Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see!
This film, although, I'll admit, the storyline has been done in different formats many a time, has all the ingredients for a major Hollywood blockbuster. Outstanding performances from Eljah Wood(the timid high-school misfit), Clea DuVall(goth) and Josh Harnett(bad boy rebel). The script was grippingly written, filled with suspense, action, wisecracks and a suprising twist...
Published on 29 Jan 2002

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty decent
the faculty tells the story of a high school that has been invaded by aliens and one by one staff and pupil get infected and while they retain their human personna are not quite the same as they were,all of the invasion is going to plan except for 6 misfits who resist the invasion and work out that something isnt right with the people that they once knew.starring...
Published on 31 Oct 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faculty [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I thought the Faculty was absolutely brilliant. I'm not really into alien films myself, but I loved this! Elijah Wood was particularly good in it I thought, along with Josh Hartnett. It's a film you can watch over and over again, and can never get tired of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more of a comedy than a sci-fi/horror, 31 Aug 2002
By 
Krystal (Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Faculty [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Admittedly I only decided to watch this film because it starred Elijah Wood, and if it didn't then I probably wouldn't have bought a copy! I wouldn't really recommend it as a film for those who want to see horror movies, but it does have its tense moments for those who like a bit of suspense! This is a very funny film in parts (well, actually in most parts!) and includes some very witty lines. The acting performances are all first-class, and I cannot falult this movie acting-wise. The actor playing Casey's father starred as 'Shooter McGavin' in 'Happy Gimore' (just thought you might like to know). The characters tend to be a bit stereotypical, and the ending is quite predictable, but apart from that, this film isn't bad if you're looking for a light-heated flick to watch with friends and pizza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EDGY SCI-FI FLICK..., 9 Mar 2008
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Faculty [DVD] [1998] [1999] (DVD)
This is a terrific sci-fi flick with an excellent cast. It is sort of an "Invasion of the Body-Snatchers" or "Puppet Masters" gone MTV. Set in a small town high school in the Midwest, all hell breaks loose when some of the teens notice that something is not quite right with some of the faculty. They engage in a bit of amateur sleuthing, and what they discover causes them to band together to fight a force that is not of this world.

Well-directed by Robert Rodriguez, this film will keep the viewer riveted to the screen. With a good, edgy story line laced with humor and with solid performances given by the stellar cast, the film will hit its mark with those who enjoy well made sci-fi films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 25 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faculty [DVD] [1998] [1999] (DVD)
After being told that this movie was real bad I wasn't expecting it to be so good and my standards were set low. Yes its is quite corny and the special effects are dreadful but there is just something about it that is so very ingenius, its keeps you gripped without having to have all the state of the art computer graphics. The plot is real good and the casting is brilliant, lots of suspense and drama,not really for kiddies as there is a bit of drug use and quite a few bloody moments. lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Faculty, exciting film with excelltant actors., 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faculty [VHS] (VHS Tape)
To me, 'The Faculty' is a cool and extremely exciting film with excelltant actors and actresses. My favourite actor is the one who acted Zeke. He is a drug dealer who haas a crash with his English teacher. My favourite actress is Clea Duvall, acted Stokely who has a black, smoky make-up which I'd really like. My favourite scene in this film was when the left over students who hasn't turned into an alien, went to Zeke's home. There they sniff the 'magic dust' to see if anyone of them is an alien or not. That part is very exciting. And the end, I like this film because it has many exciting scenes and handsome and cool characters inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Sci-Fi Thriller, 10 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Faculty [DVD] [1998] [1999] (DVD)
The Faculty is a really good sci-fi thriller that you can watch with your mates on a Friday evening. The film focuses on Herrington High, a school where the students and staff appear to have been taken over by an alien creature. Its up to the few remaining students, Zeke (Josh Harnett), Casey (Elijah Wood), Stokely (Clea DuVall), Delihla (Jordana Brewster), Mary-Beth (Laura Harris) and Stan (Shawn Hatosy) to figure out whats going on, how they can stop it and how they can save their friends. A really great film at an excellent price tag. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erm... good., 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faculty [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I wouldn't call it genious, because it isn't really. However, i thoroughly enjoyed this film.
I wouldn't lable it horror, because it's really just plain old sci fi. This is the best sci fi film i've ever seen, hence the 5 stars. Against other films, such as Fight Club or The 6th Sense i would give it a 4 or maybe even a 3, but for a sci fi, nearly horror film, it was superb.
Not original, in fact, the whole damn thing was a cliché, but thats not the point. It's the best damn cliché ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Faculty [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a rarity in teen movies. OK the soundtrack and story are fast paced and superb but the one thing that does stand out is the quality of the actors. The characters are scripted superbly but the acting (especially Clea Duvval and Josh Hartnet)really shines through. The plot is tried and tested teeny horror but there is an element of surprise, especially concerning the alien host....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When did you become Sigourney Weaver..., 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Faculty [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Teachers at a high become infected by an alien parasite and soon target the local town.

Only a rag tag team of students know what is going on, the adults don't believe them because it's so absurd, and no one mentioned that Invasion of the Bodysnatchers was just on the other day....

1999 was a really strange year for film. The most anticipated film of the year was a huge disappointment, The Matrix was a real Phantom Menace, and little surprises like this came out of nowhere and really made going to the movies worth while.

Because of the posters, you instantly think that this will be another Scream, and the beginning really does hark of Casey and Ghostface, but this is so much more.

Its the most 'un-Rodriguez' Rodriguez movie there is, really the only trait of his here is Salma Hayek, who gets infected, and you never see her again.

The film feels fresh still as it did back then, and although some of the effects are a little dodgy now (just what was that flying out of Zekes car), the cast look they are having a lot of fun with their respective roles.

Of the teachers, Patrick is the one having the most fun, and you know toward the end of the film Janssen will turn into an extraordinary beauty.

The college kids differ slightly, watching it now, you think of a few of them ( i wonder where they are now?) but they are all great, especially Hartnett and Duvall.

The film never takes itself seriously, and despite the many references to The Thing, it's original enough for you to forgive the over the top ending.

Well worth seeing for B movie fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nearly 10 years, 1 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Faculty [DVD] [1998] [1999] (DVD)
After nearly ten years since I went to see this at the cinema it still stands up well amongst the many imitations of Body Snatchers or The Puppet masters. Neatly grinded script, actors and action topped with still awesome yet not OTT special FX and a cool soundtrack The Faculty deserves its place in the vein of teen sci/fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Faculty [DVD] [1998] [1999]
The Faculty [DVD] [1998] [1999] by Robert Rodriguez (DVD - 2001)
3.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews