Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psycho
My 16-year-old granddaughter, who is something of a film fan, had never watched any Alfred Hitchcock films and I suggested that she might like to watch Psycho when she was staying with us. I had not seen it myself for many years and expected to find the impact not as great as I had remembered. However, it is still a shocker but, as my granddaughter said, in a much more...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by jaddat

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Special Edition
Enough has been written on the merits of this film. This presentation disappoints I'm afraid. Aspect ratio of 1.85??? As far as I'm aware this ratio didn't even exist in 1960. It was more likely 1.66 so you're watching a heavily cropped grainy and worn negative/print throughout. This isn't even full length. I own an old Standard 8mm print of the shower sequence and there...
Published on 10 July 2007 by Film Media


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psycho - Must See!, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Psycho [DVD] (DVD)
Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho" is undoubtedly the foundation of most if not all our modern day horror suspense films, and although it has influenced decades of horror's killers slashing pretty young objects, not that many characters in Hitchcock's ingenious film actually die. Hitchcock's perfection in direction was in his ability to frighten without having gore present but all who see this movie will agree that Hitchcock's 1960 movie redefined horror movies. Psycho's shot in black and white but don't let that put you off as Hitchcock could not of emphasized the darkness and atmosphere with the films central character Norman Bates if it was shot in color. Psycho is iconic due to the films nightmarish disturbing themes, quotable dialogue, perfect screenplay , the films shocking twist and Hitchcock's brilliant directing.

Psycho centers its themes on human vulnerability, betrayal, levels of corruption and madness making all of the above present in realistic ways throughout the movie. Psycho surprises the audience by breaking major film rules by killing off its central character mid movie. Hitchcock makes use of Macguffins throughout the movie such as $40,000 cash that Marion (Central Character)steals so that the plot and characterization of the movie can be propelled.
The soundtrack of the movie is perfect due to the only composition being that of strings. It really creates the image of helplessness and gives strong impressions of screeching.
Overall Psycho is the masterpiece of horrors in the film industry and Hitchcock's direction is flawless.

5/5 Definitely a must see for movie buffs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review just for vance, 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Psycho (1960) [DVD] (DVD)
Hitchcock is more than just a director. He puts so much thought and effort into every tiny little detail from chocolate sauce for blood to the painting Norman lifts to "peep" at Marion. All this makes a film which will never die. Although it is over 50years old it still grips audiences today by making us part of the film. He even makes us relate to Norman, does this mean the title 'Psycho' is refering to us?
This has got to be one of many classics directed by Mr Hitchcock himself and defo not one to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top drawer all around, 16 Nov 2010
By 
J. Bucar (Old Orchard Beach, ME) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The UK all-region Blu-ray edition of Psycho is about as good as it gets. Picture quality is excellent: clean, sharp, very good dynamic contrast; audio is also excellent, with wonderful clarity of dialogue, and the Hermann score comes through with great drama. The extras are generous and fascinating, particularly the numerous interviews with participants in the original making (Janet Leigh, Hitchcock's daughter, on-set technicians) and film critics. A winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psycho, 1 Nov 2010
By 
John Spero (Red Bank, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great dvd celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Alfred Hitchcock's classic!
I'm not a pro but the print looks beautiful. I live in the US and thanks to Amazon I was able to purchase this before the American release!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Psycho from Alfie !, 27 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sterling performance from Anthony Perkins as Norman Bates in this superb remastered Hitchcock masterpiece ! Ably supported by Janet Leigh ( who was married to Tony Curtis at the time ) who probably delivered the best performance of her career as the confused victim Marion Crane . John Gavin was a little wooden ( but I never saw a movie in which he wasn't ) and was hopelessly outclassed in the acting stakes by investigator Martin Balsam . What a wonderful character actor he was ( pretty much in everything he did ). Simon Oakland also played a good solid role as the explanative shrink.
How sad that ( apart from Gavin who must be in his eighties now ) all of these actors have long since passed on.
This BD version is simply superb with minimal grain and pristine images throughout which shows just how good BD can be in the right hands.

Simply superb throughout this BD deserves its rightful place as one of the top ten movies ever made !

bj.carmel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psycho 50th Anniversary Blu Ray, 24 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film! Picture and sound is remarkable considering age of film. A must have for any collection.Psycho - 50th Anniversary Special Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1960]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent buy, 5 Oct 2010
great picture, great plot, great director!!!
what else do you need to now to buy this!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and taut film noir, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Psycho is a classic. From the moment you hear the arresting music in the opening credits you are drawn into a tightly-scripted and taut study of tension throughout.

It's about Marion Crane - a secretary on the run and whose journey to find happiness leads her to the Bates Motel. However, Norman Bates' motel and the old dark house overlooking it is not the best place to spend a quiet evening. In the end it's down to Marion's sister and her lover to track down where she is and what has happened to her.

It is creepy and it has some tremendously dramatic and effective sequences of horror. With intriguing acting, ironic lines and cinematography with zooms and close-ups at the symbolic key places, Psycho is an example of stylised film-making of an extremely high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it still scary?, 2 Mar 2010
By 
A. C. Delso - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It gave me nightmares, when I was younger, but now it's an interesting piece, which says a lot about its era. Still genuinely gripping, but looks tame when racked up against modern splatterfests or even some mainstream thrillers.

Well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy then very SCARY!, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Anthony Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is such an old film...and as it starts,you seem to think 'another old movie'..this is captivating..Norman Bates Wow!...simply cannot give the ending away..this is true Horror from 1962..Buy this film for the bargain..and be totally shocked!..this is and shall be the NO.2..most disturbing films of all time ...'The Exorcist' being the NO.1...T.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho (1960) [DVD]
Psycho (1960) [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2003)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews