Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars134
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2006
Here is the most tasteless, low brow comedy of the 90s. It is also the funniest. There really is no accounting for taste. Mary will make you laugh from your gut more than any other film that has been made. A number of its scenes have already passed into legend. Many are more memorable because of their audacity - the hair gel scene - than their belly laugh quota. Certainly, the funnier scenes involve Matt Dillon resurrecting a poochie and Stiller having to deal with the neighbourhood taking a gander at his frank and beans. The Farrellys know what makes people giggle but they also know how to tell a story and Mary's love story is improbably sweet - mainly due to Diaz. Dillon's performance is also noteworthy in its comic expertise, a skill that Hollywood far too often fails to invest in. If you're not easily offended, this film is a classic, an absolute blast.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
Theres something about mary is a hilarious comedy with a fantastic storyline.
If you watch this, you will not stop laughing, it is so funny.
With a list of fantastic actors, this is a must see movie.
The double disc edition is a fantastic buy, as it has a theatrical version, and the extended version, both with loads of special features!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2004
I dont understand why there haven't beem more reviews for this because it is just so funny. I haven't seen this for ages but i can basically remember the plot. There are a few guys chasing this one girl ( cameron diaz). Ben stiller is involved who makes the whole thing evem more hilariously funny than before. This is one of those films that will have you laughing all the way through and not just snigger snigger, more like having to stop the dvd whilst you finish laughing.
EXCELLENT STUFF
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2001
I loved this film. I have watched it over 20 times. I recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour- the jokes are so subtle yet each one had me laughing for hours. My favourite part is the hairgel- I rewinded it over and over just to see the expression on Ben Stiller's face as she takes it from his ear!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2004
I must've seen this movie a hundred times, and it's still on my top 10 list. It truly is laugh-a-minute stuff for anyone with even a vague sense of humor, while the gags run the gamut from ridiculous to sublime, the plot twists ands turns, and the characters are actually well-developed and distinctive, more so than you'd expect for what is essentially, a romantic comedy. In my opinion too much attention has been paid to various scenes in the movie (I'm talking about clearing the pipes here...) and that shouldn't overshadow the many other hilarious bits. I think it definitely is a movie you need to watch repeatedly to pick up on all the running jokes and more subtle humor.
It also helps that Cameron Diaz is pretty much every man's dream - beautiful, low maintenance and willing to date nerds. Ker-ching!
Stiller is fabulous as usual, gamely getting humiliated movie after movie, but I think this movie was his zenith, the peak of his powers and so-on. he brings a smile to our faces, and at least once, tears to our eyes.
The supporting cast is also used effectively, with Lee Evans and Matt Damon in particular standing out.
The Farrelly brothers are the kings of skating the thin line between good and bad taste, funny and irritating. Here they come down solidly on the side of solid gold entertainment, although it appears many people here beg to differ as to which side of the line that is!
I think I'll go hit that 101st viewing now...
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2001
You've been looking for a comedy file that actually makes you laugh out loud? You've found it. There's something about Mary is a nicely constructed film that, for all its apparent bad taste, keeps delivering where it counts; in the laughs department. If you also want some depth to your comedy then watch two skilfully crafted performances from Stiller and Diaz as the two will-they-wont-they love birds. I hated Dumb and Dumber, but this takes the Farrelly brothers onto a higher level.
Enjoy.
P.S. Also worth it for the director's commentary where you find out just how much of friends and family affair the film was.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2008
There's Something About Mary is one of the funniest films of its kind and you have to admire how well it was made. Directed by the Farrelly Brothers and starring Ben Stiller, Cameron Diaz, Matt Dillon, Chris Elliott, Lee Evans and Brett Favre; There's Something About Mary starts off in 1985 in Rhode Island where Ted (Ben Stiller) and Mary (Cameron Diaz) are teenagers. After 20 minutes or so, it goes to the present day where Ted hires Pat Healy (Matt Dillon) to track down Mary in Miami. Full of funny moments such as 'the hair gel scene' and the 'zipper scene', There's Something About Mary will keep you laughing throughout.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2007
There are three kinds of comedy. Comedies that make you smile (Sixteen Candles), comedies that make you laugh (Airplane), and comedies that cause you to nearly asphyxiate yourself from laughing so hard. Mary falls in the the 3rd category.This is the Farrely Brothers at their funniest. The idea is simple, a guy (Ben Stiller) who had a crush on a woman (Carmen Diaz) he knew since high school and continued to yearn for her privately, finally getting an opportunity to try to reconnect what never got going. This is something almost everyone can identify with.

When you watch it you just know how it's gonna end, and so the focus is not on the plot but the actual happenings in the movie, and there's a lot. First, the movie is funny, with its many gags that just keeps on coming (a Farrelly Bros. tradition). They might not be in everyone's taste, but at least they aren't forced or out of place.

Second, the people seem real enough to be in the situations they brought themselves into (kudos for the great acting, though it could be better). Third, Cameron Diaz is adorable, beautiful, and a marvel to look at unlike in failed ventures such as The Sweetest Thing. Plus, she got the job carrying the whole movie and she accomplished that ever so gracefully. You just can't help but fall in love with her too, along with every guy in the film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
To start I've given the Five Stars more for the film than anything else like Blu Ray quality etc. The fact about TSAM is the shock value of some of the scenes and the delightful edge to the story - Lee Evans' Tucker character and his secret is brilliant. And Matt Dillon plays sleaze so well!

Never been a big Ben Stiller fan, but in this he works. Yet in truth this isn't really a film in which anyone 'stars' as with most of the Farrelly brothers' films they have put together a terrific ensemble cast.

Blu Ray quality? Sound is great because of the soundtrack. Picture quality is good, but because of the type of film there are no 'jaw dropping' moments where you will be gasping at the detail.

Personally if the Blu Ray isn't cheap you won't lose much getting the DVD if it's too cheap too miss.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
You comedy lovers have just stumbled upon something very special. There's Something About Mary is one of the absolute greats of the comedic world, and it must surely rank as one of the funniest films ever made. The casting is perfect, with Stiller being a particular highlight, and the film actually has a very pleasing storyline as well. This film doesn't go for any of that conventional comedy nonesense - no - it takes proper risks, and the rewards are fantastic. A lot of the humour it employs is totally original, and full of the charisma that every film-goer craves. Honestly, why can't ALL comedy flicks be like that?! You see, it's THAT sort of humour which is ACTUALLY FUNNY. You get some comedies out there which are just very bland and washed out because they play it too safe. Well, don't you worry; this is most certainly not one of them. The amount of physical slapstick humour and easygoing, goofy jokes gives the film a really very friendly, inviting, humble feel, so it really can be enjoyed by simply everyone. It's simple but effective.
I do have just one minor gripe though. If the film had been made twenty minutes longer, with more time devoted to thoroughly tying up the storyline and squeezing a mischievous extra few slapstick scenes in, this film, for me, would have then been perfect. But that's just minor stuff.

Verdict: One of the absolute comedic greats of cinematic history, There's Something About Mary really does have something for everyone. It's wildly funny, and so heart-warming that I reckon it could actually cure depression! This is first-class, side-splitting stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)