Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical clichés, contradicted by good acting � Worth buying
Michelle Pfeiffer leads the cast in this drama set in a North California school. The storyline is easy to read, and the ending is clear to see half way through the film. Ex-Marine Louanne Johnson (Pfeiffer) is left in a high school classroom armed only with her integrity and courage. With strong acting from Pfeiffer and the students, in particular - Emilio (Wade...
Published on 26 Oct 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They gave me candy....
Louanne Johnson is an ex-marine, hired as a teacher in a high-school in a poor area of the city.

She has recently separated from her husband. Her friend, also teacher in the school, got the temporary job for her.

After a terrible reception from the students, she tries unconventional methods of teaching (using karate, Bob Dylan lyrics etc) to gain the...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical clichés, contradicted by good acting � Worth buying, 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Michelle Pfeiffer leads the cast in this drama set in a North California school. The storyline is easy to read, and the ending is clear to see half way through the film. Ex-Marine Louanne Johnson (Pfeiffer) is left in a high school classroom armed only with her integrity and courage. With strong acting from Pfeiffer and the students, in particular - Emilio (Wade Dominguez), Raul (Renoly Santiago) and Carrie (Bruklun Harris), the film relies more upon its sentimental value rather than the story. Watch the trials and tribulations of Louanne Johnson as she tries to lead misguided students away from accepting failure towards a brighter future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 3 Jan 2004
This is a true story based on LouAnne Johnson who uses unorthodox teachings to try and save the lives of these kids, from rough backrounds of drugs, violence, guns etc
She uses bribes, takes them to the themepark etc
This is a good film for any fan of good movies. Those who say its predictable, are right. But this is a true story based on the book 'My posse don't do homework'- that has been re-made into the book 'Dangerous MInds'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book and Movie tell different stories, 10 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Dangerous Minds was first published as My Posse Don't Do Homework and it is a true story, based on the experiences of a teacher who taught from her heart and not the textbook. The movie is a Hollywood version, complete with stereotypes and fictional "dramatic touches." It's a nice movie, and perhaps it inspired some kids to do their homework -- if so, that's great. But the movie is not the true story, so if you are going to review the book, be sure to review the book. I think it's a pretty good book, but I have met the author and heard her speak. Anybody who has heard her speak knows that she cares most of all about kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They gave me candy...., 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Louanne Johnson is an ex-marine, hired as a teacher in a high-school in a poor area of the city.

She has recently separated from her husband. Her friend, also teacher in the school, got the temporary job for her.

After a terrible reception from the students, she tries unconventional methods of teaching (using karate, Bob Dylan lyrics etc) to gain the trust of the students.

And guess what? it works!! In a non-patronising way to the audience..

It's been sixteen years since this film was released here in England, and it was a movie I always resisted in seeing. Mainly because it got so much coverage thanks to that awful song, but it never really appealed to me.

Seeing it for the first time last week, I now know why. It's a pitiful movie, cashing in on success of Boyz n the Hood, and high school movies, but with the Bruckheimer and Simpson sheen.

It just doesn't work. For one thing the class look almost as old as Pfeiffer, and they warm to her way too soon. Secondly, she goes out of her way to look after these 'kids'. it's as if Edward James Olmos and Morgan Freeman are giving her motivation throughout.

Pfeiffer is trying to down play her beauty, wearing a leather jacket and eating junk in every scene, but she doesn't convince.

There is nothing new to see, it's just another bad class with hearts of gold movie, and they are tiresome.

See 187 instead, that is a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good performances but lame ending, 24 Jun 2007
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A fantastic movie, a bit clichéd for today's times but quite breakthrough in 1995. Well acted, well written, funny at times, serious at other times. Altogether well balanced.

Except the end. I mean, seriously ... what happened at the end??? I know that she left for her "reasons" but it is never actually clear what her reasons are. Is she leaving because she's upset at Emilio's death? Is she upset at the 'system' and it's lack of flexibility? Is she bored with helping these kids?? I don't actually know! The ending seems way too sudden, as if the producers ran out of money and had to finish the film by the end of the day. The movie took the perfect amount of time getting itself introduced. The pace was good, until Emilio's death. I don't know ... the ending left me thinking "Well, why is she so special? She hasn't actually DONE anything except bribe these kids with candy bars and roller-coaster rides!" Overall the message is good, and the storyline is fine. The movie is shot nicely and it works well enough for me. It was entertaining. But it left me wondering exactly why she even bothered trying to educate these kids in the first place if she was so willing to just leave them just at a time when they were starting to appreciate her message!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dangerous minds, 6 Nov 2009
By 
sweet "sweet" (cheshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film I remember the first time I saw it. I was completely blown away to me it's a gritty and raw film. The soundtrack to the film is fantastic. This film is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars As convincing as - well - something unconvincing, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Isabel Noronha "I Ramos" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I watched this movie oh-so-long-ago when it first came out, and now that I watched it again on DVD it still strikes me as it did then: Michelle Pfeiffer is far more convincing as a hawk than she ever was as a teacher, especially a teacher for rough kids in a rough school. The ending reminds me of Dead Poets Society - another pointless teenage death that the screenwriters used to like to foist on audiences some 20 years ago for some sort of effect I never understood. The soundtrack is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspiring, 17 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
As soon as I bought this DVD, I knew it was going to be very good. When I watched the movie, words couldn't express how brillant it was. The acting was brillant, the music was good and generally the movie's message was very inspiring. It's a shame there aren't many good people like this in the real world.

I have watched this movie loads now since I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So different, 15 Oct 2010
By 
A. Hasnath (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is simply a really good movie. Michelle Pfeiffer gives an electric performance in this drama about class priveleges and disaffected, poor youths who need encouragement.

The film has a feel-good quality to it as you watch the kids change and begin to take interest in their education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never get sick watching it, 5 Nov 2009
By 
M. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I love this film even 13 years on it is still a winner with em
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996]
Dangerous Minds [DVD] [1996] by John N. Smith (DVD - 2001)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews