Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars van damme whipped with an eel
my girlfriend doesn't like van damme or his films, so i showed her this film. she still doesnt like van damme or his films but dont let that deter you. this film is excellent. its not directed by john woo but there is this incredible fight/chase scene, in this chinese fruit warehouse. the stunt actor for most of the scene clearly isnt van damme but its still worth a...
Published on 11 Sep 2010 by CJ Howdle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars knock off
The film has great quality and great sound. The film itself is played out more like a comedy than most of the JCVD films. The story is nothink special and the thing I found most irritating was the fact that the action scenes are all speed up! I think this was done to make it go more with the comedy aspect of the film.

This is for hardcore fans only and as im a...
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by A. J. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars van damme whipped with an eel, 11 Sep 2010
By 
CJ Howdle "Howds" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
my girlfriend doesn't like van damme or his films, so i showed her this film. she still doesnt like van damme or his films but dont let that deter you. this film is excellent. its not directed by john woo but there is this incredible fight/chase scene, in this chinese fruit warehouse. the stunt actor for most of the scene clearly isnt van damme but its still worth a watch, and if you watch this type of film with a few beers with your mates looking for a laugh, then this is the film for you. ive advocated van dammes acting in other reviews but in this one its deplorable, maybe he was too busy doing coke in between takes or something, but again, it doesnt spoil the film because if youre watching a van damme film for good acting youre watching the wrong film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hong Kong Ding Dong, 23 May 2014
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Comedy action movie from 1998 has Jean Claude Van Damme as a fashion designer, Marcus Ray, combatting terrorism during the handover of Hong Kong to the Chinese. Unknown to Marcus, his partner, Tommy (Rob Schneider) is a CIA operative investigating the black market.

The highly implausible and convoluted plot, involves Chinese gangs, the CIA, corrupt CIA agents, the Russian Mafia and international terrorists plotting to blow up American citizens using nano-bombs developed by the KGB. So you'll needs to keep your wits about you! This all serves to introduce a series of well choreographed action scenes including an impressive rickshaw race near the beginning of the film, the obligatory car chase and, of course, fist fights and shootouts. There is a good level of invention in many of these scenes as one would expect from a Hong Kong action film.

Of the JCVD films that I've seen this is not one of the better ones overall, but it is still quite watchable. Van Damme's acting is at the level of The Order (of those that I have seen), another action comedy from 2001, by which I mean he has performed better. The film hasn't dated too well, but worth a look if your pain threshhold for this type of film is set reasonably high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pumma?..., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Marcus Ray and Tommy Hendricks are sales reps for V SIX Jeans, and they are enjoying life in Hong Kong.

While Tommy busily prepares for the latest fashion show, Marcus is off looking at knock off goods: imitation watches, jewellery, and baby dolls, in which his longtime friend Eddie Wang is involved.

When Marcus and Tommy's supervisor arrives and informs them that much of their last shipment of jeans was filled with knock off imitations, the two can't believe her, but they agree to help in raiding a warehouse to prove their innocence.

After a violent encounter, Marcus eventually learns that Tommy is an undercover CIA agent, and so is Karen.

Meeting with their boss, Johansson, Marcus learns of a conspiracy involving the Russian mafia and their attempts to smuggle tiny, but highly explosive "microbombs" to the black market.

Any film that features Van Damme in a movie about exploding designer jeans, has to be seen to be believed.

Is it plausible? anything is really, but is it any good? Well it's so absurd and silly, it's very very enjoyable and furthermore, a lot of fun.

This was Van Dammes last proper big screen outing that wasn't a sequel, or docu-drama, and it feels like the studio has given up on him, which is a shame.

Harks direction and camera-work is frenetic and downright bizarre and you can see where Neveldine and Taylor get some of their ideas from.

The action is well paced and there is obvious wire work involved, but it's all comic book in tone, and it's tongue in cheek throughout.

With a great supporting cast, this film is unfairly despised, thanks to movie snobs who just dismiss the actors work.

A great piece to watch with Double Team..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme at his best, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Without doubt the best outing Van Damme has ever had. A very good film, lots of comedy elements and plenty of action. set in the time of the hand over of Hong Kong to China, some lovely scenes in the film, plenty of great fights, and a great Rickshaw race. Rob Schneider is great playing off against Van Damme. Very underated film, its a little gem and my favourite starrring Van Damme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars knock off, 30 Aug 2009
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The film has great quality and great sound. The film itself is played out more like a comedy than most of the JCVD films. The story is nothink special and the thing I found most irritating was the fact that the action scenes are all speed up! I think this was done to make it go more with the comedy aspect of the film.

This is for hardcore fans only and as im a hardcore fan I gave this a 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding van damme movie feature, 30 Oct 2008
By 
Amy May Kenney "ami" (ackworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
i bloody love van damme me, and this is why. i bloody love this film i do, i love how hes in japan with that thin little man from alan sandler films. rock with van damme woooo yeh 10 out of 10
xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD BE BETTER, 19 Aug 2006
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I watched this and I liked it but I found that TSUI HARK (ONCE UPON A TIME IN CHINA) played this for laughs more than action and VAN DAMME does what e does best kick lots of ass.

Some of the special effectslooked dodgey and with some more money put in them they could have made them look better.

The story is when a shipment of jeans to the U.S prove counterfeit, MARCUS RAY 'the king of knock offs' (VAN DAMME), finds himself at the centre of a Russan Mafia plot to hold the United States security for ransom.

Thousands of little micro - bombs disguised within other manufactured to Hong Kong to America.

When Ray's company's jeans are found to be the housing for the explosives, he's the one man the C.I.A. can count on to prevent certain disaster.

All in all this is a good dumb film that doesen't require you to use your brain so just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Van damme in trying hong kong style, 22 Sep 2005
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I wont go into story lines but this wasn't bad just casting suffered!This film could have been great.
Tsu hark has made some brilliant films however hong kong directors seem to cast terrible westerners rob schneider for 1 and none intimidating badies.Hong kong films have great action however this film was more on a silly comedy level if was taken seriously I would have given more stars.1 massive shock was the stunt doubles for van damme even in fight scenes couldn't understand this as he is competant at high level kicking.Van damme saves this film with good hk ideas just let down by other casting however you may enjoy take a look:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deserved A Cinema Release, 8 May 2004
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Knock Off is basically a routine Hong Kong actioner given the American makeover. Jean Claude gives a decent comical turn as the lead character, Marcus Ray, second-rate con-man in Hong Kong. Rob Schneider unfortunateley provides support as the (I use the term very loosely) "funny" sidekick.
The story is good as well as an interesting one, highlighting Nanotechnology, an original concept as yet unused in mainstream film. However, the main bad-guy "Skinny" is absolutley laughable and takes the edge off the story and action.
The action scenes are good. A memorable night truck-chase is masterley directed, as well as a good & explosive climax.
All in all it's a return to form for Van Damme (re-teaming with director Tsui Hark, with whom he worked with on Double Team). Lela Rochon & Paul "Goodfellas" Sorvino provide good support, but try and block Rob Schneider's nausiating character from your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KNOCK OFF will plainly knock your brains off, 23 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Knock Off [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
First. The Region 2 version is actually THE version to buy, not region 1 NTSC. Well, I don't know about the UK release, but in Holland, it has a 20 minute MAKING OF, crisp picture quality sound and 5.1 dolby in English and French and a whole lot of subtitles as well. So okay, you'd expect the standard production notes but there aren't any but there are the filmographies of the mainc ast and that of Tsui Hark. And of course the standard trailer. But the film itselt is wild. Watch it with surround and a widescreen TV, great. One minor is...it is only available on widescreen. No Full Screen and Widescreen, just one format. But widescreen still is the better format although some just hate the black bars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knock Off [VHS] [1999]
Knock Off [VHS] [1999] by Hark Tsui (VHS Tape - 2001)
0.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews