Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray transfer, great sound, great extras and a great film!!!
I wasn't sure whether this was going to be a good purchase after reading both good and bad reviews on its blu ray transfer.
But after watching it, I can only say... NO REGRETS!!!
The one disc blu ray comes in a typical blu ray plastic case inside a protective cardboard sleeve, both the case and the sleeve have the same image and film information on the front and...
Published 22 months ago by Benn Parsons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ?????????? NO WAY
Most pointless film i have seen, and i don't understand why people call this a classic a classic film for me are films like Dirty harry, j.f.k, Jaws, Dance with wolves, serpico, the crow, rocky, the godfathers ect...ect...the list goes on, the film it self was about a weird man driving round in his taxi and getting very angry and takeing his date to the cinema to watch...
Published 13 months ago by STEVENSEAGALFAN


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speaks to the loneliness, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] (DVD)
This film is a masterclass of writing, acting, and directing. Paul Schrader admits to being a bit like Travis when he wrote this, and so he empathised with the loneliness and the contradictions of a personality who wants love but when he gets a date, takes her to a porno theatre to show her what a loser he is. And who writes in his diary about the importance of getting healthy and then sits staring at a tv popping pills and eating bread and cereals laced with whiskey. He is a social misfit, a reject determined to remain rejected, because to his subconscious mind this is what he deserves, no matter what he writes and says. I like that the script doesnt explain why he is this way, but just shows the behaviour and allows our imagination to fill in the gaps. De Niro prepared by driving a taxi and he IS the character more than in any other movie he made.
The only scenes that i don't quite believe are those between Travis and Betsy, played by Cybill Shepherd. Here the writing is not so realistic, as i don't believe she would go out with a guy like him, not even for a coffee, and when he tells her he feels there is a strong connection between them, and asks if she feels the same, she replies "I wouldnt be here if i didn't." That is the worst line in the whole movie, but is taken from many ad-libbed versions of scenes between the two actors, who never look comfortable together. That aside, Taxi Driver spoke to the souls of thousands of lonely outsiders, rejects, so called losers in life, but in reality it is the life itself that is fundamentally unnatural for humans to live in, being a slave-like existence with little or no affection or love.Travis reacts in a natural way to this unnatural city existence,and so for me he is normal, while all the people who put forward a fake front of self control and enjoyment in place of the turmoil they should be exhibiting, it is they who are the unnatural ones. Scorcese's best film and De Niro's best acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray transfer, great sound, great extras and a great film!!!, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Benn Parsons (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure whether this was going to be a good purchase after reading both good and bad reviews on its blu ray transfer.
But after watching it, I can only say... NO REGRETS!!!
The one disc blu ray comes in a typical blu ray plastic case inside a protective cardboard sleeve, both the case and the sleeve have the same image and film information on the front and back.
The blu ray contains some great extras including commentary from Scorsese, from storyboard to screen comparisons and much more.
For anyone worrying about the transfer to blu ray, DON'T. Its a film made in 1975, transfered with a 1080p HD 1.85:1 ratio, leaving the picture really good throughout, especially in the daylight scenes.
The sound is crisp and the dialogue clear.
Highly recommend this classic for anyone wanting to buy it for the first time, or wanting to upgrade from VHS or DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career Making Performance and Film, 23 Oct 2006
By 
C. Mcsloy "I baptised a dog" (Nowhere in particular today) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] (DVD)
This the film that really nailed it for Scorcese and DeNiro. Jodi Foster is amazing, especially as she was just at the stage of her career when she was making the transition to more grown-up fare. There is also a sterling support cast including a brilliant "Peter Boyle" as the Wizard and Harvey Keitel in the part of the pimp which he had Scorcese build up for him. The score from an ailing Bernard Harman is among the best and most disquieting of his work (sadly his last score he died on the day the recording was completed). The dvd extras are the kind I really like, quality rather than quantity. I mean who needs an extra dvd of stuff most probably taken from the media hand-outs given to the press? What you have hear is a really good length (70 min) making of with all the main movers and shakers taking part; Scorcese, DeNiro, Shepherd, Keitel, Shraeder. The only thing I'm slightly dissapointed about is that there is no mention of the rumoured animosity between DeNiro and Shepherd. Hell, maybe they've put the past behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vast improvement on the DVD, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD I had of this was a crude transfer with annoying artifacts. Switching between the DVD and the Bluray is like night and day. In addition to resolution, the colours are lighter and cleaner which i didn't immediately prefer due to familiarity with the DVD, but have since adapted to and imagine this is more representative of clean film stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Amazing Quality!, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant film; for me it's aesthetically beautiful (the Taxi bumper shots showing the bright lights of New York are stunning), it's also got a lovely melancholic jazz soundtrack that highlights Travis' perceived pointlessness and ambling in and through life.

(Plot spoilers) The story is simple: an insomniac wants to better spend his sleepless nights so enrols to drive taxis, slowly but surely falling into the abyss of loneliness and insanity. He witnesses the depraved and seedy nature of New York at night (prostitutes, drug dealers et al.) and brands them the scum of the earth. This, ironically, coming from a man who regularly visits dirty movie theatres. At the same time, we see Travis develop obsessions with Betsy who is a campaign worker for Palantine, a presidential candidate. Soon after their relationship develops, Travis makes the mistake of taking her to one of the aforementioned dirty movies, which immediately sees an end to this relationship. Travis later angrily confronts her and makes various violent remarks towards her, the first sign of his unstable mental state. Throughout the film Travis encounters a young child prostitute who he feels is being forced against her will to ply her trade. Meanwhile he begins training and preparing to assassinate Palantine. When it comes to it however, he fails to do so after being spotted by Secret Service Agents before he attempts the assassination. His desire to exact violence upon those he despises (Palantine for his connection to Betsy) leads him to the location of the child prostitute who he feels he must help escape from prostitution. Therefore, he murders her pimp, the bouncer and her customer (these being the scum of the earth that he despises). He is injured in the battle and fails to commit suicide. Later he awakes from a coma to a hero's welcome for helping Iris (the child prostitute) return to her parents and Betsy showing renewed interest in Travis. The irony here being that had he been successful in assassinating Palantine he would have been deemed evil but now he is a hero.

On note of the Blu-ray itself: WOW! For a film made in 70s this is one crisp picture!! I can't rave enough about how good the picture quality is; I must compare it to the recently released Star Wars Blu-rays and Taxi Driver blows those away. Yes, there are certain scenes where the camera pans and it seems as if the screen is jolting a bit and other scenes aren't quite as good quality as others but boy are the HQ scenes GOOD and the Low Quality scenes are still dozens of times higher than I could've hoped for in a 70s film.

Bravo to Scorsese, De Niro et al.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi Driver---de Niro's & Scorsese's stunning movie..., 14 Jun 2011
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
This landmark film starring Robert De Niro, Cybil Shepard Harvey Keitel and a very young Jodie foster(13 at the time) and tells the story of Travis Bickle, a Vietnam vet,and loner with demons that bring the film to a terrifying conclusion.
De Niro's portrayal of Bickle is an astouding work. He and Scorsese made a massive impact on me, when I swa this on video when i was sixteen. New York is seen as a hell on earth,with "pimps, whores , buggars and queens" seen everywhere.
This beautifully presented 2 disc is startling in its clarity and sound.
Buy It and Watch it, not a fun evening, but a startling and still shocking movie, which is still relevant, just hope the Taxi Driver2 That is been proposed is only a joke...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest films of all time, 15 Dec 2006
By 
R. MAGUIRE "addicted to films" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] (DVD)
My mum lent me this film when I was bored one day, I hadn't seen it before. I was adamante of watching a film made in the 70's (a silly but corrected mistake)but it blew me away on so many levels. Martin Scorsece's portrayal of an ex-Vietnam soldier trying to adjust to every day life is superb. He is throwing into a society that completely sickens him, he suffers from insomnia and can't sleep so he becomes a Taxi Driver. The brilliant thing about this movie is that you can see the mental decomposition of Travis Bickle's character through a series of events. Through I believe no fault of his own Travis messes up a possible relationship with Betsy. (Cybill Shephard) He find's something to live for through Iris(Jodie Foster)a 13 year old prostitute. You understand why he does what he does at the end of the film. At some point in everyone's life we get really lonely, Travis Bickle is going through this stage, and you recognise it instantly. I have to admit the most chilling thing about Travis Bickkle's character is that he pauses during conversations! Martin Scorcese's use of cinematography and his filming style in this film is superb! I dont' want to go on, PLEASE WATCH THIS FILM, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you looking at my Bluray review?, 25 Jun 2011
Well you must be looking at my Bluray review... Ok, ok, on with the review.

As with my Apocalypse Now review I think it would be a bit of a waste to review the Taxi Driver movie itself. It's an iconic classic and if your reading this you'll no doubt just want to know if this bluray is worth the upgrade from the DVD, well it is, and here is why.

First impressions weren't good, they left in the old Columbia Pictures logo at the start of the film which looked horrendous, the credits weren't the best - although that's down to the trappings of time rather than anything else, and the first scene of Travis is murky, soft and hazy, but then the camera angle changes and *bang* a fine looking transfer from then on, and the best Taxi Driver has ever looked.

I will sum up the overall picture quality with one scene. Remember when Travis (Deniro) is in the Cafe and he drops a tablet into a glass of water that starts to fizz and he zones out just staring at it? Well, for years my VHS and DVD purchases just showed a fizzing glass of water, but in the Bluray release I can now see that the glass has a bug in it. Now, whether Travis can identify with this bug who is helplessly thrown around with the current, or they just didn't bother to clean the glass before shooting I don't know, but this level of detail is what the format is about. You can certainly see the benefit from the 4k digital restoration and remaster under Cinematographer Michael Chapman and Martin Scorsese. Taxi Driver looks great and is up there with the best classic movie Bluray releases. It still looks like a film from 1976, but it looks like it was released yesterday. That's not to say it looks super shiny or anything, there is a layer of filmic grain throughout the movie, but this is fine as it's where your detail comes from and also adds to the edgy feel of the movie. Blacks weren't always as solid as i'd have liked but minor trifles are outweighed by the detail and overall clarity on offer. If you have the set-up the 5.1 losseless soundtrack is very good. Not a new audio track but it still sounds great, from the Jazzy soundtrack, to Travis' monologues to the ambient noise of New York.

As for extras, this 35th Anniversary release seems to have everything. Most of these we have seen before on the various DVD releases, but it's nice to have them all in one place, and to be honest it's tough to think of anything else they could have added. There are three commentary tracks including the 1986 original recorded by Criterion. Scorses thoughts on Taxi Driver, Producing and making of Taxi Driver, storyboards, comparisons from the New York of 1975 to today, the influence and appreciation of Taxi Driver, God's lonely man: and in depth look at Travis Bickle, Taxi Driver stories (not tales from the film unfortunately but rather real life New York cabbies from the 70's) and the Bluray exlusive is an interactive script to screen.

In short then, if you like Taxi Driver this is the version to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE 70's Film, 1 Aug 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This searing movie from Martin Scorcese is one of the great films of the 1970's. It features Robert DeNiro in the role of a lifetime, as ex-Vietnam vet Travis Bickle, who can't sleep and drives a Cab at night as a form of therapy. Travis also has trouble relating to people and it is this that gives him difficulties when he meets Betsy (played wonderfully by Cybill Shepherd) and things go from bad to worse when he then meets Iris (Jodie Foster) a teenage prostitute.... The supporting cast includes Peter Boyle and Harvey Keitel.

Scorcese works his magic in this film. A number of scenes from this film are unforgettable and some have become iconic. Obviously the "Are you talking to me..." mirror scene is the most well known but there are a number of others. Travis winds up a Secret Service agent, suggesting he would like to join - this is marvellously played. You will notice in a later scene that Travis has made some slight adjustments to his hair! In another classic scene, which certainly influenced Quentin Tarantino for a scene in 'Reservoir Dogs', Travis goes to buy some guns. The dialog is marvellous. Full credit to Paul Schrader for the brilliant script, without his contribution the film would not have as good.

This edition has the following extras:
Introduction to DVD - Martin Scorsese - this was recorded in 2006 and lasts about 15 minutes during which Scorsese talks about the influences that created Taxi Driver (Jean Luc Goddard etc).

Introduction to DVD - Paul Schrader
Commentary - Paul Schrader
Commentary Robert Kolker (Author)
Loneliness and Inspiration - Documentary
Cabbie Confessional - Documentary
Producing a Cult Classic

Appreciation and Influence - this is an interesting series of intereviews about Martin Scorsese with many famous directors and actors.

Taxi Driver Locations - Then and Now
Animated Photo Gallery
Storyboard to Film Comparisons
Behind the Scenes Documentary
Theatrical Trailer
Filmographies

The film also contains the last ever film score from Bernard Hermann who had previously done Citizen Kane and Psycho to name but two. This score is really excellent. A Jazzy saxophone with a haunting melody, but that changes menacingly without warning. Quite brilliant.

This is, particularly at the end, a very violent film and one with an ending that may leave you perplexed. Despite this it has a haunting quality because of its running themes of alienation and loneliness. It isn't easy watching but does reward you with repeated viewings. An essential DVD for any film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Iris, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even if you already own the special edition DVD...You NEED this Blu-Ray!The commentaries are solid & I enjoyed the before & after New York pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999]
Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] by Martin Scorsese (DVD - 1999)
6.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews