Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sitcom
The original series of The Blackadder is one of my favourite comedies ever made, ok it may be completely different from the other Blackadders and in some respects it maybe isn't as funny as the later series, but as a stand alone sitcom this is brilliant.
The series gives an alternative take on history, with each episode following on from the other. The character of...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by Craig Taylor

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'The Black Adder'
It's a long time since I saw the first series of Blackadder, which I remembered as being somewhat dull compared to subsequent ones. On re-watching, however, it proved to be funnier than I expected. The best episode is probably 'The Queen of Spain's Beard', which deals with Blackadder's attempts to get out of marrying an extremely ugly Spanish princess. Worth mentioning is...
Published on 11 Feb 2010


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed chance, 19 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
They're all there, the six episodes of the first Black Adder series. The theme song is printed, together with a rather uninteresting history of the series, in a glossy booklet.
No effort is made to use any of the extra possibilities of this new medium. With a series like this, one would think some historic details behind the story (I'm talking 1480 rather than 1980)could be documented in a nice interactive format. Or maybe just a black vegetable dress-doll which finally, with all the garments correctly attached turns into Black Adder. Alas, no extras whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Old Ones, 10 April 2006
By 
Louise Stanley (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Fresh from making the seminal "alternative" comedy, The Young Ones, Ben Elton tried his hand at a period sit-com, the first in which was to become one of the all-time greats in the BritCom pantheon, up there with Fawlty Towers, Yes (Prime) Minister and Red Dwarf.
The lavish sets, location shooting and costumed extras were scaled down for further series - when the producers realised they had gone hideously over-budget - and the series does owe more to "The Young Ones" than even to the successive Blackadders. Quirky asides from helmetted guards and besmocked peasants, Baldrick being smarter than the average dung-carrier, and lots of horse-chase sequences make this merry mediaeval romp worth watching, but for me personally it's not the Blackadder we came to know and love. Rowan Atkinson's rubber-faced antics as the Duke of Edinburgh (Selkirk, Roxburgh, and, oh yes, Peebles) make him out to be the put-upon fall-guy rather than the loveable rogue royally screwing royalty and nobility of II, III, and Goes Forth.
However, the series does hang together as a plausible serial, and like many first series introduces the characters well enough to generate plots and in-jokes that were returned to in the subsequent series (though Rik Mayall had yet to perfect the Flasheart character - as witnessed in the final episode, which is a rather disappointing finale to an otherwise good series, which finds him still in his original role as pimply, lisping "youth", though any more would spoil the plot). No "Bob"s to speak of, though, and Brian Blessed's "Chiswick, fresh horses!" quip failed to catch on through the rest of the show's history. Meanwhile the milksop Prince Harry likewise was ditched in favour of more robust characters such as Fry and Laurie were able to bring to the rest of the serieses.
The first series of any long-running comedy show is always a chance for the writers to experiment, practice with their puppets and refine things for the second, third and fourth series. Blackadder had to wise up pretty quickly to survive, but shades of the slapstick of the subsequent series can be seen particularly in the episode with Edmund becoming Archbishop of Canterbury and the episode where international diplomacy requires a swift trip up the aisle with the Spanish Infanta ("one love bird...and one love elephant!") - and her hapless interpreter. The last two episodes have always struck me as too slight and inconsequential, and the first episode setting the scene just too spooky with Richard III's head-juggling antics a little overdone.
But what the heck? It's Blackadder...if you are unfamiliar with the series, watch this one before you try the later ones. And if you are familiar with the series, you don't need me to analyse it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well done,.. only missing 1 thing., 23 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Containing all 6 episodes with a fairly good transfer and good sound quality, the only thing missing from this is the very hard to find pilot episode. Perhaps after all of the 4 series are onto DVD a seperate release on DVD with the Pilot, the Christmas Carol and the Millenium Special could be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL AS BRILLIANT AS WHEN I WATCHED IT 25 YEARS AGO, 31 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
IN MY EYES THIS VERY UNDERATED FIRST SERIES OF BLACKADDER BEATS THE OTHER THREE HANDS DOWN, AND IS STILL AS BRILLIANT AS I FIRST REMEMBER WATCHING IT WAY BACK IN 1983.
ROWAN ATKINSON IS AS EVER BRILLIANT AS THE SNIVELING PRINCE EDMUND , TO SAY HIS BROTHER PRINCE HARRY (ROBERT EAST)IS PREFERED BY HIS BLOOD THIRSTY FATHER RICHARD 1V (BRIAN BLESSED)IS AN UNDER STATEMENT .
THE EPISODES THAT REALY DO IT FOR ME ARE THE ARCHBISHOP AND THE BLACK SEAL, THE LATER IN WHICH EDMUND CASTS ASIDE HIS EVER FAITHFUL FRIENDS
BALDRICK (TONY ROBINSON) AND THE HALF WITTED PERCY (TIM MCINNERNY)TO FIND THE MOST SEVEN MOST EVIL MEN IN THE LAND (HIMSELF INCLUDED)AND SEIZE THE THRONE,CHARACTERS SUCH AS THREE FINGERED PETE, FRIAR BELLOWS,AND JACK LARGE ,A 3 FT HIGH HEAD BUTTING PSYCHO ("LANDLORD 6 LARGE BEERS....AND ANOTHER LARGE BEER")ARE AMONGST THIS BAND OF VILLIANS , WHO ONLY DOUBLE CROSS EDMUND IN FAVOUR OF EDMUNDS CHILDHOOD ENEMY THE THRUSH.
WELL I COULD GO ON AND ON AS IVE WATCHED THE SERIES A THOUSAND TIMES NEVER GROWING BORED WITH IT, SO JUDGE FOR YOURSELVES YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent one liners, but lacks that Blackadder punch, 31 Aug 2000
This is a taster of what one should expect from Blackadder and is a good introduction. It is witty and funny, as Blackadder (Atkinson) lends a hand with the script. It does however lack that Blackadder punch and some lines are as pointless as manufacturing contraceptives for rabbits. Still a classic in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the greatest show of all time!!, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
I can't really say much more about this show than has already been said here. Everything gels together in the best possible way: one-liners, performances, action, parody and so much more. Anyone who doesn't have THE BLACK ADDER in their possession should be burned at the stake!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It get's two for paving the way, 4 Aug 2007
By 
Rob the brilliant (derby, derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
This first series in no way compares to the masterpieces that followed. Blackadder is dull and foolish in this, so there are non of his cunning witty jokes that provide the bulk of the laughs in the later series.
I am annoyed that part of my money went into this three-hour bore-fest when I bought the full Blackadder box-set.
Leave it alone. Get the other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No extras, weakest series, 31 May 2000
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
What a waste. The possibilities of DVD's are endless, yet there are no extras whatsoever here. With people like Rowan Atkinson and Ben Elton, interviews could have been seriously interesting. It's also the weakest of the blackadder series, with a few quality moments, and one 'good' episode. The other (superior) series do not appear to be out yet, but we can hope that BBC wake up. Convienence is the only reason to buy this instead of the VHS series. Roll on 2,3 and 4 ( which, by the way, are seriously, seriously funny and out on VHS. If you haven't got them, BUY THEM NOW! ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD]
3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews