendering ballad but the video is nothing special. "Someday" is more upbeat and very strong becoming her third US number one and got to a bad number 38 in the UK, its a really amazing song and the videos not bad, her voice is really strong here. Mariahs fourth US number one was "I Don't Wanna Cry" which wasn't released in the UK and is not featured here. "Emotions" is on here and the videos great and the notes her wonderfully high pitched, this was her fifth US number one and reached number 17 in the UK. "I'll Be There" is a cover of a Jackson Fve classic, it was a live version performed on MTV's Mariah Unplugged which was to allow Mariah to prove she could sing live and she certainly could, it's great to be able to watch her perform it on this DVD, this song features vocals by Trey Lorenz. "I'll Be There" was Mariah's sixth US number one and reached number 2 in the UK, it showed that the UK were finally getting into Mariah. "Dreamlover" was the second most remarkable song in history with a kicking video and some unbeatable vocals, it reached number 9 in the UK. "Hero" is the greatest song EVER, it's about prevailing through hard times and is a personal favourite among Mariah fans, it was off the "Music Box" album which was Mariah's most successful album selling 25 million worldwide, it was her eighth US number one and reached number 7 in the UK.
"Music Box" spawned Mariahs first UK number one "Without You" which reached number two in the US, a bit of a kick in the head. The song was number one in the UK for four weeks and sold 559,200 copies there. The song is a breathtaking ballad and i like the video alot.
"Daydream" was another phenomanally successful album for Mariah selling 24 million worldwide. The first single from the album was the club friendly "Fantasy" which was Mariah's ninth US number one and peaked at number four in the UK. The video is brilliant and the song is saw amazing and incredible. Her tenth US number one "One Sweet Day" was number one in the US for sixteen consecutive weeks and was a brilliant duet with Boyz 2 Men, it reached number 6 in the UK. Her eleventh US number one was "Always Be My Baby" which is absolutely fantastic with a lovable video, it reached number 4 in the UK.
The 1997 album "Butterfly" marked Mariah's freedom from record company boss and ex-husband Tommy Motola, it see's Mariah develop a hip hop sound and a much more sexy image. The first single from the album was the P Diddy produced track "Honey", the song is amazing with Mariah sounding sexier than ever before and it is possibly the greatest music video. In the video Mariah plays Agent M who is like a sexy female James Bond, there are sexy dances and Mariah looks so gorgeous especially with the video being set in a tropical climate. The song was her twelth US number one and was number 3 in the UK.
Shes had two more US number ones since this DVD was made, "Hearbreaker" and "Thank God I Found You". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
This was so awesome and i really enjoyed watching it and now i am getting all my albums and dvds from amazon instead of going to shops to get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mariah no.1 dvd, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd as I like the way it is presented Mariah introduces each song she expounds on what they mean to her. I also liked the fact they took the versions from different videos of live concert performances rather than just be a collection of videos. They took the footage from other videos like mtv live and the 1st vision which I thought was a clever way to package it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is highly recommended as the best DVD collection, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD contains the best songs from Mariah Carey. For those who like Mariah Carey, mandatory collection of DVD's. My least favorite song among others, such as the Hero, My all, Heartbreaker, Honey, and many more ...

Thanks to Amazon Uk who has given his best service for my order and send items I've received in good condition. My advice to everyone who reads my review, Amazon UK is the best shop online media
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't opened it yet as it is an Xmas present. It arrived in plenty of time. The price was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Jan 2009
By 
C. Bamford-Hewitt "cb" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd will come in handy if you are a mariah fan starting out and you want to see some of her popular video's and the songs that made it to number one, I only have one problem with this dvd and that's the video's for vision of love,love takes time and someday(mariah was embarrassed by them) these are my favorite video's and they are not there instead they've been replaced with live performances which I wouldn't mind but they have been replaced with performances that are already on dvd other then that the dvd is great, the introduction at the start of the program showing her career over the 90's with the music to the my all remix is nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Video Anthology From Mariah., 29 May 2008
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
Mariah has a few DVD's out, but they are mostly live concerts, this is more of a video anthology, i like this DVD very much, it showcases all of Mariah's video's from 1990 to 1999 that hit #1, opening with her 1999 video `Heartbreaker`, and ending with a live performance of `Vision Of Love' from 1990, what i also like about this DVD is that Mariah herself introduces each video, it's nice to have that personal touch. There are a few bonus features on here, like the `Heartbreaker Remix' video, and a simple biography - note that some videos on here have been replaced by live performances, these include `Love Takes Time', `Hero', `Someday' and `Vision Of Love`.

Overall i think it's an fantastic DVD, excellent picture & sound quality, my only nitpick with it is that i think some amazing video's like, `Without You', `Can't Let Go', `Make It Happen', `When You Believe', `Anytime You Need A Friend', and `Against All Odds' have been missed, it would have been nice if some of these could have been included as bonus videos, but still if you are a Mariah fan, i would highly recommend this DVD, as it is a really good reference to some of Mariah's best loved songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE!, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] (DVD)
Incredible! Fantastic! Totally Mariah! I have now watched this DVD like 50 times and I've only had it a couple of months! If you love Maiah Carey then you'll adore this, if you dont then you'll still probably love it!
I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD]
Mariah Carey: Mariah #1's [DVD] by Paul Hunter (DVD - 2000)
9.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews