Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot explain how moving this film is
I won't go into the details of what this film is about - its been summarised perfectly by the other reviews. I saw this at the cinema when it was first released, and found myself surrounded by people fidgeting, talking, and walking out. Granted, if you're not interested in something, then three hours is going to seem like an eternity, but I couldn't for the life of me...
Published on 9 Dec 2008 by Norman Cheeseworthy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PICTURE,FLAWED AUDIO
The acting, writing,production and camerawork on this DVD are wonderful - as to be expected with such well-known stars as BRAD PITT and ANTHONY HOPKINS taking lead parts. But the disc has an unfortunate flaw not apparent on the origuinal film.

For the first ten minutes or so The SOUND (on my copy) borders on being inaudibile, and although it then improves, it...
Published 10 months ago by Malcolm Everett


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb film, 8 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Meet Joe Black is a superb piece of film-making. Poised and patient, it is beautifully crafted, and the love (and years of development) that went into making it are apparent from the outset. I'm glad the editor didn't succumb to pressure or popularity and cut this film down - it's well worth the two hours and fifty minutes running time and all scenes are captivating.
Hopkins, Pitt and Forlani are all excellent; the budding relationship between the latter two is played to perfection. Poignant and well-observed, with the right balance of humour versus sadness, the film captures its protagonists' plights perfectly.
The film is backed up with a truly wonderful score which runs throughout, reinforcing key sequences with powerful yet subtle themes, which upon first hearing don't move in the ways which you expect, yet which, by the end of the film, feel reassuringly familiar. It is a beautiful score which works seamlessly with the drama on-screen.
I cannot recommend this film enough. Those who have rated it with a single star either don't know what they're talking about or haven't watched it properly. I don't see how anyone could dislike what is so obviously an outstanding piece of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an original, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I really loved this film but then I discovered it wasn't the original. The original black and white film is called 'Death Takes a Holiday' and was made in 1934 ... love it. So if you like the 'oldies' ... I recommend seeking it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even Hopkins couldn't save this one, 5 Aug 2007
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Wanted to like this film, especially as a fan of Hopkins. He does his best to make this watchable, and largely it is, but it's the moral righteousness of it all, and that clinging American sentimentality, that sticks in your throat and stops you from really loving it, as the movie is so desperately keen for you to do. The story is a rather hackneyed one, and in a way it's trying to do A Wonderful Life. It comes nowhere near to achieving this grand aim and I'm afraid ends up looking a little silly. Without the surefootedness of Hopkins, this film would have lost the viewer's interest long before the three hour mark, but somehow he (with a little help from his good looking pal) gets you to stay with it all the way through. It may be affecting for the easily pleased and viewers not put off by sentimentality, but if you are, then you probably won't even want to start it. Certainly was made with a lot of conviction though, to the credit of all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for a while, then boring with a ridiculous ending, 30 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Anthony Hopkins gets the 2 stars for his acting -- it's a waste of time, by and large, though. Gets worse as it goes along. The overblown super romantic movie music is irritating - we get the idea - it's a romantic moment - don't clobber us to death with extra-loud romantic music from a full orchestra. It also limps to an unsatisfying ending. I recorded it from TV, and over several evenings, managed to get through it. It's now happily erased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film warm fuzzy feeling inside, 30 Jan 2006
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
bit of a chick flick but hey dont care its a great film , brad pi plays death and wants to explore the world
he finds a beautiful girl and falls for her
its great and very funny in places i loved it and im a guy
claire forlani is so fit too,
buy it seriously its a keeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe Black, 5 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Unfortunately , this video would not play on my DVD player in Australia. So I could not play it or review it. Patricia Ryan, Australia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wooden Acting, 31 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Back in the days when I was a Brad Pitt fan I saw this film at the cinema. The acting was wooden, and painful to watch. There was little pace to this macabre story, and it looked as if Pitt and Anthony Hopkins couldn't wait to finish making the film. Saw a rerun of this on the TV recently, and it was even worse viewing the second time around. Save your money, and give this purchase a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I just got bored to Death, 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I've never seen such a long movie with such a simple plot. You sit in front of the screen waiting for something exciting to happen but you end up with the sensation that you should have spent those three hours doing something better (anything basically).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999]
Meet Joe Black [DVD] [1999] by Martin Brest (DVD - 2006)
£3.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews