Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good extras - extended cut of film
The film is great - a really fun swashbuckler and just as good as I remembered it.

It's great to see this film uncut for the first time in the UK since it was in the cinemas - this 12 cert version is a full 18 years overdue!

Note though that this is the extended version of the film, with roughly an extra 12 minutes of footage. Personally, I'd have...
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by James Wright

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "This is English Courage"
I love this movie so much, it's hard to say anything bad in my review. In this case, I am reviewing the BluRay edition of the movie. Nothing has come close to this take in movie history; not even Russell Crowe and Ridley Scott came clsoe, as they were constantly graded against Prince of Thieves.
This is a very poor upgrade; should you be thinking of trading your...
Published on 7 April 2011 by Mr. Joseph G. Black


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good extras - extended cut of film, 28 Jan 2010
By 
James Wright (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film is great - a really fun swashbuckler and just as good as I remembered it.

It's great to see this film uncut for the first time in the UK since it was in the cinemas - this 12 cert version is a full 18 years overdue!

Note though that this is the extended version of the film, with roughly an extra 12 minutes of footage. Personally, I'd have preferred the theatrical version - or the choice of both (this is blu ray after all).

The transfer quality is not the best, but is perfectly adequate, and there's a decent selection of special features too.

The menus are a bit basic, but I view this as a good thing as it keeps the useful resume functionality (enabling you to stop the film and pick up from where you left off - as you can with DVDs), which is a function sorely missing from blu ray discs with flashier interfaces.

On the whole then, a great addition to your collection, especially if you don't own it already on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Enjoyable, 6 Dec 2007
This review is from: Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Im not really a fan of Robin Hood at all. In fact, I didn't ever plan to watch this film as it seemed far too boring and outdated for me. However, this film is thoroughly enjoyable; well acted, with a good plot and a great soundtrack (Bryan Adams hit - Everything I Do, which has the longest ever record at number 1 in the English charts).
Kevin Costner plays the part of Robin Hood well, and i think the character suits him. The bad accent is not that much of a let down, and to be honest, with all the Hollwood actors and actresses these days with Amerian accents in every film i didn't really notice.
Morgan Freeman is a great support actor in this film, like as always (e.g. The Shawshank Redemption) and his performance here is fantastic, despite the fact that his level of action in the film is pretty low, especially compared to Costner.
But, the real reason this movie is so so good is because of one fact. two words. Alan Rickman. I haven't really see him in many films but this has to be one of his best performances. This one of my favourite characters ever a film, just think of Johnny Depp in Pirates Of The Carribean, except Alan plays the villianous Sheriff Of Nottingham, and its played with less "campness" and more dry witt. He truly steals the show.

If you should watch this film, which i think you should, if you're into action packed films that can be watched by the whole family and that includes some romance as well, the biggest reason for watching it would be for Alan Rickman.

Well Done Alan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, once you get past the confusion of US, UK packaging variations., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the "Extended Edition" on DVD with a light brown box and the shadow of Robin / Marion on the shore line. Despite the dodgy editing on some scenes in the extended version, I preferred it with all the extra scenes of the Alan Rickman. This was the version I wanted to get on Blu Ray, but the UK Blu Ray version of this movie (as pictured, of which I am now reviewing) has the old original cinematic poster on the cover, and does not state that it has the extended version on the front. Its only in the tiny writing on the back that this is explained, and it does not show very well on Amazon. This IS the extended version with all of the extra scenes spliced into the movie. The "extended" DVD was also strange in that it was "Extended", but all of the violence & language was cut out!! How stupid is that?! This Blu Ray version has all the "cut" bits put back where they belong: The chopped off hand, Christian Slaters whip marks, Rotty humorously trying to get a 'better' angle with Marion, and the famous "F... me, he cleared it!" line. The picture quality is far better than the DVD version, though it's not up to par with some of the newer blu ray releases, but its still the best this film has ever looked for home release by 50 miles. The sound is also amazing and anyone who does not get all fired up by the soundtrack (Not the Bryan Adams song though!) is a fool - Best score to a film ever. For those of you wanting the full extended and uncut edition who are a little confused about which version to buy on amazon, this UK one with the shot of Robin firing a flaming arrow on the cover IS the definitive version, despite it not actualy saying so on the cover or even in the amazon heading or description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "This is English Courage", 7 April 2011
By 
Mr. Joseph G. Black "Joe Black" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this movie so much, it's hard to say anything bad in my review. In this case, I am reviewing the BluRay edition of the movie. Nothing has come close to this take in movie history; not even Russell Crowe and Ridley Scott came clsoe, as they were constantly graded against Prince of Thieves.
This is a very poor upgrade; should you be thinking of trading your extended, 2 disc edition DVD. It's grainy as hell throug-out and the colours, (especially flsh tones) are way off the mark. There is no attractive animated menu like the DVD, it just goes straight to the movie.
This movie has been tested on PS3 through a Toshiba 720p and an LG BD350 through a 50" LCD at 1080p. Both HDMI connected. Neither caused me to take a deep breath in excitement. The soundtrack is, however vastly improved, it's sharp in the high end and although it's crisp throughout, it's let down by lack of low frequency enhancement, (LFE). Verbals are clear and driven.
My verdict:- Stick to the DVD Extended edition, or you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Age old story cleverly brought to life., 21 May 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
If you can put up with Kevin Costner trying to do an English accent then this is a very good film. Alan Rickman steals the show as the evil Sheriff of Nottingham. There's romance and a fair bit of action, but also the age old story of Robin Hood that is cleverly brought to life in a good motion picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the Blu ray version which is technically & artistically poor, not only is it a very poor transfer in terms of resolution & colour but the framing is all wrong. THE BLU RAY IS CROPPED AT 1.77:1 which makes it look like a Pan & Scan picture THE DVD IS PRESENTED IN 1.85:1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 14 Sep 2009
An excellent rendering of this top-class film. Worth buying, even if you own the regular DVD as the extended cut adds a lot to the feel of the piece, especially the story of the Sheriff and the witch. I wouldn't buy it if you have the extended cut on DVD though, as the quality improvement is not substantial enough to warrant it.

Well worth the price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd Replacement, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to replace my DVD that was 4:3 widescreen. Realy enjoy this film and the blu ray transfer seems great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Kev!, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Being a Kevin Costner fan I am rather biased, but I really enjoy seeing this film over and over again! A small clue as to the number of times I've seen it, is that you start noticing slight errors - e.g. when Kevin is catapulted over the wall he picks up a sword; then all the peasants push the portculis up, and a bloke picks up....the same sword! Told you I'd seen it a lot! Kevin Costner is extra-cheeky in this film, especially when smacking Mary Elizabeth on the bum - a nice touch when Guy of Gisbourne remarks on him not taking her virtue just afterwards! But the two best performances in the film have to be Morgan Freeman's: "No man controls my destiny, especially not one who attacks down-wind and stinks of garlic!" and Alan Rickman's: (when asked why he will cut out Robin's heart with a spoon) "because it's dull you twit, it'll hurt more! " Hilarious entertainment, well worth watching over and over....you get the picture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD version, 21 Oct 2007
This review is from: Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this film many times before on video, my problem is with the DVD version (rather than Kevin Costner's dreadful acting/accent/lack of soul etc!).

I was really disappointed by the poor quality of the film footage itself and also at the amount of cuts made. Small they maybe but they are very noticable and very annoying.

It's still worth watching if only for Alan Rickman's performance which is fantastically OTT and highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves [1991] [DVD]
Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves [1991] [DVD] by Kevin Reynolds (DVD - 2006)
3.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews