Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is every woman!!!
This is a great movie with great actors. Whitney Houston and Denzel Washington teamed together in a beautiful comedy... They both did a great job as actors, but Whitney singing gospel is just phenomenal. A great movie for your soul (because of the music)
Published on 27 Aug. 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack is good
The soundtrack for the Preacher's Wife is good. The story is okay but not as good as the movie it is based on - "The Bishop's Wife" is a better movie. Re-makes don't always do justice to the story. Both movies deal with the issue of materialism and marriage realtionships.
Published on 22 Jun. 2010 by John D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack is good, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
John D (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The soundtrack for the Preacher's Wife is good. The story is okay but not as good as the movie it is based on - "The Bishop's Wife" is a better movie. Re-makes don't always do justice to the story. Both movies deal with the issue of materialism and marriage realtionships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is every woman!!!, 27 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is a great movie with great actors. Whitney Houston and Denzel Washington teamed together in a beautiful comedy... They both did a great job as actors, but Whitney singing gospel is just phenomenal. A great movie for your soul (because of the music)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great christmas movie- poignant and inspiring, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A very beautiful Christmas movie about faith, trust and love. Our believe and Faith in the Almighty and in Life, is something that is constantly tested and sometimes we take it for granted that things will be the same or continue to go well for us. In this Christmas movie we meet a preacher and his family whose fundamental believes are about to be tested,their faith and trust in each other shaken to its very roots. Will they realise what is most important?

Whitney Houston and Denzel Washington endeared our hearts with their performances as the preacher's wife Julia and the angel Dudley respectively. Whitney's singing alone is reason enough to watch this movie. The movie has several inspiring life lessons and conveys a poignant message about Christmas.It is hard to believe that Whitney has departed this life and re-watching this in loving memory of her, I was able to give thanks to the Almighty for her life and the gift of her voice which has brought so much joy and happiness to many of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't work at all !!!!!
There shouldn't be a star !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would rank it above "It's a Wonderful Life" in its message, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
P. Ashe "ashemail" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is a Christmas classic, right up there with the original "Miracle on 34th Street". I would rank it above "It's a Wonderful Life" in its message, its acting and especially its music. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Xmas Film., 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A re-make & re-take of the Bishops Wife which starred Cary Grant & David Niven. A very enjoyable film with good performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Preachers Wife. One of the best Christmas Films, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Love this film! Lots of funny scenes & I just think Denzel is brilliant playing Dudley the Angel! Can watch it over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
It's not my fault that nobody at the party liked it. There's no pleasing some people and that's a fact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
My favourite film at such a great price. Super fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the preachers wife, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Got both including the bishops wife both brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997]
The Preacher's Wife [DVD] [1997] by Penny Marshall (DVD - 2001)
£5.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews