Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars103
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2000
This touching movie may not grab you by reading about its central issues: Stepmom- the title may not make you curious either, but the film, itself deserves to be seen.
Stepmom features Susan Sarandon as the estranged ex -wife of Ed Harris. They have two children. The family has gone through some changes. Julia Roberts plays the 'new' girlfriend- the stepmom of the title. The first half of the film deals with how a birth mother might react when a new woman takes part responsibilty for the kids. Arguments flair up and we get to see the situation from both points of view.
Soon though the bickering turns to heartache when Jackie (Sarandon) is diagnosed with cancer. Roberts has to become the stepmom for 'real' now. Sarandon has to let go and Roberts has to put work commitments behind her and become a mum.
Susan Sarandon gives a powerhouse of a performance as Jackie- the mum who does not want to let go until illness leaves her with no choice. She is ably matched by Julia Roberts who has really blossomed as an actress in her last few films. There is much more to this actress than tituian curls and teeth. She remains sympathetic even though the audience feels for Jackie, too. This is down to Roberts excellent performance.
This film has been unfairly ignored and is worth buying. It's an emotional film that raises some very important issues and the director and actors handle them with panache and sensitivity.
If you fancy a night in to watch a good old faioned weepie- Stepmom will surprise you as it's a weepie with a message.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I loved this film as a child and I still love it now. Deals with many different tragedies that everyone can relate too somewhat. Julia Roberts & Susan Sarandon are both brilliant also.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I first watched this film years ago when I was quite young and didnt really apprecite it, now I have bought the DVD and being older I can now totally understand this film and the meanings behind it.

This film made me weep, quite a lot! its a wonderful heart warming story, which sees people brought together as a family.

Brilliant cast and wonderful acting from them all, I am a huge fan of Julia Roberts and think her performance was outstanding!

Can totally recommend this film, get cosy with a blanket (and some tissues) and enjoy this wonderful film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Julia is one of my fave actresses and this film was particularly interesting to me as I have been in a similar situation to the children myself. I empathised with the mother tremendously particularly when she is diagnosed with cancer. Fantastic acting from Julia, Susan and Ed. Julia's character is very likeable and she's very young, therefore the children can identify with her. Fantastic movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
If you are looking for a film that will pull on your heartstrings, then this is the one. It is a beautiful story ripe with emotion. It really is a superb film and I defy anyone not to buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This is a sweet, funny and ultimately heartbreaking film. Perfect to watch with your sister on the run up to Christmas.

Seller was also excellent and condition great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
First saw this first a few years back, and just had to watch it again. It is one of those movies not easily forgotten.

Sad yet tender, a tale of unexpected respect and friendship between the ex and current wife.
Julia Roberts is excellent but both wives shine putting the husband in the shade.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2004
Stepmom- A Review
This film is one of the most amazing films I have ever seen. It is a tale of self-discovery and courage between to completely different women as they travel through their lives apart and together. It stars award-winning actors and pushes them to the best of their abilities in numerous ways.
Julia Roberts plays Isabel, the new, younger woman. Susan Sarandon plays Jackie, the ex-wife. Isabel has not got a clue how to look after kids. Jackie is the perfect mom. The kids, Anna and Ben, hate Isabel because their mum hates her. For example, Jackie won't allow Isabel to take Anna to a concert on a school night but then takes her herself. Their dad, Luke, just wants them to get along. Anna and Isabel finally connect when Isabel gives her advice for an especially unpleasant boy. When Jackie discovers she is fatally ill, Isabel is the first to find out accidentally. The two have a heart-rending heart-to-heart, which is impossible to keep a dry eye. They admit everything, which has been hurting them from each other and their greatest fears about their continued lives. Isabel says that she fears that when she is helping Anna on her wedding day, all she will be thinking is "I wish mom was here". Jackie says her worst fear is that she won't.
This shows the talent, which these two actors have inside as they sit in that dingy bar, on opposite sides of a table, pouring out their souls. The script is marvellous but the acting and the direction is outstanding but a bad actor could mess all of that up. The example that I gave earlier just sums up this wondrous film. Ed Harris (Luke) also portrays the father of the kids brilliantly, as he reasons with them and tries to make them see sense. This film will make you laugh. It will make you cry. It will make you sympathise. It will make you dislike. But most of all, it will make you want to be around people forever. This film shows how wrong you can be about people and how easy it is to follow examples and get someone who is trying to do their best for you so completely wrong. this is undoubtatbly The Best sad film EVER
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2006
This film is AWESOME.
The storyline builds gradually to an eventual climax as the two mothers learn that their children do not have to choose between them; fate has decided for them.
Their stepmother (Julia Roberts) "can have their future", their natural mother (Susan Sarandon) "can have their past.
This is a story of rivals learning to live alongside each other; against the odds.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
I thought this movie would be funny. It wasn't. It tugged at every heart string and then found some that I didn't even know could be tugged. An amazing movie, with phenomenal acting from all involved. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)