Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sitcom
The original series of The Blackadder is one of my favourite comedies ever made, ok it may be completely different from the other Blackadders and in some respects it maybe isn't as funny as the later series, but as a stand alone sitcom this is brilliant.
The series gives an alternative take on history, with each episode following on from the other. The character of...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by Craig Taylor

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'The Black Adder'
It's a long time since I saw the first series of Blackadder, which I remembered as being somewhat dull compared to subsequent ones. On re-watching, however, it proved to be funnier than I expected. The best episode is probably 'The Queen of Spain's Beard', which deals with Blackadder's attempts to get out of marrying an extremely ugly Spanish princess. Worth mentioning is...
Published on 11 Feb 2010


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 28 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
The first series is somewhat forgotten by many people, but this is simply because of its few repeat showings. I'm not going to drone-on about the wonderful comedy writing and performances because Blackadder's proven its worth by standing the test of time. What I will say is that this series cost the BBC a shed load of money in production costs and more or less cancelled any chance of a second series. Thank god for the BBC and realising a gem in its infancy. We often forget how wonderful the BBC has been in producing fine comedy that travels the globe. I hope for a Blackadder 5 like most people, but I don't forget how spoilt the first four have made me.
Back to the series: King Richard IV's (Brian Blessed) deliberate misuse of his second son's name of Edmund is a shear joy, (EDNA is a particular joy).
Love this series for its raw invention. It's the foundation for the wonderful three that followed. A clever Baldrick and a dim-wit Edmund is a refreshing twist. Percy's character still being a total moron for over 500 years is pure genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD. this is by far my favourite series ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent DVD. this is by far my favourite series of the Blackadder DVD's. The quality of the picture is brilliant. Stillmakes me laugh no matter how many times I watch it. Rowan Attkinson is superb is his role as the snivelling Edmund. Would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
breat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tentative steps towards brilliance, 6 May 2014
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
I think series 2, 3 and 4 of Blackadder are amongst the greatest things to appear on TV. This series? It's ok, but the crucial changes made after this series transformed the show. Was this Ben Elton's influence? In series 1 Blackadder (The Black Adder?) is stupid and falls about a lot thinking he's clever. In the subsequent series he's clever and everyone else is stupid but don't realise it. That idea is far better and far, far funnier. The Blackadder character here is only half-formed, the Baldrick character is completely different from the other series. There's plenty to enjoy. Miriam Margoylse is superb, Brian Blessed is briiliant but Blackadder's brother doesn't really work and poor Peter Cook looks bemused. The virtuosic verbal humour just isn't there. Buy it and enjoy it, then go and watch the other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
classic rowan atkinson at his best no wonder it became a cult tv comedy series will watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars promising start to an excellent series, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
As 'didi-5' review of IMDB states, oh well, the Black Adder (series 1) is an excellent.. well read the rest below:

"Although series 2 ('Elizabethan'), 3 ('Regency'), and 4 ('Great War') were probably better overall, this was the series that introduced Edmund Blackadder to the TV-watching world twenty years ago. In series 1, however, it was Edmund who was spineless and Baldrick who really did have the sense; in subsequent series these roles would be somewhat reversed and the idea then really took off.

I do like series 1 for the following reasons: strong casting aside from Rowan Atkinson, Tony Robinson and Tim McInnerny; this series included Brian Blessed, Robert East as regulars and guests like Peter Cook (brilliant in the very first episode), and Alex Norton (as McAngus). The eagle-eyed will also spot a very young Angus Deayton in the St Leonard's Day episode. While the three following series were sharper and more studio-based (not always a good thing ...) I do think the wild open spaces of The Black Adder helped enormously to get some sense of the Middle Ages into comedy, even if all four series have played havoc with historical fact!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
I love everything about classic British comedy. Rowan is a legend, as is Stephen Fry and Tony Robinson. Excellent DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most interesting series, if not the best., 16 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
The general consensus is that the first series of Blackadder (The Black Adder) isn't as good as the other three. I personally think that's a little unfair, but what's certainly true is that it's a completely different experience.

The dynamics of the characters are radically different, with Rowan Atkinson portraying a weak, hilariously inept individual, and Baldrick appearing far more intelligent than the bumbling idiot he became later on. Watching this many years after I originally saw it, I was struck by just how disconcerting and odd the show was during this period. Perhaps it's the somewhat grainy looking picture quality, or the slightly darker subject matter - e.g. Peter Cook's bloody and decapitated ghost of Richard III running around a castle (parodying Macbeth) - but it's a world away from the light-hearted farce of the later series. It's really an exceptionally grim setting for a comedy: far more so than even the trenches of WW1 are in Blackadder Goes Forth.

Not that it isn't funny or well observed. The writing is, in my opinion, actually far more nuanced and interesting than it is in most of the later episodes. Edmund is also a much more interesting character as he's simultaneously both the fall guy for most of the jokes, and a fairly tragic figure. He's something like I would imagine a real-life Mr Bean to be - amusingly awkward, but also full of the kind of lonely resentment that comes from being mocked by everyone around you.

The programme was clearly still finding its feet at this point and there are some moments that are incredibly jarring and out of place - not unlike watching a Shakespearean comedy, in fact, where you occasionally find the fun being disrupted by something quite heartless or galling to a modern audience. If you've never seen Blackadder before and simply want to know what all of the fuss is about then I'd start with the second series and come back to this. Considered as a fairly niche piece of British comedy, however, it's a far better series than most people give it credit for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say - its Blackadder, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst generally described as the worst of the four series of Blackadder this series provides some very good episodes, especially the one when Blackadder becomes Arch Bishop of Canterbury. With Brian Blessed playing the King (Blackadder's father) and numberous other well known actors this series is still genious and worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 11 Oct 2009
By 
The scipt is brilliant and it is a witty and clever series, just adored it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blackadder - The Historic First Series [1983] [DVD]
4.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews