Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat's Cradle
This is a riot of a film - as one has come to expect from Kusturica. Filled with the joy of life, it is set in a wild Balkan Gypsy milieu of gangsters and their bling, dwarf brides "waiting for Mr Right", gallows humour (quite literally) and a father who refuses to stay dead long enough to make it to his own funeral. With characters and action like that, it is a million...
Published on 19 Nov 2005 by Louise Stanley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars black comedy
This film is one of Kusturica lesser achievement. Although, it is good entertainment, it does not engage the viewer as much as some other Kusturica's masterpieces. It is a comedy with very exaggerated visual effects which sometimes fail to make you lough. It is an unusual film.
Published 14 months ago by Dragan Radosevic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat's Cradle, 19 Nov 2005
By 
Louise Stanley (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a riot of a film - as one has come to expect from Kusturica. Filled with the joy of life, it is set in a wild Balkan Gypsy milieu of gangsters and their bling, dwarf brides "waiting for Mr Right", gallows humour (quite literally) and a father who refuses to stay dead long enough to make it to his own funeral. With characters and action like that, it is a million miles away from the worthiness and dullness of some European cinema, and refuses point-blank to take itself seriously even for one minute. It taught me the secret of writing pure comedy - the behaviour must be so outrageous as to be utterly beyond belief - for life itself has a habit of turning what might be tragic into comic relief.
A Roma man owes a debt to Dadan, a gypsy mafioso surrounded by girls in white body-stockings and eye-popping make-up. In exchange for cancelling the debt, Dadan forces him to marry off his 17-year-old son to Afrodita, his stunted sister. The son has other ideas and another girlfriend, and searches for excuse after excuse not to marry her; while Afrodita equally has plans of her own. Into all this chaos comes the man's father, a snaggle-toothed veteran swindler now retired to a preposterously upholstered bed, who has a habit of stopping the show at critical moments to ensure the reluctant bride and groom are allowed to go their own way.
Mostly in the language of the Roma but occasionally lapsing into Serbo-Croat, the film detaches the word "Balkan" from "balkanisation" and proves that despite the upheavals of the last fifteen years Yugoslavia can become known for something other than blown-apart houses and desperate refugees tugging at western heart-strings. It also paints Roma life in bold, shocking colours; there are no heroes or villains in the story, just human beings as they are and as they should be - full of lust, vigour and chaos. A masterpiece of mayhem from Europe's most gifted director.
Oh yes - three more words - pit bull...terrier! This nutty pop-song provides Dadan with just the right kind of theme tune and was subsequently blasting out of every hi-fi in the Balkans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood can only look on and drool...., 27 July 2000
This review is from: Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
What a marvel this film is. (Marvel! ) Like Underground, regrettably the only other Kusturica film I've seen, it growls with energy and sparkles with wit. It's sheer inventiveness could shame a hotel full of rooms full of American screenwriters. It's gloriously messy and sweetly clean, and as you can read very hard to describe. But you don't read about Kusturica, you just have to watch and see and behold. Enjoy. You will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applause, applause, 9 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
The only time I have been to the cinema and the audience have applauded a film they wish had not ended - not bad for a bunch of reserved Brits! This is truly a fantastic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 23 Feb 2007
By 
D. Mcclean (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Black Cat White Cat is a bizzare yet very funny comedy about the Serbian Gypsy community. Both surreal and farcical the film plots the comic twists and turns of the forced marriage of its teenage protagonist. Not intellectual, but very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riotous, hilarious comedy, 9 Mar 2000
By 
G. A. Gaunt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Wonderful pace, great music , hilarious comedy, fun for all ! I recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unashamedly exuberant..., 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
...is perhaps insufficient to describe the glorious vital life that this film exudes! Kusturica was right to work with an almost completely-amateur cast - the spontaniety and comic timing is brilliant. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh boy!, 2 Mar 2007
What a movie. I can't remember ever seeing a movie that has so much vitality and energy - maybe even too much. Does this tell you something about Serbian mentality? Hope there's time for peace and quiet there too, because in this film, there's none. But this film is so fascinating and wonderfull, that it makes your senses tingle. Quite remarkable example of imagination and solid good humour. Filled with wonderfull characters, that are so brutally funny that you can just shake your head with amazement. Still I can perfectly understand, that some people might find this film a bit too much. It is breathtaking in many levels. Sheer volume of visuals and noice is astounding. I had some difficulties adjusting to this spectacle myself, after having watch a lot of much slower films. This is one of those films that you either love or hate, but this is rewarding experience, if you let yourself go. Not your typical hollywood comedy. Makes "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" look like dry and liveless film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black cat white cat, 8 Oct 2009
By 
S. evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
A little mad at first. But half way in your hooked! Funny, different and just watch it. A true change from the Hollywood films.. Ahhh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even those who don't like foreign films like this one, 15 Nov 2010
I got two calls one day from a sister then her brother asking me if I knew the name of the movie that had been on late night the night before.
It was this gem.
Black Cat White Cat is such a fun, goofy, entertaining film that I have yet to encounter anyone who has seen it but not enjoyed it.
I am so excited to finally find my own copy, and at such a good price I couldn't pass it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and a Kosturica classic, 22 Dec 2009
By 
N. Leal (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want to spend a couple of hours laughging out loud this is a good option. Emir Kusturica's film about the gipsy life is just hilarious and extremely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999]
Black Cat White Cat [VHS] [1999] by Emir Kusturica (VHS Tape - 1999)
24.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews