Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray transfer, great sound, great extras and a great film!!!
I wasn't sure whether this was going to be a good purchase after reading both good and bad reviews on its blu ray transfer.
But after watching it, I can only say... NO REGRETS!!!
The one disc blu ray comes in a typical blu ray plastic case inside a protective cardboard sleeve, both the case and the sleeve have the same image and film information on the front and...
Published 23 months ago by Benn Parsons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... Niro films and I have to say I didn't like this one very much
I am gradually working my through De Niro films and I have to say I didn't like this one very much. I know it has had rave reviews but how this film got them I have no idea,I found it rather boring.
Published 1 month ago by merlin


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray transfer, great sound, great extras and a great film!!!, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Benn Parsons (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure whether this was going to be a good purchase after reading both good and bad reviews on its blu ray transfer.
But after watching it, I can only say... NO REGRETS!!!
The one disc blu ray comes in a typical blu ray plastic case inside a protective cardboard sleeve, both the case and the sleeve have the same image and film information on the front and back.
The blu ray contains some great extras including commentary from Scorsese, from storyboard to screen comparisons and much more.
For anyone worrying about the transfer to blu ray, DON'T. Its a film made in 1975, transfered with a 1080p HD 1.85:1 ratio, leaving the picture really good throughout, especially in the daylight scenes.
The sound is crisp and the dialogue clear.
Highly recommend this classic for anyone wanting to buy it for the first time, or wanting to upgrade from VHS or DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...clean the scum off the film shelves", 23 Aug 2003
This review is from: Taxi Driver [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i rate taxi driver as de niro's defining role. better than raging bull because it defined the disillusionment and awakening of the 70's. the film is grubby and superbly shot. everything about this film hits the right mood and feel. travis is completely riveting and the film works, as well, as a character examination.
numerous homages to earlier works can also be found for movie buffs. where have we seen that focus on the eyes before? i think where this film succeeds is in its iconography. de niro became an icon through this film and the effect it had on its audiences and the effect it has today. the first real anti-hero? certainly the best and most ambiguous.
this film tells the story of the disenchantment of a taxi driver and the rising feelings that something needs to be done to save society. i think this is something we have all felt. the character of travis succeeds because we all wish we could free ourselves enough to let ourselves do something like that too.
we connect with travis via this recognition and this is cemented in the classic 'you talkin to me' scene. who hasn't enacted what they would do in a confrontation?
and that is the power of this film. you MUST see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speaks to the loneliness, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] (DVD)
This film is a masterclass of writing, acting, and directing. Paul Schrader admits to being a bit like Travis when he wrote this, and so he empathised with the loneliness and the contradictions of a personality who wants love but when he gets a date, takes her to a porno theatre to show her what a loser he is. And who writes in his diary about the importance of getting healthy and then sits staring at a tv popping pills and eating bread and cereals laced with whiskey. He is a social misfit, a reject determined to remain rejected, because to his subconscious mind this is what he deserves, no matter what he writes and says. I like that the script doesnt explain why he is this way, but just shows the behaviour and allows our imagination to fill in the gaps. De Niro prepared by driving a taxi and he IS the character more than in any other movie he made.
The only scenes that i don't quite believe are those between Travis and Betsy, played by Cybill Shepherd. Here the writing is not so realistic, as i don't believe she would go out with a guy like him, not even for a coffee, and when he tells her he feels there is a strong connection between them, and asks if she feels the same, she replies "I wouldnt be here if i didn't." That is the worst line in the whole movie, but is taken from many ad-libbed versions of scenes between the two actors, who never look comfortable together. That aside, Taxi Driver spoke to the souls of thousands of lonely outsiders, rejects, so called losers in life, but in reality it is the life itself that is fundamentally unnatural for humans to live in, being a slave-like existence with little or no affection or love.Travis reacts in a natural way to this unnatural city existence,and so for me he is normal, while all the people who put forward a fake front of self control and enjoyment in place of the turmoil they should be exhibiting, it is they who are the unnatural ones. Scorcese's best film and De Niro's best acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary and very powerful masterpiece, 4 Jun 2014
Taxi Driver is simply one of the greatest films ever achieved in America Cinema. The film studies the dark and complex misanthrope, Travis Bickle, and Taxi Driver covers problems including loneliness, post-traumatic stress disorder and desperation with him. Martin Scorsese exceptionally spans the medium as well to make Taxi Driver into an absolutely evocative and fascinating experience. The cinematography from Chapman is stunning and flawless, Bernard Hermann's score is brilliantly atmospheric, and De Niro's legendary performance is tremendously mesmerizing and powerful. Travis Bickle is also one of the greatest anti-heroes ever portrayed in cinema and he is an absolutely fascinating being. Taxi Driver exceptionally depicts the problems of a corrupt inner-city world with him and the film achieves to craft a bold and very powerful study of it.

The Blu-Ray for Taxi Driver beautifully restores this heavily and truly lauded film and makes each shot amazing and haunting. Overall, Taxi Driver is a powerful, stunning and mesmerizing character study and one of the finest ever portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career Making Performance and Film, 23 Oct 2006
By 
C. Mcsloy "I baptised a dog" (Nowhere in particular today) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] (DVD)
This the film that really nailed it for Scorcese and DeNiro. Jodi Foster is amazing, especially as she was just at the stage of her career when she was making the transition to more grown-up fare. There is also a sterling support cast including a brilliant "Peter Boyle" as the Wizard and Harvey Keitel in the part of the pimp which he had Scorcese build up for him. The score from an ailing Bernard Harman is among the best and most disquieting of his work (sadly his last score he died on the day the recording was completed). The dvd extras are the kind I really like, quality rather than quantity. I mean who needs an extra dvd of stuff most probably taken from the media hand-outs given to the press? What you have hear is a really good length (70 min) making of with all the main movers and shakers taking part; Scorcese, DeNiro, Shepherd, Keitel, Shraeder. The only thing I'm slightly dissapointed about is that there is no mention of the rumoured animosity between DeNiro and Shepherd. Hell, maybe they've put the past behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding Scorsese/De Niro motion picture, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] (DVD)
I won't deny I like my De Niro films and I have a soft spot for the edgy slightly off beat Scorsese direction that works so well. This duo partnership has been played out through the years, but this earlier film is arguably one of the best that both men have created.

Right from the first opening scene with the city smoke and taxi moving through it, the close up eye shots of De Niro then the rain beating down on the taxi's windscreen with the street lights out of focus...topped off I might add with the magnificent Bernard Herrmann soundtrack, it's probably one of the most memorable and perfectly executed openings ever on any motion picture. Of course a sizzling opening does not a good film make, but it does set the "mood" for what is a highly unusual and very graphic film.

Robert De Niro plays Travis Bickle a recently discharged Marine who is looking for work and lives a very odd and secluded life as well as having sleep problems he's down and out but manages to find a job as a "Taxi Driver" The odd hours and late nights suit Travis, but he meets a local political campaign worker whom he soon becomes somewhat obsessed with (Cybill Shepherd who plays the part of Betsy)

Travis takes her on a date but his lack of social skills soon ruin the date after he takes Betsy to an adult movie playing in a local cinema. These early scenes show a lack of maturity and isolation of Travis who is detached and indifferent to normal behaviour. But deep down Travis has a sense of morality and is often sickened by what he sees on the streets, the crime and prostitution. He starts to tone himself up and vent his frustration into physical training

The story unfolds when Travis picks up an underage prostitute called "Iris" (Jodie Foster) trying to escape from her pimp boss "Sport" (Harvey Keitel), who drags her out of the cab. Travis is concerned by this and arranges to meet with Iris via the prostitution circle but instead of hiring Iris to have sex he tell her he wants to help her get out of prostitution. The later parts of the film revolve mostly around Travis and his new found mission to free Iris from her pimp and let her start a new life. But there are some very memorable moments along the way , the quick action sleeve gun design and mirror scenes, the Mohawk hair cut among many others. Also look out for a small scene where the director is paying Travis to sit in his cab and watch his wife cheating.

It would be easy to put Taxi Driver down as a fairly violent drama without much soul, but the reality is Travis despite being a bit of an oddball has a heart beneath it and his one man mission to extract punishment on the "scum" of the streets is a novel twist on the vigilante take. All this wouldn't work were it not for some masterful direction from Martin Scorsese, and some very convincing acting from all the cast members esp De Niro and Foster who both have difficult roles to play.

Cinematography is first class with some great scenes and angles provided by Michael Chapman, wonderful soundtrack and a genuinely meaningful storyline. De Niro provides narration in parts and this hints at the theme which Scorsese would later develop into his trade mark (narration and freeze frames) But here we have a fresh and eager crew and cast delivering up a powerful cinematic punch. The ending is quite violent, in the extra features the documentary (which is well worth a watch on it's own) explains this had to be toned down (colour and saturation wise - blood) to make the R rating, once you see the scene you'll understand why back in this time period the gore was deemed unacceptable. Don't dismiss Taxi Driver as a gore fest pure violence film, there is a serious moral side to the production and it successfully manages to convey a gloomy atmosphere and looks into the mind of a genuinely good man, who is mostly alone and struggling with life.

People band the "timeless masterpiece" title around a bit too much, but this is such a unique film on every level and has earned great respect among fans as a real cult classic. I remember the first time I watched this pondering just how tedious could a film be about a Taxi Driver? Well this is no ordinary cab ride a gritty street/crime drama that leaves a lasting impression on viewers.

Probably the most powerful film both men have made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film for anyone who has ever felt oppressed by society!, 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: Taxi Driver [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It is impossible for me to review Taxi Driver without sounding like a nutcase, but I'll try my best. The film is about Travis Bickle, a lonely, disillusioned war veteran who joins a taxi service because he can't sleep at nights (the filth and scum and general odour of degredation gives him headaches). Gradually, through a series of brief but important relationships with a beatiful campaign worker, a teenage prostitute, a psycho who plans to kill his wife and a presidential candidate, Travis becomes ever more warped on "really DOING something". I won't ruin the rest of it for you, even though most people will know what happens by the film's reputation anyway. What makes this film great is its atmosphere, combined with Robert De Niro's disturbingly casual performance as Travis. His monotonous drawl, especially when reading his diary entries, somehow adds to film's unnerving acceptance of what ensues to create a general sense of inevitability about what happens.
The most important aspect of Taxi Driver is the sympathy we feel for Travis, mostly gained through his bungled relationship with Betsy the campaign worker Cybil Shepherd). If Travis was just a demented psycopath who went on a murder spree because he was a madman, the eponymous "end scene" would lose its effect. As it stands, a substantial amount of pathos is built up for Travis' character. Because we know he is a social retard, we can understand the mistake he makes when taking Betsy on a date to a dirty movie, and can understand his angry reaction when she snubs his attempts to reconcile, because we have seen how much he idolized her beforehand.
Martin Scorsese's direction is flawless, and he succeeds totally in showing to us just how filthy the streets of New York appear to Travis through a series of effective little touches, such as the screaming man striding along the street, fists clenched, or the throwing of eggs at Travis' cab as he drives along the rain-drenched streets. New York is presented as a blinding kaleidoscope of neon lights, in Travis is nothing but a dot.
All in all, a classic film, but only one for people who can stomach the short burst of violence after a tremendous build-up of tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vast improvement on the DVD, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD I had of this was a crude transfer with annoying artifacts. Switching between the DVD and the Bluray is like night and day. In addition to resolution, the colours are lighter and cleaner which i didn't immediately prefer due to familiarity with the DVD, but have since adapted to and imagine this is more representative of clean film stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Amazing Quality!, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant film; for me it's aesthetically beautiful (the Taxi bumper shots showing the bright lights of New York are stunning), it's also got a lovely melancholic jazz soundtrack that highlights Travis' perceived pointlessness and ambling in and through life.

(Plot spoilers) The story is simple: an insomniac wants to better spend his sleepless nights so enrols to drive taxis, slowly but surely falling into the abyss of loneliness and insanity. He witnesses the depraved and seedy nature of New York at night (prostitutes, drug dealers et al.) and brands them the scum of the earth. This, ironically, coming from a man who regularly visits dirty movie theatres. At the same time, we see Travis develop obsessions with Betsy who is a campaign worker for Palantine, a presidential candidate. Soon after their relationship develops, Travis makes the mistake of taking her to one of the aforementioned dirty movies, which immediately sees an end to this relationship. Travis later angrily confronts her and makes various violent remarks towards her, the first sign of his unstable mental state. Throughout the film Travis encounters a young child prostitute who he feels is being forced against her will to ply her trade. Meanwhile he begins training and preparing to assassinate Palantine. When it comes to it however, he fails to do so after being spotted by Secret Service Agents before he attempts the assassination. His desire to exact violence upon those he despises (Palantine for his connection to Betsy) leads him to the location of the child prostitute who he feels he must help escape from prostitution. Therefore, he murders her pimp, the bouncer and her customer (these being the scum of the earth that he despises). He is injured in the battle and fails to commit suicide. Later he awakes from a coma to a hero's welcome for helping Iris (the child prostitute) return to her parents and Betsy showing renewed interest in Travis. The irony here being that had he been successful in assassinating Palantine he would have been deemed evil but now he is a hero.

On note of the Blu-ray itself: WOW! For a film made in 70s this is one crisp picture!! I can't rave enough about how good the picture quality is; I must compare it to the recently released Star Wars Blu-rays and Taxi Driver blows those away. Yes, there are certain scenes where the camera pans and it seems as if the screen is jolting a bit and other scenes aren't quite as good quality as others but boy are the HQ scenes GOOD and the Low Quality scenes are still dozens of times higher than I could've hoped for in a 70s film.

Bravo to Scorsese, De Niro et al.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi Driver---de Niro's & Scorsese's stunning movie..., 14 Jun 2011
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
This landmark film starring Robert De Niro, Cybil Shepard Harvey Keitel and a very young Jodie foster(13 at the time) and tells the story of Travis Bickle, a Vietnam vet,and loner with demons that bring the film to a terrifying conclusion.
De Niro's portrayal of Bickle is an astouding work. He and Scorsese made a massive impact on me, when I swa this on video when i was sixteen. New York is seen as a hell on earth,with "pimps, whores , buggars and queens" seen everywhere.
This beautifully presented 2 disc is startling in its clarity and sound.
Buy It and Watch it, not a fun evening, but a startling and still shocking movie, which is still relevant, just hope the Taxi Driver2 That is been proposed is only a joke...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999]
Taxi Driver [DVD] [1976] [1999] by Martin Scorsese (DVD - 1999)
7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews