Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars275
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2002
This films one of those gems which seems to play second fiddle in a companies back catalogue. OK so it isn't as reveared as Toy Story 1 or 2 and it did come out just after DreamWorks Antz but it is Pixar at its best. Although with technology moving very fast in digital film-making it may lack some of the fine detail of Sullys hair in Monsters Inc. But take another look.
The SE version has been available in the US for over a year and it has finally arrived in the UK. It is worth a good look, the packaging does let the promotion down somewhat as there is no mention of the informative commentary by the production team. The proof in this well formed pudding is the cast of Bugs and the spot on voice selections. From Kevin Spaceys fantastic bad guy Hopper to Dennis Leary as Francis the male ladybird. Each charater has its own identity which make for a good story.
But talking of Good Stories this is the classic Seven Samuri in Miniature. It you like classic stories then this is what you need. OK its been done before in Battle Beyond the Stars and The Three Amigos but it is a classic story.
The Animation is superb with the detail shining through - the rain sequence, Flick's Dandylion seed flight and the thriving Bug City complete with Gershwinesque music score.
This has the sentiment of Toy Story but with the Sentimentality and fortunately without any songs - HURRAH! Randy Newman please just songs at the end please no more in the middle.
A Hidden Gem in the Pixar Back Catalogue. Now please release the early Pixar Shorts! They are fantastic!
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 August 2007
Some people consider "Bug's Life" as not being on the same level of quality as other Pixar productions, but I really can not agree with them. My daughter clearly wouldn't agree either.

This is a very funny movie, with a lot of interesting innovations (we will never look at bugs in the same way, me and my family) and a kind of surprising kindness - even the bad guys are shown with some understanding (having chosen the life of parasite racketeers, they are now trapped by it - as much as their ant victims). The principal hero is possibly one of the most likable characters I ever saw. A little warning - there is one scene at the end, of the final demise of the leader of grasshoppers, that can scare younger children (under 6) - otherwise this movie is just PERFECT! The missed out-takes chapter at the end of the movie is probably the best I ever saw in a kids movie.

This film was inspired of course by the classical Aesop's fable "The Ant and the Grasshopper", but also by "Seven Samurai" - there is even a scene very directly copied from this great masterpiece - but of course in both cases with major twists. But I will say nothing else here, to avoid spoilers.

A GREAT film, really perfect for a rainy Sunday afternoon.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2000
Another classic from Disney and Pixar based on a colony of Ants. The colony has to gather food for the larger bugs that terrorize the Ants. Flick (main character) goes on a desperate search to find bigger bugs to stop his friends from being overrun by thugs. Pretty straight forward upto the point where a group of helpers has been located, turns out that these helpers are really just a Circus act. Things start to go from bad to worse, can the new friends save the day or is flick let down again...this movie is great to watch again and again, there are many themes which appeal to adults too. But, ultimately children will really love this movie, great characters and great visual eye candy. Makes your television come alive...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
As always with Disney-Pixar animations, is a great film that is not just for kids but for adults too. The story is set around a colony of ants and their struggle against the evil Grasshoppers who come back every year and steal their food. There is some wonderfull computer animation and the voices are great too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
Firstly the picture quality, why most will be buying this Blu(e) ray version, is fantastic. The detail and crispness of the image is an example of how good the format should be. Sound quality too is an immersive experience.

I'm sure most already know the film so will merely add, for those that haven't, it holds all the values of classic Disney.
Friendship, loyalty and teamwork all feature highly. The underdog seeing the strength within and what happens when you group together to stand up to your bullies and evil.
It has bucket loads of comedy and 'aww' moments, but moves along at a decent pace without lingering too long on any given point.

If it's important, there are a couple of 'frights' but are surprise rather than graphic scene so it is suitable for all, and nothing so heavy that little minds will be upset.

The 'out-takes' are a brilliant touch and the package knits together perfectly.

'Ladies and gentlebugs! Larvae of all stages! Rub your legs together for the world's greatest bug circus!'
55 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
It's good but somehow hasn't caught on with my children (aged 3 and 5) as much as other similar films like a bees life finding nemo toy story shrek.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Bought this for my grandchildren to watch, excellent, keeps them quiet for hours, even have watched it myself.
Good film
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Despite having just about every other CGI cartoon film (Shrek, Toy Story, Ice Age, etc, etc), I'd never bothered with this one - from the clips I'd seen, it always seemed second best compared to the others, and I just didn't feel inclined to bother with it. But my daughter saw the first half of the film at school and nagged me to get it (so of course I did!), and I was quite surprised at how good and clever it is. I'm only giving it 4 stars, though, because it didn't quite grab me the way that most of the others did.

And one odd thing to report - both my kids seem to equally like all the other CGI cartoons, but, although my eldest (8) liked this one a lot, her younger brother (4) quickly got bored with it and gave up. I've never seen him get bored with a film before, but I've no idea what it was about this one that had that effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
"A Bug's Life" is like a favorite candy bar -- it's chock-full of great little bits that add up to something really tasty.

The story couldn't have been better; it's clever, has "heart" (emotion), and every character has a nice "arc" (a growth or change). By comparison, the only characters in "Toy Story" to have an "arc" are Buzz, who learns to love being a toy, and Woody, who overcomes his resentment of Buzz. There are tons of laughs and cute moments in "A Bug's Life". All of the actors turn in great voice work, and the animation, both the motion and detail, is superb.

Definitely worth a watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
I was very disappointed that the DVD, although completely new and in its original packaging, was a plain disk. I don't understand why there was absolutely no artwork on the disk itself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.