Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We've got a bleeder...
Here is the most tasteless, low brow comedy of the 90s. It is also the funniest. There really is no accounting for taste. Mary will make you laugh from your gut more than any other film that has been made. A number of its scenes have already passed into legend. Many are more memorable because of their audacity - the hair gel scene - than their belly laugh quota...
Published on 23 Feb 2006 by bigvalbowski

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars as described
this is a very funny film which i have enjoyed over & over again its just as funny in french
Published 6 months ago by r lund


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We've got a bleeder..., 23 Feb 2006
Here is the most tasteless, low brow comedy of the 90s. It is also the funniest. There really is no accounting for taste. Mary will make you laugh from your gut more than any other film that has been made. A number of its scenes have already passed into legend. Many are more memorable because of their audacity - the hair gel scene - than their belly laugh quota. Certainly, the funnier scenes involve Matt Dillon resurrecting a poochie and Stiller having to deal with the neighbourhood taking a gander at his frank and beans. The Farrellys know what makes people giggle but they also know how to tell a story and Mary's love story is improbably sweet - mainly due to Diaz. Dillon's performance is also noteworthy in its comic expertise, a skill that Hollywood far too often fails to invest in. If you're not easily offended, this film is a classic, an absolute blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Comedy, 22 Jun 2004
By 
A. MacColl (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Theres something about mary is a hilarious comedy with a fantastic storyline.
If you watch this, you will not stop laughing, it is so funny.
With a list of fantastic actors, this is a must see movie.
The double disc edition is a fantastic buy, as it has a theatrical version, and the extended version, both with loads of special features!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Feb 2004
I dont understand why there haven't beem more reviews for this because it is just so funny. I haven't seen this for ages but i can basically remember the plot. There are a few guys chasing this one girl ( cameron diaz). Ben stiller is involved who makes the whole thing evem more hilariously funny than before. This is one of those films that will have you laughing all the way through and not just snigger snigger, more like having to stop the dvd whilst you finish laughing.
EXCELLENT STUFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this film- non stop comedy!, 4 Feb 2001
By 
jen_al_dix@hotmail.com (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
I loved this film. I have watched it over 20 times. I recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour- the jokes are so subtle yet each one had me laughing for hours. My favourite part is the hairgel- I rewinded it over and over just to see the expression on Ben Stiller's face as she takes it from his ear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest love story of our time..., 19 Mar 2004
I must've seen this movie a hundred times, and it's still on my top 10 list. It truly is laugh-a-minute stuff for anyone with even a vague sense of humor, while the gags run the gamut from ridiculous to sublime, the plot twists ands turns, and the characters are actually well-developed and distinctive, more so than you'd expect for what is essentially, a romantic comedy. In my opinion too much attention has been paid to various scenes in the movie (I'm talking about clearing the pipes here...) and that shouldn't overshadow the many other hilarious bits. I think it definitely is a movie you need to watch repeatedly to pick up on all the running jokes and more subtle humor.
It also helps that Cameron Diaz is pretty much every man's dream - beautiful, low maintenance and willing to date nerds. Ker-ching!
Stiller is fabulous as usual, gamely getting humiliated movie after movie, but I think this movie was his zenith, the peak of his powers and so-on. he brings a smile to our faces, and at least once, tears to our eyes.
The supporting cast is also used effectively, with Lee Evans and Matt Damon in particular standing out.
The Farrelly brothers are the kings of skating the thin line between good and bad taste, funny and irritating. Here they come down solidly on the side of solid gold entertainment, although it appears many people here beg to differ as to which side of the line that is!
I think I'll go hit that 101st viewing now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is funny, 17 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: There's Something About Mary [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
You've been looking for a comedy file that actually makes you laugh out loud? You've found it. There's something about Mary is a nicely constructed film that, for all its apparent bad taste, keeps delivering where it counts; in the laughs department. If you also want some depth to your comedy then watch two skilfully crafted performances from Stiller and Diaz as the two will-they-wont-they love birds. I hated Dumb and Dumber, but this takes the Farrelly brothers onto a higher level.
Enjoy.
P.S. Also worth it for the director's commentary where you find out just how much of friends and family affair the film was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Something About This Film, 2 Mar 2008
This review is from: There's Something About Mary [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
There's Something About Mary is one of the funniest films of its kind and you have to admire how well it was made. Directed by the Farrelly Brothers and starring Ben Stiller, Cameron Diaz, Matt Dillon, Chris Elliott, Lee Evans and Brett Favre; There's Something About Mary starts off in 1985 in Rhode Island where Ted (Ben Stiller) and Mary (Cameron Diaz) are teenagers. After 20 minutes or so, it goes to the present day where Ted hires Pat Healy (Matt Dillon) to track down Mary in Miami. Full of funny moments such as 'the hair gel scene' and the 'zipper scene', There's Something About Mary will keep you laughing throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Comedy which throws Political Correctness into the Zipper, 28 April 2007
This review is from: There's Something About Mary [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
There are three kinds of comedy. Comedies that make you smile (Sixteen Candles), comedies that make you laugh (Airplane), and comedies that cause you to nearly asphyxiate yourself from laughing so hard. Mary falls in the the 3rd category.This is the Farrely Brothers at their funniest. The idea is simple, a guy (Ben Stiller) who had a crush on a woman (Carmen Diaz) he knew since high school and continued to yearn for her privately, finally getting an opportunity to try to reconnect what never got going. This is something almost everyone can identify with.

When you watch it you just know how it's gonna end, and so the focus is not on the plot but the actual happenings in the movie, and there's a lot. First, the movie is funny, with its many gags that just keeps on coming (a Farrelly Bros. tradition). They might not be in everyone's taste, but at least they aren't forced or out of place.

Second, the people seem real enough to be in the situations they brought themselves into (kudos for the great acting, though it could be better). Third, Cameron Diaz is adorable, beautiful, and a marvel to look at unlike in failed ventures such as The Sweetest Thing. Plus, she got the job carrying the whole movie and she accomplished that ever so gracefully. You just can't help but fall in love with her too, along with every guy in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank & Beans! - Blu Ray Review, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To start I've given the Five Stars more for the film than anything else like Blu Ray quality etc. The fact about TSAM is the shock value of some of the scenes and the delightful edge to the story - Lee Evans' Tucker character and his secret is brilliant. And Matt Dillon plays sleaze so well!

Never been a big Ben Stiller fan, but in this he works. Yet in truth this isn't really a film in which anyone 'stars' as with most of the Farrelly brothers' films they have put together a terrific ensemble cast.

Blu Ray quality? Sound is great because of the soundtrack. Picture quality is good, but because of the type of film there are no 'jaw dropping' moments where you will be gasping at the detail.

Personally if the Blu Ray isn't cheap you won't lose much getting the DVD if it's too cheap too miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious - some of the funniest scenes on film., 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's Something About Mary [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
My wife and I watched this film on sky - had nothing much better to do. We laughed so much that I have purchased it on DVD. It ia a very clever film - there are a few scenes that should be documented as "the funniest scenes ever recorded on film.
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There's Something About Mary [1998] [DVD]
There's Something About Mary [1998] [DVD] by Peter Farrelly (DVD - 1999)
2.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews