Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars59
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2006
This is the nicest romcom you are likely to see. It's wonderfully romantic, very funny, endearing to the final scene, and set in some of the most beautiful locations in Italy. Marisa Tomei does a great job, Robert Downey even better, and the on-screen chemistry is present throughout. Billy Zane's hilarious brief appearance alone makes this movie worth a watch. The plot is simple yet unexpected and will have you glued to your seat till the very end. Brilliant.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2005
The storyline of this romantic comedy, although realistically remote, (who wants realism where romance is concerned?) provides the excuse for a trip along part of the beautiful Costeria Amalfitana to Positano. If you have ever been to Positano, you will understand my enthusiasm for this film. The acting is good comedy-style and the picturesque setting enhances the plot, whilst not interfering with it. Excellent performances all-round.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2003
one of my fave romantic comedies - on screen chemistry with R D jnr & M Tomei, gorgeous scenery of Italy, old fashioned romance, superstition and spookiness sets the scene, how can you go wrong???
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2003
Lets face it, all us girls have the idea of a perfect man should be, we all like to say that being modern girls that we don't need the romance like they did in the old days, who are we kiddin! We all like a giggle over sex and the city but having watched Only You more times then I can count most of us girls would opt for our own Robert Downey Jr rather than Mr Big.
Every day we read our stars in hope that the day will bring us the perfect guy, Faith (Marissa Tomei) begins her quest of finding her true love when she is told by a fortune teller and a ouija board that her man of destiny is called Damon Bradley.
Faith goes through life in search of this man and almost looses sight and gets engaged to a foot doctor, until the moment comes where she recieves a phone call from Damon Bradley her fiances' friend who can't make it to the wedding as he has to go on a business trip to Italy. Faith sees this as a omen and races to the airport with her sister in law and best friend, together they are on a mission to find Damon Bradley, fate leads Faith into the arms of Robert Downey Jr. Destiny may put you on the right path but it does not always give you the correct signs as the cheeky Robert Downey Jr proves. Stunning hotels, this film shows Italy at it's best and makes you wanna book a flight.
If you like this also try Bed of Roses with Christain Slater and Life or something like it with Angelina Jolie both girly flicks that prove destiny does exist....
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2000
What can I say ? From start to finish the film was touching, funny and oh so romantic. Brilliant acting on the part of Marisa Tomei and Robert Downey Jnr. Billy Zhane playing the part of Damon Bradley had me crying with laughter. As the original preview says, this film definitely gets you in the mood for an Italian holiday, so much so that I spent two weeks touring Florence, Siena and Tuscany shortly afterwards. Just picture yourself walking hand in hand with a loved one through the streets of Rome at night. There is a scene when they are driving to a hotel in their quest to find Damon Bradley, the scene was out of this world and Kate looking out of her hotel balcony at dusk took your breath away. If you are an incurable romantic then this film is for you, if you are considering taking a holiday in Italy then this film is also for you and if you fancy a good laugh then you must buy this film.
From: Miss B Carr
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2006
An absolutely delight. Pure escapism entertainment. Deft comic performances, great chemistry between the leads and stunning scenery. Pour out the wine and forget the world.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2003
One of my favourite films of all time, this is absolutely the ticket for a girly night in. Faith is about to get married when she takes a call from her fiance's friend 'Damon Bradley', which alters the course of her life completely. Off she flies to Italy, to try and find her destiny. The locations are beautiful; the plot, complex enough to maintain interest, yet standard enough to be satisfying; the heroine reasonably sympathetic and the hero just lovely. It's a well done variation of the boy meets girl story. Very satisfying.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Light hearted love story showing just how stupid some people are in real life but has a very happy ending and brings tears and laughter.I found it very easy to watch with humour as well.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2003
Norman Jewison created this warm and airy ode to love, and gave it both the beauty and fragrance of a flower cart on the cobbled streets of Italy. The scenery will take your breath away and the story make you smile in this light romantic comedy.
The always sweet and engaging Marisa Tomei is Faith, on the the verge of marriage when a phone call from her fiance's friend will stop her dead in her tracks, simply because his name is Damon Bradley. A game played when she was a child and a Gypsy fortune teller at a carnival in her teens told her the man she would love and marry would be named, Damon Bradley.
Bonnie Hunt shines as Faith's sister-in-law and best friend, who takes off to Venice with her in search of her destiny, written in the stars. When they discover he has left the hotel he called from, the search will go from Venice to Rome, and the lovely Italian coast, as Norman Jewisn gives us a gorgeous view of romantic Italy.
Robert Downey Jr. is at his most charming as Damon Bradley, who Faith meets by chance, or perhaps fate, and falls in love with. Faith will discover, however, that destiny has a few twists and turns in store for her, in this truly delightful violin concerto to love.
This film will work its magic on you if you enjoy a light romantic comedy with a 1950's feel, and will surely become one of your favorites if you are seeing it for the first time. Don't let destiny, or this film, pass you by.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
I found this film to be light hearted and full of romance. I certainly found it to be enjoyable and fun too watch.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)