Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yeh!
Now common parlance, it's impossible for anyone to be called "baby" or pronounce something as "smashing" without sounding like Austin on a bad day. Top marks to Mike Myers for his fine creations and a fantastic movie. The injection of time travel in a film never fails to produce weird and wonderful plots, especially Austin's maladjustment to modern day courting and chat...
Published on 19 April 2006 by Bianca White

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a blu-ray with no Mojo...
The film without saying would get 5 stars. But I am reviewing the total package and the fact there is not one extra on this blu ray is a disgrace.

Why could they not get the extras from the 10th Anniversary editon on there?

Does explain why both sequals were out before the first film. As they are hoping people like myself will buy this one regardless...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Fett 316


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yeh!, 19 April 2006
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Powers - International Man of Mystery [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Now common parlance, it's impossible for anyone to be called "baby" or pronounce something as "smashing" without sounding like Austin on a bad day. Top marks to Mike Myers for his fine creations and a fantastic movie. The injection of time travel in a film never fails to produce weird and wonderful plots, especially Austin's maladjustment to modern day courting and chat up lines. I loved Dr Evil and how the practicalities of being father to a stroppy teenager will rob the dignity of even the most fearsome of megalomaniacs. Bloefeld never had to attend group therapy in the James Bond films and perhaps if he did, he wouldn't have wreaked so much havoc on the world stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so original, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Powers - International Man of Mystery [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
To be direct I like Mike Myers movies & this one is my favorite.I went to the cinema to see this with my wife & friends when it first came out & I remember 2 things which were the constant laughing & embarrassing laughter when a joke was awkward or really quiet crude but you laughed anyway hoping to not look stupid & that is the whole of this movie as it is not PC & makes great humor of a man from the 60's in today's world.
I also especially remember when Elizabeth Hurley (all men say wow) when she came out with the silver outfit on as I think as I got a few other men probably got from their Girl Friends the jab in the ribs for maybe ignoring them whilst looking & thinking why can't I trade her in for Elizabeth Hurley.
Good movie you have to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a blu-ray with no Mojo..., 4 Aug 2010
This review is from: Austin Powers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film without saying would get 5 stars. But I am reviewing the total package and the fact there is not one extra on this blu ray is a disgrace.

Why could they not get the extras from the 10th Anniversary editon on there?

Does explain why both sequals were out before the first film. As they are hoping people like myself will buy this one regardless to complete the trilogy.

Looks like Dr Evil may have had his revenge after all....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't stop laughing, 13 July 2000
By A Customer
When I picked it it up I thought that it would be unfunny and dull but what a shock I got I couldn't stop laughing honestly it is sharp and a must see after seeing this I had to see the secual which was just as funny as the first. It really is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yeah Baby., 2 Feb 2013
By 
David Pearce "super exciting" (wagga NSW australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Powers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What can I say about this movie except It's Austin Powers, Totaly funny, You either love it or hate it, Those who love it, Cool,those who don't, Just Wierd. Great bargain Amazon UK, Thanks Again for looking after your customers. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 30 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Austin Powers [DVD] (DVD)
My son bought this as he had seen the previous films. It was laugh out loud hilarious.He laughed all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 8 April 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers - International Man of Mystery [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is the first of 3 Austin Powers movies, and its the best, although Goldmember pushes it close. Its really a parody of a parody, since its so far removed from the 60's James Bond films, that it could be a spoof of the spoof 'Our Man Flint' with James Coburn. However its better done than that 60's film and crucially its funnier!

The opening section where Austin Powers is thawed out was clearly inspired by Woody Allen's 1973 film 'Sleeper' - a slapstick comedy where he is woken 200 years in the future. The slow returning mental facalties and an inability to talk or walk properly are used in the same way to very funny effect. The casting of this film is great. Has Elizabeth Hurley ever looked better than she does in this film - I don't think so. Michael York and Robert Wagner are both excellent in there roles. However its Mike Myers film, and its his comic performance that makes the film work. If anything Dr Evil is a better comic creation than Austin Powers himself, he just doesn't get as much screentime. Here is where the film does directly spoof the James Bond films, and it works well.

Curiously my favourite moment doesn't have much to do with comedy. Its when Austin Powers is on top of the double decker bus and introduces Burt Bacharach. A great moment to spotlight one of the greatest modern songwriters who had been out of the limelight for while. This film put him back in the public eye again. Well done to Mike Myers.

The extras on the DVD are worth watching. There is a interesting and funny commentary from Mike Myers and director Jay Roach as well as few other bits and pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE GENIUS!!!!, 3 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Austin Powers [DVD] (DVD)
Great-as allways,,,more understandable where he's ''coming from'' when you read his biography online-he has a Scottish Dad-and Brit passport
TRUE BRILLIANCE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot quieter, really., 23 July 2000
By A Customer
Yup. Call me crazy, but I saw this after I saw the sequel and this seemed a lot less silly and noisy than AP2. Don't get me wrong. This is hugely enjoyable but it did not make me laugh out loud like the second one did. Superior in many ways but for the third installment, lets see the childish manicness kept up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Best is Yet to Come, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
Austin Powers is yet another example of Mike Myers genius when it comes to creating comedy. Wayne's World was right for its time - remember, when 'grunge' still ruled? Now our interest for the 60's - yeah baby - has been reawakened, and once again Myers is ready to supply.
There is, however, one slight problem: The world of Austin Powers needs getting used to, and this first film does not contain the best sketches and lines. In both those cases, last years sequel is superior. Things often seem just a little too silly, and there is not nearly enough Dr Evil in this one.
Yet, if you want to enjoy Austin Powers 2 (or whatever it is called) you MUST watch this first, otherwise you will not understand a great number of jokes. This is a film worth watching, but - for a change - the sequel is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austin Powers - International Man of Mystery [DVD] [1997]
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews