Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Way to Watch Football History
Ladies and Gentleman. If you have not yet brought yourself a football year review on DVD yet, then you have been missing out on a great way to watch replay football action.
Why?
With DVD technolgy you are able to jump to see the highlights of the match that you want to see. Beats Fast Forward and Rewind on a VHS. What about the freeze frame? Well with DVD you...
Published on 13 Mar. 2003 by J. A. Gaskell

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great content (obviously), but appalling presentation!
I fully expected to get a wonderful account of last year's heroics in all their glory. This DVD did not do justice to the team or us fans!
The presentation is appalling, bad graphics, poor sound recording and terrible editing!
The manufacturers should have put more effort into the product instead of rush releasing it to milk the easy money!
I certainly...
Published on 7 Mar. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Way to Watch Football History, 13 Mar. 2003
By 
J. A. Gaskell "snipofapriceuk" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
Ladies and Gentleman. If you have not yet brought yourself a football year review on DVD yet, then you have been missing out on a great way to watch replay football action.
Why?
With DVD technolgy you are able to jump to see the highlights of the match that you want to see. Beats Fast Forward and Rewind on a VHS. What about the freeze frame? Well with DVD you can see the full picture when you pasuse the action. This DVD is indexed in an easy way with Permership Games, FA Cup Games and UFEA Games listed for you to jump to.
Of course you can watch the whole DVD from Start to finish and it is a great history review of the season for 1998 - 1999.
Manchester United had one of their best seasons ever and you can see this magic again on this DVD. Remember that ace Goal of Ryan Giggs against Arsenal? Well you can replay that moment time and time again. Or how about the last few minutes of extra time in the Final for the UEFA Championship? Again you can re-live it.
Buy and Enjoy, I did !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Piece Of Work, 2 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
The Treble. A brilliant DVD packed with all the goals and all the games from the best season for Manchester United. A great programme to watch and features which allow you too see goals, in that season, from a player of your choice. Get to watch how Sheringham and Solskjear won Man United the European Cup with their last minute goals. Or, get to witness probably one of the greatest goals of all time scored one Manchester United's best ever players, Ryan Giggs. This is a DVD that every Manchester United fan should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally flexible. Wonderfully entertaining., 12 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
Whereas on the video you have to either watch over 2 hours before you get to "that goal", with the DVD version you can watch it over and over again and it only takes seconds to find. The DVD is absolutely brilliant as you can search by tournament to watch your favourite moments from what was defintitely the most amazing season in the Reds illustrious history. This is a must for any United fan witha DVD facility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Condensed run-through of a magnificent season!, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this dvd a few years back for purely nostagic purposes. You get to see all the goals of what was an unbelievable season.

It's easy to forgot all the classic matches that took place - the two 3-3s against a Rivaldo inspired Barcelona in the Champions League, the Juve semi-final and final of course (winning on Sir Matt Busby's birthday no less), beating Arsenal in the FA cup with THAT Giggsy goal (including last minute Schmeichel penalty save!), beating Liverpool with two late goals earlier in the cup, the last day dramatics against spurs in the league, etc. The list can go on and on.

Unfortnately, that's one thing I was disappointed with this dvd. It doesn't highlight the amazing story to some of these games - just shows the goals. For example, the highlights for the Juve Champions league semi-final doesn't show (from what I remember) the suspensions that Roy Keane and Paul Scholes received during the game, meaning of course they would both miss the final. Highlighting this gives a greater understanding of the heroic performances, especially from Keane, that drove them to that final. In addition, lets not forget that Beckham was the most hated person in football during this period, given his sending off against Argentina in the World Cup. This season was probably the defining moment in his career/ life, as he showed what a great player he was on the pitch, culminating in him being voted the 2nd best player in the world in 1999 (behind Rivaldo).

I don't know, maybe I'm being a bit harsh, as the dvd what long enough just showing the goals/ highlights (about 2 hours I think). They probably did not have the space to cram in any extras at the time. In addition, I remember this dvd being released very quickly after the season had ended in '99. But having said that, I would love to see a bluray version of this season. Hopefully, one day an aniversary edition will be released in the not too distant future. Showing all the goals and matches is great, but knowing the stories behind these matches as a fan is what made this season so special. Maybe a team will win the treble again, but one things for sure, no team will EVER be able to recreate such an enjoyable, dramatic and exhillerating season as Man Utd did in '99. Glory, glory, Man Utd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If we don't win it this year it will be soon", 14 Aug. 2007
By 
H38 (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
I was in Barcelona on 26th May 1999 when we made the greatest comeback in the history of the European Cup and at the majority of the games that season. This review really catches the atmosphere of that night and the whole season. If you can resist the temptation to wind to the last two months this is a fantastic review. If you can't it's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full speed ahead!, 20 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. Randall (Sale, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
The classic commentary as UTD reached te European Cup final after beating Juventus.

Sporting history- Manchester United are the only team to win league Cup & European trophies in 1 season.

The DVD delves into UTD's run to glory from the heartache of 1998, the transfers leading to the new season, the Charity Shield hammering v Arsenal through to that glorious May.

The DVD ofers few extras but does it need any NO..... Just sit back and enjoy every goal and every key moment of the greatest year in football.

Throughout various stats show up on the screen to back UTD's greatness!

Enjoy and let's dream it happens again for the mighty Old trafford club!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have even if u dont support United., 1 April 2007
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
Despite not being a ManYOO fan (Support Spurs), I was really proud when they won the Treble.

Firstly, they prevented dreaded North London rivals, Arsenal from being champs (Enemy of your enemy is our enemy)

Secondly, they annihilated Newcastle in the FA Cup with some positive flowing football..plus annihilating Arsenal in the most memorable FA Cup Semi final of the lot with that goal from Ryan Giggs.

Thirdly, as a British guy, so proud to see their name on the Champions League trophy.

This DVD is well structured and is a must have even if u hate United.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars supporters dream, 16 Aug. 2011
By 
G. R. Welch (cornwall uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously for the supporter this DVD lets you relive one of what I consider United's best seasons . All the goals all the thrills even though you now the conclusion . Whenever I need a football fix this film or one of my season reviews does the trick . So my advice buy it sit back and enjoy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Theatre of Dreams, 13 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD really does capture what was probably Man Utd's best ever season, one which was full of exciting football, drama, twists & turns. A real roller coaster season.

The DVD is so well put together that I want to watch it over and overagain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manchester United - The Treble, 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. S. M. Blandford (Torquay, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester United: The Treble - Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD] (DVD)
Manchester United - The Treble .... a great look back at the best football team in British football ever! Brings back memories of that magical night in 1999. "and Solskjaer has won it" ..... magic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manchester United: The Treble -  Official Season Review 1998/99 [DVD]
£32.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews