Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror as Art...a true masterpiece
This is my favourite Dario Argento yet without doubt, and though there are many of his I have yet to see (including his classic Inferno), I can't see that changing...it's just a unique horror film, extremely clever, extremely well made, and beautifully filmed and choreographed...I have always loved Argento's over-the-top, elaborate murder scenes, which are especially good...
Published on 3 Feb. 2012 by Ceallaigh

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great - shame about the plot & acting
This is a film which I'm sure works much better in a cinema than it does in your living room.
If stars were awarded just for the look of a film then this would be 5*, however, the lack of much of a plot combined with some hammy acting (not helped by the dubbed english soundtrack) stop this from being a 5 star film.
What makes it worthwhile is the set design and...
Published on 18 Jan. 2003 by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror as Art...a true masterpiece, 3 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Suspiria [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This is my favourite Dario Argento yet without doubt, and though there are many of his I have yet to see (including his classic Inferno), I can't see that changing...it's just a unique horror film, extremely clever, extremely well made, and beautifully filmed and choreographed...I have always loved Argento's over-the-top, elaborate murder scenes, which are especially good in Suspiria (the first murder scene surely goes down as one of the greatest horror scenes ever)...the cinematography, the sets, the unreal, almost psychedelic use of colour, the art noveau style...

Goblin's fantastic soundtrack is also unlike any other in horror films...using bizarre instruments like sitar and didgeridoo, much of it isn't even musical...it just matches the film perfectly, and acts as a truly horrific wall of noise some times, reaching in incredible crescendo at the right moments, which sounds great on this restored, great quality release...the visual quality is perfect too, could have been made ten years ago...I imagine the blu ray looks even better...

and on top of this the theme and setting is original and works really well too...generally a fan of serious, supernatural and witch-related films, I love the idea of this mysterious coven in a ballet school...

Can't fault this DVD...though I would love to see a nicely packaged Arrow Video release, the flawless quality of the restored film itself, and the special features - featuring film critics such as Kim Newman and the thoughts of Argento himself and Goblin's keyboard wizard Claudio Simonetti - definitely make it worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece of Dario Argento's work., 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
First things first, let's briefly look at the film itself...I wont waste time as any horror fan worth their salt will no doubt have seen the legendary 'Suspiria' countless times by now. But for any newcomers to the scene this 70's horror classic follows the lovely Suzi Banyon (played by Jessica Harper in her finest role) as she arrives at her new ballet school in Bavaria, Germany. Arriving late in the midst of a furious storm she finds herself locked out of the prestigious establishment and has to seek alternate accommodation, but as she heads off in her taxi she notices a distressed girl run off in the distance. The girl has just been ejected from the school decrying that something 'absurdly fantastic' is going on there, but as she holds up in a friends stylish art deco apartment both she and her friend soon fall foul to an evil mysterious presence in one of the most stylish and graphic showstopping death scenes to be seen in a horror movie in a long time. The next day Suzi manages to gain access to her new school and quickly settles in and is introduced to her colleagues and teacher... but before you think we're sliding into a girls own adventure you're swiftly assured that this is anything but that.

Argento's Suspiria is without doubt one of the horror genres true cinematic classics, why so some may ask? Well after viewing the film it should be all to clear (even for those who may not be fans of the directors output in general) - 'Suspiria' is the sum total of collaboration perfection...at the fore is the stunning directorial skills of Argento himself, using the scope of the viewed image he creates every shot as though it is a work of art; stylish, rich and colourful, quite simply a visual delight. But what use is sumptuous eye candy if you don't have a decent plot and the story here is indeed a good one, using mystery elements used successfully in giallo style movies previously Argento and ex wife Daria Nicolodi give the old graphic murder mystery theme a fresh new occult edge that newcomers to the film will find enthralling, especially during the films old school gothic finale. But the final piece of the jigsaw comes in the form of the simply stunning soundtrack scored by 70's prog rockers Goblin who deliver perhaps the definitive companion horror movie score. Suspiria is also probably one of the most atmospheric horror movies I've ever seen. What makes it especially interesting is that it was shot on standard Eastman Kodak color film stock but was printed using the three-strip Technicolor process. This was achieved by using one of the last remaining machines of the kind out there. It really gives the movie a unique look and very vibrant colors.

Nouveaux have sourced a new HD transfer for this disc and on first glance it looks more appropriately coloured than the existing Italian blu-ray disc. The filesize for the transfer is a relatively small 17.1GB and it has been encoded using the MPEG-4/AVC codec and is presented with the sole option of a master audio soundtrack in English. The detail both in and out of light is very impressive for the most part, edges have not been haloed and the colour timing looks as good as I have seen with this film. The 5.1 mix is a very good approximation of three-dimensional sound with even voices mixed to the rears when appropriate, and the added definition is a thing of beauty when witnessing the high pitched scratching effects or the various sickening thuds and impacts of this unforgettable soundtrack. All of the featurettes offered here are presented in standard definition and feature lots of Xavier Mendik whose 10 minute introduction to the releases of Nouveaux's Cine-Xcess line is the same as it has been on their other releases. Fear at 400 degrees is basically an essay from Mendik which also includes Patricia McCormack, Kim Newman, and Norman J Warren. Dario himself pops up and there is some examination of the role of gender in his films, along with appreciation of Goblin's work on the film (from Claudio Simonetti himself!). It's a very creditable and intelligent piece. The final featurette edits together longer versions of McCormack, Warren and Simonetti's interviews to appraise the film from their own personal viewpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspiria 1976 [2 disc version], 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria [1976] 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is a 1977 supernatural horror that follows Suzy Bannion [Jessica Harper] as an American ballet student who arrives during a raging storm at a prestigious dance academy in Germany. Things go awry from the start and she is turned away, only to later discover her arrival coincided with a gruesome double murder. We then follow her as she tries to come to geips with events around her.
From the stylish, atmosphere-laden opening you are relentlessly assaulted by the progressive rock score (full of whisperings and heavy-breathing) added to the bold use of colour filters and forced lighting which heightens the atmosphere at every turn. Even the sets are bathed in over the top gothic romanticism and the over-decoration reminding one of Laurence Llewelyn Bowen [Google him], It's a visual and aural feast and it's always fascinating to watch.
This is a 2 disc package. The first holds the film and the standard chapter selection, extras [2 trailers for it, poster & still gallery plus a few other bits]. The second disc is a commentary and advert for Argento's other movies. Don't watch the trailers as it will ruin the suspense and acccording to which the film should run at 104 minutes -It doesn't, it's cut by 10 minutes [lose a *] being 94 minutes long.
The other problem is that the plot is quite weak, the storyline is feeble and it relies on its artistic flair to pull it out of the mundane, something it achieves with perfection. The film deserves to be given a low rating as it does get a bit monotonous, but the technical angle saves it. Yet it remains an outstanding **** rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrifying and poetic, 7 Feb. 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Suspiria [1976] 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I don't generally like horror films but this one etches itself on the mind permanently. It is such a potent mixture of sound and amazing visual effects that you are completely overwhelmed, as by a nightmare, and yet there is a kind of beauty there too. Argento has a visionary quality, setting the horror sequences against scenes of ludicrous humour involving the ballet mistresses - Alida Valli and Joan Bennett no less - and the daily running of the school. The banality of these exchanges combined with their overheated delivery gives the whole thing a touch of camp that works brilliantly, as the rest of the time one is terrified by the build-up to the set pieces which are filmed with a highly disturbing sadism. The value of what Argento is doing seems debatable to me - it is poised between unacceptably nasty and sadistic horror and a fantasy film like Cocteau's La belle et la bete - but this makes it fascinating to think about, if more compelling than one would like or perhaps care to admit. One might want, at some level, to suppress the excess of horror, but in doing so the vision would be lost, and with it the awfulness and sense of dread that exert so powerful a hold at the same time as they repel. It is certainly a testament to the dark side of the imagination, which cinema has proved all too able to exploit, once Psycho and Peeping Tom opened the floodgates. It is not a world I would want to dwell in too much, but the onslaught on the senses that the film amounts to, with its extraordinary fusion of sound and colour filters, and a fantastically imaginative creation of interior space, defies belief. The documentary about Argento, in which he talks about his films and where they come from psychologically, makes a very interesting addition to this 2 DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspiria Overexposed, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. R. D. Thaxter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Finally Dario Argento's phantasmagorical 1977 horror classic makes it to blu ray, but not without some minor problems. Yes, this is probably the best looking version you'll lay your hands on at the moment, the picture is razor-wire sharp (for most of the time) and the colours more vibrant than ever.
Unfortunately certain scenes in this transfer have an overexposed look that particularly seem to effect the white areas of the screen, faces turn a sickly shade of pink and lighter areas are bleached out entirely. This is particularly noticeable in the close-up of Suzy's room mate applying nail varnish and the white of Sarah's nightdress as she writhes among the razor wire. In the daylight scenes the outside of the dance academy turns a sort of salmon pink colour rather than red and by the time we get to the climax when Suzy flees the burning building the colours have been boosted to such an extent that any details are completely lost. Having seen the movie countless times this made for an interesting viewing experience, certain scenes looked better than ever, others were just off the scale.
As Suspiria is a film which...probably more than any other, relies so heavily on it's rich Bava-esque colour pallet it's a shame that these problems couldn't have been ironed out.
On the plus side the relaxed audio commentary with Kim Newman and Alan Jones is as fascinating and informative as you'd expect, these guys really know their stuff. The other minimal extras, mainly talking heads, are a disapointment.
If you love this movie as much as I do, you're going to be purchasing this Nouveaux blu ray release anyway, I'm glad I did, because despite the flaws in this transfer, Suspiria is still one of the most amazing pieces of pure cinema, both visually and aurally, that I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What my PS3 and HD TV were waiting for..., 2 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
...a real chance to show just how impressive blu-ray can be.

I have numerous copies of Suspiria, from the first X-certificate ex-rental VHS through to the Anchor Bay DVD. I have watched the film more times than I care to remember. I thought I knew the film inside-out.

On my first viewing of this blu-ray release, however, I found myself thinking "never noticed that before" over and over again. The effect of most DVD to blu-ray comparisons is noticing the accentuated lines, textures and colours. This blu-ray made me notice things like subtle expressions on faces that, knowing Dario, must have been carefully directed but were easily missed on other formats. The most startling example for me is the expression on the face of Madame Blanc's nephew during Suzy's first encounter with witchcraft as she follows the other dancers to the Red Room. I love that scene, but never noticed that during the "blast" of light, a slight grin spreads across his face that then fades as the light fades. Perfectly timed - and incredibly creepy!

Let's have the same again for Profondo Rosso!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "beautiful" horror film, the best Dario Argento film by some way, 23 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Suspiria [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite Dario Argento film. It's visually very interesting, has a fantastic, haunting soundtrack (by Goblin) and builds atmosphere better than any of his other films. It's basically a dark, adult fairytale horror film that concentrates on visuals. The script and the story are not particularly impressive, but they are really not the point of the film.
Far better than your average horror film, this really is worth watching even though the effects at the end are a little dated.
It's the first part of a loosely linked "trilogy" with "Inferno" as the second part and the very disappointing "Mother Of Tears" as the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Argento Goes Blu, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Ordered this disc with some reservations -- read some mixed reviews about the color, contrast, etc -- but I was blown away when I put it in the player. This movie is LOUD! I was scrambling for the volume control repeatedly through the film. The music and sound design are probably two of the reasons this film is so well regarded by horror aficionados. It's a shame that the more quiet dialog passages seem to get lost in the mix. The opening scene is breathtaking and somewhat disorienting -- perfect! There are some moments where the color and the whites seems to blow out but overall this is a tight, clean presentation with bonescraping audio...some so-so extras. Super sharp picture presentation almost makes this film appear to have been made yesterday. I say "almost" because I don't think any contemporary filmmaker can even approach Argento's delirious, violent vision. Pity about the cheesy cover art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUSPIRIA, 3 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Suspiria [1976] 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
THE ULTIMATE in Phantasmagoria. This film is, if not the best, the ultimate slasher film ever produced. Dario Argento has created a masterpiece which not only has held up to time but still sets precedents to this day. That comes from a good script and producing folks! Set in Germany, a young school girl soon finds herself in a very surreal situation which involves a dance school run by witches. Drawn in to strange events, she too, becomes a target of their wrath. Very stylishly filmed and executed, some call this Dario Argento's finest work. Script wise I would disagree as Deep Red is his masterpiece, but filmwise, this film ranks among his best. Very creepy in spots and the pounding soundtrack by GOBLIN is fantastic on the DVD format. I saw this when it first came out and never ever forgot it. This version only reminds me as to how profound this film really is. The effects are superb, the acting high brow, and the grisly murder scenes arty to some degree, but at best, quite bizarre. When was the last time you saw someone get murdered by barbed wire? Only Dario Argento could pull that off and he does so, in spades. A cult classic and a modern day thriller, this film cannot be missed by ANYONE into the horror genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glass 80% full, 20% empty, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. N. A. Harrison (Nottingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Arguably the best current version of Suspiria in the world. Unfortunetly it uses the same source materials as the much maligned Italian and French dvd versions, meaning that some sequences are in entirely the wrong colour scheme (ie, the finale). The sound is certainly fixed, with music cues and sound effects re-instated and dialogue levels corrected from the seriously flawed Lustig supervised Anchor Bay remix. A few scenes have contrast levels that are way too high (Olga's hand manages to make Casper the friendly ghost look like he has a sun tan). And at one point, not just the academy, but the pavement and even Daniel and his dog are all a uniform shade of very bright pink. Hmmm. The commentary by Newman and Jones is excellent, and highly recommended. Unfortunetly I can't say the same for the featurettes which add very little to the package. You've either heard it all before, or didn't particularly want to hear it in the first place. Worth upgrading for hardcore fans but by no means a definitive release...

btw I should mention that this bd is locked to region B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suspiria [1976] 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD]
Suspiria [1976] 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] by Dario Argento (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews