Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A warm glass of shut the hell up...
Happy's grandmother's house is foreclosed because of her failure to pay her taxes, and she's placed in a retirement home.

He must try and find a way to make some money. Whilst at a driving range, he discovers that he can hit a golf ball a hundred feet, so the range pro, convinces him to try being a pro golfer.

Reluctant at first, because he considers...
Published 24 days ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, blu ray a bit disappointing...
The film is my favorite from Adam Sandler. If you even remotely think he is funny, and you haven't watched this, pull out your nine iron and give yourself a whack on the head. My wife and I have watched this over twenty times in the last ten years and we recently purchased the blu-ray as well. We still had a lot of good laughs watching it for the umpteenth time. It is a...
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by Split-Pea Soup


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A warm glass of shut the hell up..., 29 Aug 2014
Happy's grandmother's house is foreclosed because of her failure to pay her taxes, and she's placed in a retirement home.

He must try and find a way to make some money. Whilst at a driving range, he discovers that he can hit a golf ball a hundred feet, so the range pro, convinces him to try being a pro golfer.

Reluctant at first, because he considers himself a hockey player, but when he learns he can make a lot of money, he gives it a try and surprisingly, in addition to his amazing driving ability, his personality has made him popular the crowd.

Shooter McGavin, the tournament leader, thinks that Happy's an embarrassment and is jealous that he is stealing his spotlight, so tries to get him thrown out.....

This is the film that did it for Sandler. The Wedding Singer is a brilliant movie, but this is the one that got Hollywood to notice the man. Here is the film that started it all, and Sandler knows this, that's why his production company is partially named after his career defining movie.

But the main difference with his this, and films up to Big Daddy, and his later works, is that in this film, there are not as many random out of the blue moments like there are in Grown Ups, and Zohan, and this makes the film a little more coherent.

That's not to say I don't like his later movies, I think the man is a funny writer, it's just that this stands the test of time, and can be watched over and over,without becoming too monotonous.

It's consistently funny, Sandler is endearing enough to carry the whole movie, and Macdonald is excellent as the paranoid shooter.

But we still have the random things here. Ben Stiller is wonderful as the orderly, and of course Weathers, who sends himself up something rotten.

Its a fun film, always guaranteed to raise a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Languages/Subtitles Details, 24 Oct 2012
By 
J. LI (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Languages and Subtitles details for Blu-Ray edition of Happy Gilmore, verified from the back cover.

Languages: English, French, Latin American Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Italian, German, Spanish
Subtitles: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Latin American Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE FUNNIEST FILM EVER!!!, 4 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I saw this film at a mates birthday bash and MY GOD it was funny. Adam Sandler was brill and the gags were woven into the story with ease. The story was touching in parts, although sometimes the plot became slightly complicated. Still, an amazing film that would split your sides on any day of the week. Thoroughly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Gilmore - Sandler at his very best!, 2 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a brilliant and side-splittingly good comedy. Adam Sandler pulls out yet another fantastic performance in this film and is helped by the other characters in the film. If your an Adam Sandler fan, this film's a must have for your collection and even if you're not passionate about him, you still have to see this film, for the experience at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film that made me a Sandler fan, 4 Aug 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
One of Adams best films imo, and it is the first one i saw with him as the lead & love the most out of his long line of titles. Here he plays a washed up ice hockey wannabe who cant skate, but does have one helluva shot! Which comes in handy once he finds out his grandmother is going to lose her home to the IRS, he stumbles across a set of his grandfathers golf clubs & on a wager finds out he can hit the ball for 400+ yards. So off he trots to the driving range, charging people to try and out drive him. Fortune smiles upon him, as ex-pro golfer Chubbs (Carl Weathers -Predator) spots him, and offers to take him under his wing...but Happy isn't interested, he wants to play Ice Hockey....that is until he learns he can earn the big bucks!

So with training & taking part in tournaments, Happy tries to raise enough money to buy his Grandmas house back, which his grandfather built with his own two hands don't you know. During which he comes across competiton in the shape of yellow coat wannabe Shooter McGavin (Christopher McDonald -The Faculty) & love interest in Virginia Venit (Julie Bowen -Horrible Bosses). Keep an eye open for a young Ben Stiller who pops up in one of his early comedy roles before his own big break.

In conclusion, Happy Gilmore is a mixture of crazy, funny & very enjoyable comedy. Certainly one for those who appreciate Adam Sandler's style of comedy, hilarious. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly A Hole In One., 10 May 2007
This review is from: Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
In what is Adam Sandlers best work to date, the hopeless hockey failure Happy Gilmore must join the Professional Golfers Tour to help his Grandmother with her finances.

As a golfer myself I can say that the antics pulled in this golf caper are are riot! I have seen the film probably over 50 times but each time I laugh as if it were my first time viewing it.

From Carl Weathers and his wooden hand, to Happy teaming up with Bob Barker, this movie keep you laughing the whole way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, Bob Barker was asking for it, 15 Dec 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It's an idea crazy enough to work. Take Adam Sandler and put him on the PGA tour, then sit back and wait for the hilarity to ensue. Happy Gilmore is one of the funniest films of the 1990s, and it is actually pretty uplifting to all of us who love to cheer for the underdog. There's nothing really intellectual about this film, and that's perfectly OK. We have our underdog, Happy Gilmore; his only dream in life is to be a professional hockey player, but the only thing he brings to the ice is a quick temper. Then we have the lovable grandmother put in a precarious situation-her house, which her own late husband built, has been seized by the government as a result of her not paying taxes for ten years. Happy accidentally discovers his ability to hit a golf ball very, very far, tries to rustle up some money off of bets at the local links, and almost accidentally, with the help of Chubbs, the local pro who saw his own promising golf career come to and end after an unfortunate encounter with an alligator, finds himself on the pro golf tour. Then there is the undeniably arrogant and completely unlikable bad guy, Shooter McGowan, whose place atop golf's elite is threatened by the young upstart Happy. Of course, this kind of story calls for a leading lady, as well, and the businesslike yet increasingly desirable tour media director Virginia Venit (Julie Bowen) fits the bill to a tee (I swear this pun was entirely unintentional).
Of course, the funniest parts of the movie take place on the golf course when the hockey-minded Happy takes out his early frustrations. At his first pro event, he launches into one profanity-laced (mostly bleeped) tirade after another, throwing clubs, having in-your-face discussions with his uncooperative golf balls, and generally being very ungolfer-like. Of course, the fans love it, so the PGA decides not to throw him out. With Virginia's help, he manages to keep his behavior at a PG level, at least until the pro-am tournament. Faced with a relentless heckler and a constantly complaining partner in Bob Barker, he snaps and has a go at Bob. Hey, Bob Barker had it coming. Faced with a month-long suspension, everything is on the line, both his grandmother's house and his own future golf career, at the PGA championship where he and Shooter compete for the gold jacket. If you take away some of the profanity early on, Happy Gilmore is actually a pretty family-oriented little movie, and I for one certainly enjoy seeing the biggest underdog imaginable come out on top over the arrogant and despicable favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't you know whats good for you?, 24 Dec 2003
This review is from: Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Would you jump off a cliff if I told you to? Yes? Good. No? Even better.
I'll bet that at this very moment you can pick this film up for under a tenner,maybe even under seven quid (for you tightwads out there) and I can say without any conviction that it will be the best ten or seven quid you will ever spend on a film. Your friends will think you a champion amongst film collectors, they will wonder how the survived without your comedy film selections for so long.
This film starts with Happy explaining how many dead end jobs he's gone through before discovering that his heart and soul belongs to Ice hockey, trouble is he's useless, all he has is a powerful shot. When he calls on his grandma, he discovers that she hasn't paid her taxes for ten years, and that she will be evicted from the home his grandfather built with his bare hands.
He finds his grandads golf clubs and realises he can hit the long ball. Then starts a career trying to make it in the professional golf circuit. I won't spoil the film but will add from the moment the film starts you will laugh from the very beginning to the end (promise) Please add this to your collection and enjoy a well made laugh a minute comedy.
(P.S Did I mean how cheap it is?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Quick dispatch :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hate that Bob Barker!!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be the highlight of Adam Sandler's career; as well as a laugh out loud hilarious film this is the sum total of my golf knowledge also. I won't go into the storyline as it's fairly generic anyway and merely a platform for some of the best humour to ever come from over the pond. If you've never seen this film then it really is highly recommended, if you have seen it you alrady know how good it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996]
Happy Gilmore [DVD] [1996] by Dennis Dugan (DVD - 1999)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews