Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical clichés, contradicted by good acting � Worth buying
Michelle Pfeiffer leads the cast in this drama set in a North California school. The storyline is easy to read, and the ending is clear to see half way through the film. Ex-Marine Louanne Johnson (Pfeiffer) is left in a high school classroom armed only with her integrity and courage. With strong acting from Pfeiffer and the students, in particular - Emilio (Wade...
Published on 26 Oct 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As convincing as - well - something unconvincing
I watched this movie oh-so-long-ago when it first came out, and now that I watched it again on DVD it still strikes me as it did then: Michelle Pfeiffer is far more convincing as a hawk than she ever was as a teacher, especially a teacher for rough kids in a rough school. The ending reminds me of Dead Poets Society - another pointless teenage death that the screenwriters...
Published 7 months ago by Isabel Noronha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
When your parents say "the old ones are the best", I think they are referring to this film. Quality service from Amazon as usual. Defo recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% good, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This movie is so good I watched this film so much times that's how good this movie is thanks amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A brilliant film, inspirational to students I teach who thoroughly enjoyed it and wanted to buy the dvd themselves. The music was also perfect for the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars They gave me candy...., 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Louanne Johnson is an ex-marine, hired as a teacher in a high-school in a poor area of the city.

She has recently separated from her husband. Her friend, also teacher in the school, got the temporary job for her.

After a terrible reception from the students, she tries unconventional methods of teaching (using karate, Bob Dylan lyrics etc) to gain the trust of the students.

And guess what? it works!! In a non-patronising way to the audience..

It's been sixteen years since this film was released here in England, and it was a movie I always resisted in seeing. Mainly because it got so much coverage thanks to that awful song, but it never really appealed to me.

Seeing it for the first time last week, I now know why. It's a pitiful movie, cashing in on success of Boyz n the Hood, and high school movies, but with the Bruckheimer and Simpson sheen.

It just doesn't work. For one thing the class look almost as old as Pfeiffer, and they warm to her way too soon. Secondly, she goes out of her way to look after these 'kids'. it's as if Edward James Olmos and Morgan Freeman are giving her motivation throughout.

Pfeiffer is trying to down play her beauty, wearing a leather jacket and eating junk in every scene, but she doesn't convince.

There is nothing new to see, it's just another bad class with hearts of gold movie, and they are tiresome.

See 187 instead, that is a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Average film. I can see the message they are trying to make, but it falls a little flat. Michelle Pfeiffer is good in it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good film, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Tom Lauridsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
youth problems are a good topic. Being a pupil in an American school isn't easy, and when you have social problems back home it is almost impossible to graduate with a good result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous Minds, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Received in Excellent condition and just what was required to keep the grown ups entertained an excellent film with good entertainment all around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I have watched this film many times and I love the soundtrack. Michelle Pfeiffer is, as usual, excellent. It's an American version of Please Sir in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous minds, 16 Jun 2013
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Really good condition, played back perfectly. It did freeze once but I think that may have been down to my DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defo one to watch, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Watched this film time and time again adn im still glued to the seat, touching and inspiring film and highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996]
Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] by John N. Smith (DVD - 2001)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews