Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's all that
This is one of the best films I have seen yet. Rachael Leigh Cook is obviosly the best person to play Laney and Freddie Prince Junior perfectly fits the part of Zack. Funny and sweet this was the perfect film to watch with my friend.
Zach is the boy everyone else wants to be. He has the best and most popular girl in school, he is the captain of the soccer team and...
Published on 21 Oct. 2002

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute little teenage romantic comedy!
Though not everything in this movie is believable, She's All That is a very cute and entertaining movie due to its tight script and winning performances, particularly from its two leads. The story is pretty familiar; the most popular jock in school (Freddie Prinze Jr) takes a bet that he can transform any girl in high school into the new prom queen. His friends choose the...
Published on 7 Feb. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's all that, 21 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is one of the best films I have seen yet. Rachael Leigh Cook is obviosly the best person to play Laney and Freddie Prince Junior perfectly fits the part of Zack. Funny and sweet this was the perfect film to watch with my friend.
Zach is the boy everyone else wants to be. He has the best and most popular girl in school, he is the captain of the soccer team and class president. Everything in the world is brilliant for him until spring break. His popular girlfriend found another man and now Zach is ditched and everyone knows it. To keep his reputation up he takes on an impossibl bet. His friend gets to pick any girl in the school and Zach has just three weeks to turn her into the prom queen. As Zach starts to stalk Laney and transforms her he gets more than he bargained for. He ends up falling for Laney but secrets are never kept for long and Laney finds out about the bet. Will she ever believe that Zach has truly fallen in love with her?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love it... buy it now, 9 Jan. 2005
This review is from: She's All That [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
at first i thought this was going to be your typical teen movie, that had bad acting and stupid storyline, but its not. ditched by his girlfriend for a reality tv star zack bets his best mate that he can turn any girl into prom queen in 6weeks. the girl picked is laney boggs, she is rude, doesnt talk to anyone and hides away from the world. however when she is turned into a beautiful young lady, zack develops true feelings for her. but what will happen when she finds out the truth? unlike some teen comedies this is fun, sassy and very well written and acted. you will love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just another teen movie, 2 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
The first movie on this DVD, "She's All That" is about a complicated girl and a bet in which Freddie Prince jr. has to turn this social misfit into the belle of the ball- and ofcourse,the unthinkable happens and the pair fall in love. Although funny and romantic at times it is not the better of the two films and can be a bit predictable.
Secondly,"Down To You",is another teen love story. More twisted and complicated than the first,the two college students (played by Freddie Prince jr and the ever beautiful Julia Stiles) fight the battles of first love and long term relationships. More mature than "She's All That",this film offers a range of emotions and is something you will want to experience time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, shame about the features, 14 Jan. 2004
This review is from: She's All That [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a truly great film, funny, romantic and truly beautiful. The only thing that lets it down are the extra dvd features. Theese are sparse (no deleted scenes, voice overs etc) and the ones that are available are not that well done (the interviews are higledepigledi). However the film itself does outway theese drawbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely all that, 18 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
O.K., this film isn't exactly rocket science but taken for what it's worth i.e. fun romantic comedy and not Oscar-winner, it's a brilliant slice of enjoyable entertainment. Freddie Prinze Jnr is much better than expected as Zach, and turns a part that could easily have come across as being an arrogant jock into the cool popular guy he's meant to be. Anna Paquin is utterly scene-stealing as Zach's younger sister, Matthew Lillard is hysterically funny as a self-obsessed 'celebrity' and Sarah Michelle Gellar appears in an amusing cameo. Nummerous R n B stars also pop up so it's only fitting that the soundtrack is fantastic - including the movie's best scene, an exhilerating foot-stomping dance segment to 'Funk Soul Brother' - I never knew proms could be that much fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute little teenage romantic comedy!, 7 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: She's All That [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Though not everything in this movie is believable, She's All That is a very cute and entertaining movie due to its tight script and winning performances, particularly from its two leads. The story is pretty familiar; the most popular jock in school (Freddie Prinze Jr) takes a bet that he can transform any girl in high school into the new prom queen. His friends choose the serious and arty Laney (Rachel Leigh Cook). Romance blossoms and she finds herself competing for prom queen against the jock's snooty ex-girlfriend. The cast in general was good, and the plot was carried out very well. There's a good deal of flashy visuals, successful attempts at humor and an amazing amount of help from the supporting cast. Anyone who likes teen flicks should definitely check this movie out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's All That, 9 Oct. 2002
When high school prom king and all around coolest guy in the neighbourhood Zack (Freddie Prinze Jr) is told by his girlfriend Taylor (Jodi Lyn O'Keefe) that she's leaving him for Brock Hudson (Matthew Lillard), star of MTV's The Real World, he's naturally more than a little put out. After all it doesn't do for the class president and captain of the school soccer team to be seen with anything less than the prettiest girl in the school, especially with prom night coming up.
Being the sort of guy that he is, Zack bets his friend Dean (Paul Walker) that he can take any girl an turn her into a potential prom queen. All it takes is the right hair and a bit of make up. Naturally Dean gets to pick the girl. Unhappily for Zack, Dean picks social misfit, angry at everybody, bespectacled, paint splattered Laney Boggs (Rachael Leigh Cook). Laney doesn't have time for trivialities, gossip or guys... least of all Zack.
This is a fun, but predictable movie, and I'd reccommend it to anyone looking for a girls night in! Freddie Prinze Jr and Paul Walker are HOT!, and for the males theres also Jodi Lyn O'Keefe dancing in a bikini, and Rachel Leigh Cook in that little red dress!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film but not a teen flick at it's best, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
H. Coles "Walking contradiction" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She's All That [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Needless to say I was bored last night and switched on the tv to find that this film was on. On finding out that Freddie Prinze Jnr was in it I decided to give it go, it is worth watching but not something I would jump out of my seat for. The plot is fairly typical as far as American teen romances are concerned. Freddie plays popular jock Zac whilst in contrast Laney Boggs is a social misfit and Zac reckons he can turn her into a prom queen in six weeks after being dumped by bitchy Taylor. The acting is average, with Prinze Jnr and Culkin being the exceptions. At times there are attempts at humour and the chemistry between the two leads is notable, however I would recommend watching this if you have a spare 90 minutes or so or you love Teen flicks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rates with some of the best films in the world!!!, 9 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
I first saw this film in the cinema and as I watched it the film just got funnier and funnier.There is no aspect of this film that isn't fantastic,even the sound track is brilliant. This isn't a film you can just rent it's one that you must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "What Is This, Some Kind of Dork Outreach Program?", 14 Jun. 2015
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: She's All That [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I know I saw She's All That back when the movie first hit the theaters. I don’t know why I was so interested in seeing it back then, but I do remember enjoying it. When I happened to catch it on TV recently, I found I enjoyed it just as much.

The story is really Pygmalion set in a modern day (for 1999) high school. Zack (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) is the senior class president and the most popular guy in school. Everyone thrills with just a moment of his time, even if he doesn’t quite remember their names. He returns from Spring Break to find that his long time girlfriend Taylor (Jodi Lyn O'Keefe) has hooked up with Brock Hudson (Matthew Lillard), star of The Real World, and dumped Zack as a result.

As his friends try to cheer him up, he swears he could turn any girl into the prom queen in the six weeks between now and the prom. A bet is made with Dean (Paul Walker), and his project turns out to be Laney (Rachael Leigh Cook). She’s an artist and a loner and is the one person on campus who doesn’t swoon over Zack. Will he be able to earn her friendship and win the bet? Or is he doomed to lose?

As I mentioned, this movie borrows the plot heavily from Pygmalion, better known to audiences today as My Fair Lady. However, I actually like the characters in this movie, so I find it easier to root for them. (Sorry, but I’ve never cared for Henry Higgins, which is why I prefer the original ending to Pygmalion over the “happy” ending of My Fair Lady.)

Of course, this is played out over a high school romantic comedy type story, and it is actually pretty funny. Yes, there are some laughs at how dated the film already is (everyone has pagers instead of cell phones), but there are some genuinely funny moments as well. I would say I was smiling more than I was laughing for most of the film, but I was having fun. The best laugh? It’s got to be the final scene. And that’s all I’m saying.

Now that isn’t to say the plot was original or surprising. You pretty much know where things are going from the beginning. But as I always say, if you are engaged with the characters and having fun getting there, that's all that really matters.

The actors are what make this movie so much fun. It’s easy to root for the main characters because Freddie and Rachael make them so likable. The supporting cast is great, especially Matthew Lillard who has made crazy a staple of his acting career. As a fan of psych, I got a kick out of watching Dule Hill as one of Freddie’s friends.

No, it isn’t anything original or ground breaking, but She's All That is fun. And if you want to escape for 90 minutes, you won’t go wrong with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She's All That [DVD] [1999]
She's All That [DVD] [1999] by Robert Iscove (DVD - 2002)
£3.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews