Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic modern Western, brought to life in Blu Ray
Don't be turned off by the soft visuals in the opening credits. Once they've rolled through, the picture quality really excels and the New Mexico settings really shine in this classic modern western. Definitely worth the upgrade to blu ray with some scenes offering real dimensionality. Rousing score (Dolby True HD audio) by Bruce Broughton though not much LFE, provides...
Published on 2 Nov 2009 by Lois Lane

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sit back and partially enjoy
I have previously stated that i am a bit of a western fanatic but normally only go for those ones that have some depth and meaning. The last exception i made was for the film "The Quick and the Dead", which i reviewed with a title "Sit back and enjoy". This film directed by Laurence Kasdan i saw on television recently and have reviewed with the title "Sit back and...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by B. D. Compton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic modern Western, brought to life in Blu Ray, 2 Nov 2009
By 
Lois Lane (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Don't be turned off by the soft visuals in the opening credits. Once they've rolled through, the picture quality really excels and the New Mexico settings really shine in this classic modern western. Definitely worth the upgrade to blu ray with some scenes offering real dimensionality. Rousing score (Dolby True HD audio) by Bruce Broughton though not much LFE, provides great energy and a real sense of excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverado Blu-ray, 2 Mar 2010
This is a fabulous movie on Blu-Ray. I live in the US and bought at amazon UK beecause it was priced much lower. AQ and PQ are the best this has ever been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced, amusing and action-packed romp through the Wild West, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: Silverado [DVD] (DVD)
Silverado is a very good western which bucks the trend of the late 1970s and the 1980s and goes back to the basics of what made Westerns popular in the first place. It is action-packed with an interesting, if not entirely original storyline, but it is great fun even if almost every western cliche and stereotype you can think of is included. The cast are great, especially Kevin Kline as a surprising and actually very believable Western hero, and make this film a pleasure to watch. If you are looking for deep and meaningful or a film with a political angle then this is not for you, but if you want a movie that captures the essence of why people fell in love with westerns in the first place then this is just such a film. All in all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like cowboys..........., 20 Oct 2012
By 
A. Korsner "Adrian Korsner" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't say for sure as I've only watched it five times so far but its up there as one of the best rootin' shootin' cowboy films of all times and sadly, a well kept secret.
All the action you could want. Great stars, good acting and beautifully shot.
The quality of picture and sound is all you would expect of a bluray disc.
I just love it and can't recommend it more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rip-roaring western with a lot of sub-plots, 3 Aug 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silverado [DVD] (DVD)
I like this movie a lot, but I find myself fast-forwarding through parts of it. I like the story and the look of the film. I like westerns and I like the way this movie brings back so many themes and yet keeps them fresh. I sure like the actors. Kevin Kline is one of the most likable and accomplished actors around. Scott Glenn, in my view, is one of the most underrated of actors, and one who for whatever reason never was able to break through into major stardom. Linda Hunt brings so much humanity to the movie, and Brian Dennehy brings so much sly, ruthless aggression. I sure liked those long dustbusters he wore. And Kasdan keeps the action going; there are shootouts at regular intervals, as well as bar fights, ambushes, and high-spirited showdowns. Kevin Costner does a great job as Glenn's younger brother, fast with his pistols and always ready for a good time.

But the movie has so many subplots and side stories for every character except, I think, the kid brother. There's Kline's relationship with Dennehy to think about, then Kline's relationship with Hunt. There's Glenn and his other, homesteading brother and family. There's Glover with his father and then Glover with his sister. Then there's Goldblum with Glover's sister. For me, there are just too many stories. I appreciate that Kasdan wanted to talk about racism in the early west. Except as a vehicle for that subject, I can't see that Glover, his father or his sister bring anything else to the main story line. Perhaps that's enough of a reason. Goldblum seems to me to be an extraneous character, especially without any real need for Glover's sister. And what was John Cleese doing? He's such a recognizable personality that he sort of imbalances the scenes when he appears.

For me, Kasdan came up with a big bag of good stuff, but some of the stuff is better than other stuff. If he'd been a bit less ambitious, or at least willing to edit a bit more, I think he'd have had a more powerful and effective movie. It runs a tad over two hours, but it seems longer to me. Still, it's fun to watch.

The DVD looks just fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Western, 9 April 2013
By 
Jan Patrik SahlstrÝm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silverado [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent western with the most impressive cast I have seen to date in a movie. It even has John Cleese as a sheriff! Running over 2 hours there are plots within plots, well intertwined with lots of sublots for almost everyone starring. It is a very ambitious movie, at times almost slipping out of the directors grasp, but manages to save itself, with humourous little details.

Highly recommended, if nothing else for seeing a very young Kevin Kostner playing quite an atypical role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cowboy, 3 Mar 2013
By 
David K. Thomson "dkthomson" (Aylesbury, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverado [DVD] (DVD)
Remains one of my all-time favourite Westerns, a genre of which I'm not overly fond (Spaghetti Westerns, The Alamo - original version, the odd John Wayne classic and Young Guns being about it).
A plethora of stars wade through, shooting, dying and loving whilst John Cleese's character decides discretion is the way to go! A young Kevin Costner revels in being a whipfast gunslinger who doubts not his abilities or charm. Scott Glenn, Kevin Kline and a grizzled Danny Glover complete the 'white hats' whilst Brian Dennehy and a suitably slimy Jeff Goldblum lead the 'black hats' for Ethan McKendrick, played by Ray Baker, a rich and unscrupulous rancher.
A great cast, great directing and a great storyline have lead to a great film. One that has survived the passage of time intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the western cliches rolled into one rollicking shoot-em-up, all action movie. Great scenery, Great music, wonderful horsemanship. Plenty of action, thrills and spills. In the blu-ray version the picture resolution and sound quality were superb. Great entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverado [DVD] (DVD)
A VERY GOOD WESTERN ROMP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars silverado, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Silverado [DVD] (DVD)
Good old fashion style of western as a group of gunslingers join forces to stop a evil sheriff and his henchmen I n the town of Silverado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverado [DVD]
Silverado [DVD] by Lawrence Kasdan (DVD - 1999)
£4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews