Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated Disney classic - one for the collector.
Disney was just beginning to get into the swing of live-action films with Treasure Island in 1950. He was also starting to use a mix of British and American actors.
He had already hired Bobby Driscoll for Song in the South in 1946, and he now gave the 13-year-old the role of Jim Hawkins (Driscoll also supplied the voice of Peter Pan in 1955). Robert Newton is...
Published on 19 May 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, inconsistent and misleading version!
One day a mysterious person comes to stay at an inn ran by a boy and his mother. It is obvious that this stranger led a rough sea going life. What was not obvious is that events with his previous associates would eventually lead to adventure and "Treasure Island."

The only thing in this movie that relates to the book or the other movie versions is the...
Published on 30 Sep 2003 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated Disney classic - one for the collector., 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Disney was just beginning to get into the swing of live-action films with Treasure Island in 1950. He was also starting to use a mix of British and American actors.
He had already hired Bobby Driscoll for Song in the South in 1946, and he now gave the 13-year-old the role of Jim Hawkins (Driscoll also supplied the voice of Peter Pan in 1955). Robert Newton is highly memorable as a totally over-the-top Long John Silver.
The film is notable for several things - an over-reliance on studio sets in typical 40s/50s style, and some bizarre characters around, not least the famous Ben Gunn. Watch out for Patrick Troughton (the second Dr Who) as one of the pirates.
It's quite strong for little children, and it is or more interest to the Disney collector, who will be disappointed that it is in normal 4:3 ratio, although the print is sharp and clean. There are some extra minutes of footage at the beginning, as this is the original uncut theatrical version.
The final few minutes of the film are wonderfully orchestrated, with stirring music, and a tug on the heart-strings as Jim Hawkins comes to terms with the fact that his hero Long John is doing the dirty on them yet again!
There is some quality acting going in; the film has a highly theatrical flavour, big on costume on sets, and highly colourful all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Island / Classic Adventure, 22 Nov 2003
By 
Rankin Cattan "rankin_cattan" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the treasure island that everyone remembers,and is the vehicle for the great Robert Newton as Long John Silver.There have been several versions but this is undoubtly the best ,true to the story and the first shot in technicolor,it imparts a real sense of adventure to the viewer ,and more particularly to anyone who has read the story by Robert Louis Stevenson It,s a Classic must and suitable for all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long John Newton, 27 July 2006
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
There'll never be another. Robert Newton reigns supreme as Long John Silver in this terrific adaptation of Stevenson's great story. The tale is so good, and so well told, that when reading it you can almost hear the dialogue in your mind's ear. But this film version does the original proud. All the characterisations are superbly played by the actors, the settings are great, and the action is well-paced, dramatic and touching. Crazy old Ben Gunn has never been improved upon, either. Eat your hearts out, Pirates of the Caribbean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take this black spot to Blind Pew............, 10 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Growing up in 50s England, it seemed like every comedian worth his salt had an impression of Robert Newton's Long John Silver in his repertoire. Most of us kids could 'Aha, Jim Lad!' with the best of them! It dawned on me a few years back that although I had always assumed I had both read R.L.Stevenson's classic Treasure Island and watched the film of the same name, in fact I had done neither! To remedy this I read the book for the first time a couple of years ago, and what a cracking read it was - gripping plot, derring do, buried treasure - who needs X boxes and iPods?

More recently I saw this DVD offered at an attractive price so decided to give it a go, if only to see the original inspiration for all those Long John imitations. Although the movie is a bit 'Disneyfied' (it is a Disney movie, after all!) and Jim Hawkins' yankee accent grates a bit (nothing wrong with yankee accents, by the way -but not from the mouth of Jim Hawkins....) but overall it was great fun and would make excellent family viewing. Robert Newton was a revelation and Long John remains one of the most memorable characters in the history of film-making.

Ps TV sitcom Fans may notice a remarkable resemblance between Long John Silver and a certain Rab C Nesbitt..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Oct 2010
By 
G. Wilson "G Wilson" (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
An excellent film with some first class actors Robert Newton is and will always be Long John Silver and John Laurie sends an unerving chill through me even now.
An excellent film for a rainy afternoon for all the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Long John Silver, 11 Oct 2009
By 
R. W. Everitt "Rob E" (Nuneaton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD to show a class of children who had just finished the book. There were minor differences in the storyline but in the main it was a faithful translation of the story. The colour was a bit vivid at times, and the painted scenery more evident than in modern films, but these are only minor criticisms, and more than made up for by the performance of Robert Newton as the definitive Long John Silver, a role he continued in a T.V series in the mid 1950s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Island, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Excellent DVD my grandson loves it watches on every visit he,s 6yrs old.excellent delivery and FREE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Island, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Island [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I like the story of Treasure Island and have the Walt Disney film which stars Robert Newton. When I learned that there was an earlier version my curiosity caused me to make this purchase, in which, stars Wallace Beery. It is delightful viewing. The story is accurate and the acting superb. It is filmed in black and white which does not make it any the less enjoyable. Anyone who enjoys Treasure Island will find this edition a 'Treasure ' in itself. I thoroughly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and captivating, 22 Nov 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
When Captain Billy Bones (played by Finlay Currie) give young Jim Hawkins (Bobby Driscoll) a pirate's treasure map, he sets him off on the trail of adventure. When Long John Silver (Robert Newton) gets wind of what's going down, he positions himself to be ship's cook, and fills the boat with his pirate friends. Befriending Jim, Silver plots to get the gold for himself. But someone will prove quite capable of foiling Silver's plans - young Jim Himself! [Color, released in 1950, with a running time of 1:36.]
This is a great movie, one that is surprisingly good in spite of its age. Indeed, for me this will always be the very touchstone of Treasure Island movies. Robert Newton does an excellent job of portraying Long John Silver, and to this day, whenever I imagine a pirate talking, I hear his voice and accent. Now, don't take this movie too lightly. Even though it was created by Disney Studios, it has a lot of gunplay, blood, men hit with swords, and just the sort of violence you would associate with pirates.
But, don't get me wrong, this is not a modern blood-and-gore movie; it's an interesting and captivating movie that you will want to watch with your whole family. My family loves this movie just as much as I do, and highly recommends it to your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrrgh Jim lad, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. Felstead "Bob Felstead" (South Dakota, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Classic Disney video. Disney dissappoint!

Great value for money and arrived within a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treasure Island [DVD] [1950]
Treasure Island [DVD] [1950] by Byron Haskin (DVD - 2001)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews