Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting and shocking film
Kids follows teenagers Telly and Casper around New York, two guys who have sex with virgins, rob stores and do drugs, unaware that one of Telly's former flings is coming to tell him she is positive with HIV.

In one of the most controversial films of the 90's, Kids depicts lives of teenagers in a shocking and realistic film with hard gritty ideologies of illegal...
Published on 6 Sept. 2008 by Stampy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids ok for kids
Bought this due to the great reviews ,its not bad but its a film for teens not adults ,the kids are very young 11-15 and the voilence was very limited.
Its about this skinny 14-15 year old talking 12-13 year old virgins into bed then dumping them the next day and the spreading of aids.
Published on 5 July 2011 by romperstomper


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting and shocking film, 6 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Kids follows teenagers Telly and Casper around New York, two guys who have sex with virgins, rob stores and do drugs, unaware that one of Telly's former flings is coming to tell him she is positive with HIV.

In one of the most controversial films of the 90's, Kids depicts lives of teenagers in a shocking and realistic film with hard gritty ideologies of illegal activities encoded for dramatic and realistic effect.

The main ideology which will get you thinking is sex. Telly, a teenage stereotype, epitomises what a teenager is believed to be like in current society, with his mind on sex, drugs and booze, and is justified through a very shocking opening scene as he lies in bed with a virgin, seducing her. His talk with best friend Casper after is shockingly horrible and very unforgiving, but will instantly get you immersed into his life.

As epitomized in films such as Kidulthood, teenagers have this view on sex and think its ok without protection, and Kids shows the dramatic consequences through Jennie, who has only had sex once but catches HIV.

This dramatic ideology is essentially realistic to hit out at teenagers, to warn them of the dangers out there, and picks up on such a valid point that the film is watching for this preaching factor alone.

The film takes place during one whole day, following Casper and Telly around New York as they get involved in robbery, drugs and parties.

Despite the heaviness of the issues, the plot moves at a steady pace, with frequent dramatic moments.

Chloe Sevigny (Broken Flowers) gives an excellent performance as Jennie, who you will be in tears with during the course of the film, and Jennie gives a balance of equality by being the strong minded realistic female in the plot, against the fantastical sex loving boys.

The ending is unbelievably open and opens the plot into even more controversy, but will take another watch to get a true grip of some ideologies. Kids lacks in a few places but the strong realistic issues regarding teenage life will have you open mouthed come the shocking ending.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A drug, drink and sex fuelled teen film which hits you hard, 12 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kids [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
From the word go this film makes you think what happened to these kids and do people live like this in reality. That's why Kids is so shocking. Teenagers do all these things every day all over the world and many do get aids. Kids will leave you intreaged by the lifestyle lived in the film but much more aware of AIDs, drugs and alcohol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A not-so-healthy slice o' life, 4 Aug. 2003
By 
Robert van Gameren (Ridderkerk, Zuid-Holland Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
When I was watching "Kids" for the first time, I was thinking: are there really kids living like this? The answer is probably yes. It seems like they don't know any better. At the end of the movie at least one of the characters seems to realise what he was doing with his life, and most likely learned from his experience(s).
The movie was a real eye-opener. Many (parents, for example) will label it a "difficult" movie because of all the violence and the sex scenes... granted, not for all eyes & ears. But the fact is, things like scenes in this movie happen every day, somewhere on the planet. Don't close your eyes for them.
The dynamics of this movie really made me think of what makes personae in a movie tick... It's not just an action movie, or a thriller, or a science fiction movie. You really zoom in on the characters (and their actions, motives, passions) more than anything else.
And as long as you're reading: if you like the music in the movie, I'd suggest you buy the excellent soundtrack, mostly containing tracks by The Folk Implosion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty but Excellent, 26 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
It's about kids sleeping around, getting in fights, and stealing. You won't like it, right? Wrong. This is an awesome film, set from the point of view of a bunch of kids growing up in your average American city. They're bored, so they did what a lot of us did or wanted to do.
The best part about this film is the way it tries not to judge the kids, merely to document how they live. You're not going to get Bruce Willis turning up to catch these young criminals on the job. On the other hand, one of them gets the ultimate come-uppance right at the end, and you can't tell me you don't think he deserved it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 31 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I have a thing for films that cast no judgement. This is one such film, that follows some pretty horrible kids around for 24 hours, but there is no moral conclusion, and it exposes the attitudes of teenagers 'today'. I recognised quite a few of my peers in that film, particularly among the boys; selfish, arrogant, narrow minded and shallow. The girls' depiction was very refreshing for once, particularly at the beginning; I thought the conversations they were having were quite similar to the kind I have with my friends - though we are considerably less crude. :/
I suppose the reason I love this film is because not only is it gritty, shocking and real, but it manages to be predictable and painful at the same time. Inevitability, is the better word, for what happens at the end. I think the box's description of 'a day when everything and nothing will change' is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shocking and moving expierience, 2 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
kids is one of the grittiest,most shocking and at times disturbing films i have ever seen. It realistically depicts
youth culture in the gritty underbelly of New york. Bieng a
teenager myself i can freely say that this film is spot on and that these sorts of things are happenig all over the world. Although the plot is at times a little over dramatic this is a gritty, hardhitting film that grips you hard and doesn't let go for a single minuite.
It isn't flawless it remains to be one of the greatest film making achievements of the ninties. Although it won't appeal to everyone you must watch this film at least once in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie was very powerful., 16 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kids [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
This movie is possibly the greatest film that I have ever seen.It portrays the lives of adolescents at its worst yet does it in such a way that it makes you realize just whats going on in the world today.It brings to attention the dangers of sex,drugs and alchohol.Being a teenager myself the movie does a very good job of depicting life as a teen in an inner city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids is an absolute masterpiece., 10 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kids [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
I'm not the kind of person who will give 5 stars just for some decent entertainment - the subject of my review will have had to have a major effect on me. This was the case in 'Kids', to say the least. Where to start? It is an utterly beautiful, subtle piece of art and is one of the best films I've seen in years. I know that many of you may disagree, but Harmony Korine's hides the true nature of 'Kids' behind everything that strikes the viewer initially - graphic scenes, bad language, even what some may call depravity. I just urge you not to judge this film based on your preconceptions, if you do not you will find 'Kids' incredibly rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wkd film. a must buy., 6 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
an impulse buy, i found myself at the end of 90 minutes wondering why i had not rushed out in 1995 to buy this when it first came out- what a film.
kids is a mastrerpiece of production and depiction of adolescent behaviour and mindset. such hard hitting and controvesial issues with STD's at the fore, this film was ahead of its time back in '95, and is still some way advanced- dealing with adult issues in teens and pre-teens as it does so well.
a highly recomended film, foolish to pass up the oportunity to watch it. your life outlook wil be very differnet and more mature after. nonetheless, if sex, drugs, bad language, and violence are not your scene, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shocking and moving, 2 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Kids [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This film is one of the grittiest ,most shocking,and at times deeply disturbing films i have ever seen.The setting is spot on and it successfully manages to capture the atmosphere of inner city youth culture today.Although the plot is a bit thin and at times slightly over dramatic it remains to be one of the greatest acheivements in film making of all time.It is a gritty,hard-hitting ,film which grips you hard and won't let go for a single minuite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kids [VHS] [1996]
Kids [VHS] [1996] by Larry Clark (VHS Tape - 1999)
£10.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews